We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Onuku Farm Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 70: English reviews
Start your review of Onuku Farm Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After 2 months travelling around NZ, I can definitely say that Onuku Farm was my favourite hostel! Peaceful, cheap and surrounded by a lot of amazing hikes and beaches with stunning views. Bonus: ask the manager for a secret spot where you can dive for catching some paua shells.. great experience! Thanks, we've really enjoyed our stay in Akaroa

Thank Audrey M
Bad Aibling, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed on the campground of Onuku Farm Hostel. For the second night we got a cheaper price. All you need is there! Free Wifi, hot shower, shared kitchen, a coin operated washing machine, friendly staffs - special thanks to Inka, who took her time to take our little miss five for dove feeding - and last but not least:...

Thank mindyjordan
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in Onuku farm for 2 nights. First night in Kiwi Stargazer (the one standing a bit aside and in front of the main building). We paid deposit and had to pay the rest. At check in it appeared to be a bit more than we expected as Kiwi stargazer appeared to be with bedding (we didn't know about...

1Thank Oksana K
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Our spot was cool once we made it there. Our hut was the farthest up the hill but it was far up the hill. The should tell you how far when you check in. Also the free wifi doesnt even work in common rooms. As a traveler its important when a hostel advertises they have wifi since its important for...

Thank travelingpenny01
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. There was a potluck dinner the night we stayed which was fun and a great way to meet people. The wifi was horrible and I was barely able to connect but it is in a beautiful location. The dolphin tour was wonderful and well worth it.

Thank Maria T
Paris, France
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

I've slept two nights in the Top Hut dorm and I've found a piece of paradise. In a Farm, with its sheeps, goose and so on, at the top of an hill, everything is done in a simple way and it works ! Sol and his wife are lovely guests, was hard to leave Onuku I would recommend this place...

1Thank Slnonclouds
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I stayed with my friend in the Tonga Hut. Our whole stay was a delight, the atmosphere and setting of the whole hostel is so beautiful and picturesque. We really appreciated that the hut had us in a private, quiet corner of the camp while still having access to the more lively main building. The view of the harbor in...

1Thank Joe K
Bentonville, Arkansas
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay here . The night we were there they had a dinner pot lock which was fun to meet and eat with other travelers. Would absolutely recommend the dolphin tour. I was never able to connect to the wifi. It is about a ten minute drive out of town.

1Thank Harpers0512
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We booked the Tonga Hut as it was described as "private". We knew the kitchen and bathrooms were in a separate building, so we brought flashlights. Tonga Hut is actually two rooms, side by side. Okay, semi-private--still a beautiful setting. We were not issued a key at reception and so I called to ask about it. I also asked for...

5Thank Feenixwest
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

This is a party campsite of the highest order - music blasting right through the night from all angles, drugs and alcohol abundant everywhere. Not ideal if you have children! Nice setting however shame about the staff they are pretty rude and we saw one of the management physically attack one of the campers who apparently had been asked to...

4Thank BobbySandsHerald
OnukuHostel, General Manager at Onuku Farm Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Bobby, I am sad to hear that you were unlucky enough to arrive at our beautiful campground on such an unusual and unfortunate evening. We haven't had a noise complaint and/or alcohol abuse issues for over 3-4 years or more!!! The weekend to which you are referring to was Waitangi weekend and unfortunately we had some guests who were...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (73)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
View from Room (6)
Dining (2)
Other (62)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
4.0 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
66 reviews
4.6 km away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#20 of 23 in Akaroa
50 reviews
5.6 km away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
5.7 km away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
4.0 km away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#9 of 24 in Akaroa
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Open Oct-May: Cozy farm hostel with amazing coastal views & rustic original kiwi facilities: Stargazers, Farmhouse, girls only dorm, camping, vans, huts. Enjoy it all: sunrise to sunset & the most amazing stars in the sky at night plus No sandflies :) Hiking, mussel picking, BBQ. Guided dolphin swims & kayak trips directly from the farm. Internet & WiFi. Just 6 km from Akaroa. Free pick up @ 12.30 from Akaroa. Cash only! Phone for monthly specials. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Onuku Farm Hostel

Address: 89 Hamilton's Rd, Akaroa 7452, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: $28 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Onuku Farm Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Onuku Farm Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The tonga hut is very cool, the only downside is it's outside the range of the wifi.”
C2761ZWjoek, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“So many options, huts, camping, dorm or private rooms. You can't go wrong!”
TillyMillican, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Great views!”
menno4u, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the main house are great! Girls dorm has amazing view and en suite bathroom with shower and washing machine!”
IngaLV, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The Kiwi stargazer is unique. A very basic 'wooden tent' but the views at night are great.”
MaartenD447, 8 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5