We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Onuku Farm Hostel

Traveller (91)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Open Oct-May: Cozy farm hostel with amazing coastal views & rustic original kiwi facilities: Stargazers, Farmhouse, girls only dorm, camping, vans, huts. Enjoy it all: sunrise to sunset & the most amazing stars in the sky at night plus No sandflies :) Hiking, mussel picking, BBQ. Dolphin swimming trips & kayak rental directly from the farm. Free WiFi. Just 6 km from Akaroa. Free pick up at 1:30 pm from Akaroa.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Great View
Reviews & more
106Reviews
91Photos
1Q+A
13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 19
  • 8
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed with my friend in the Tonga Hut. Our whole stay was a delight, the atmosphere and setting of the whole hostel is so beautiful and picturesque. We really appreciated that the hut had us in a private, quiet corner of the camp while still having access to the more lively
Read more
Enjoyed our stay here . The night we were there they had a dinner pot lock which was fun to meet and eat with other travelers. Would absolutely recommend the dolphin tour. I was never able to connect to the wifi. It is about a ten minute drive out of town.
Read more
We booked the Tonga Hut as it was described as "private". We knew the kitchen and bathrooms were in a separate building, so we brought flashlights. Tonga Hut is actually two rooms, side by side. Okay, semi-private--still a beautiful setting. We were not issued a key at reception
Read more
This is a party campsite of the highest order - music blasting right through the night from all angles, drugs and alcohol abundant everywhere. Not ideal if you have children! Nice setting however shame about the staff they are pretty rude and we saw one of the management
Read more
Response from OnukuHostel, General Manager at Onuku Farm Hostel
Responded 11 Feb. 2017
Dear Bobby, I am sad to hear that you were unlucky enough to arrive at our beautiful campground on such an unusual and unfortunate evening. We haven't had a noise complaint and/or alcohol abuse issues for over 3-4 years or more!!! The weekend to which you are referring to was Waitangi weekend and unfortunately we had some guests who were very rowdy and did not listen to any of our pleas to stop the party. We were incredibly helpless as we had asked them multiple times to be more respectful. This is not a common occurrence and in fact it was so unusual that we were unprepared to deal with such a situation. As a result we will now be better able to handle such issues. Hope the rest of your trip is going good!
Read more
This farm is a great place to stay for several days! Every accommodation is special and made with lots of love. You can do several walks there, even if the weather is not the best (happens sometimes) you have amazing views!! The dolphin swimming tour was awesome and if the tides
Read more
Response from OnukuHostel, General Manager at Onuku Farm Hostel
Responded 11 Feb. 2017
Thank you Teresa for staying with us for 4 nights! Glad to have been able to spend time with you and to get to know you! We will miss your friendly personality and adventure spirit! Hugs from all of us!
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
view from above the campsite (on one of the walks) looking down over the view
view up the camp site towards the amenity block
Campervan
sunset
PreviousNext
12
"Book in advance for the farm house rooms or camp site plots"
"go the female dorm!"
"The tonga hut is very cool, the only downside is it's outside the range of the wifi."
"So many options, huts, camping, dorm or private rooms. You can't go wrong!"
"Great views!"
PreviousNext
123
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionAkaroa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing