We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Pirates Backpackers Fremantle

Save
Share
11 Essex St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160 Australia
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 36 Speciality lodging in Fremantle
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Pirates Backpackers is a small unique hostel situated right in the heart of vibrant Fremantle, where the owner and staff know your name! It's a secure and small hostel run by the energetic owner Vaughan, who along with brilliant staff will do everything they possibly can to ensure you have a great stay. We offer the following : - A small clean hostel right in the heart of Fremantle within 5 minutes walk of every attraction including the beaches -A huge variety of activities constantly on the go, including beach volleyball, surfing, diving, boating, rock climbing, scenic tours, dinners, quiz nights, bush walks, sunset drinks and more, all organised by Pirates. -Large individual lockers in your room with padlock provided -Sensational staff who are interested in you and are always here to help -BYO alcohol, saving you money -A brilliant courtyard with BBQ, pool table, table tennis and heaps of plants! A totally relaxing environment! This is truly your "home away from home". The hardest thing is leaving!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Billiards
Board games / puzzles
Adults only
BBQ facilities
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French
429Reviews1Q+A60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 276
  • 102
  • 14
  • 8
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ian Shaw wrote a review Feb 2021
Brooklyn, New York14 contributions
Spent a little over a month a Pirates and have had a blast. I stayed in a mixed dorm which was never full. There’s a great outdoors space. I lived in the back. Pirates has something for everyone. You can chill alone or hang with one of the mainly European travelers. Location doesn’t get any better. Close to the shops bus trains oh and the beach. Great management. I recommend Pirates if you are on a budget and you are in Freo. Say hi to Vaughn for me(capt of the ship)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Jayson R wrote a review July 2020
1 contribution
In these times many hostels have become a safe haven for many. People like Vaughn (Owner) don't go into this niche line of work to make heap and heaps of $$$. They go into it to live through the eyes of each traveler understanding, helping and being a place of remembrance with a humble smile in a chapter that many don't even know they are in till they eventually look back and go wow. . . The good old days. . . Many kids leave home, hop on a plane, land in a hostel and have what I could only explain as a major reality shock. This Realization that Mommy and Daddy, the safety, the comfortability or the Egoic bubble that many never even leave is actually not real. The need for Hostels, Owners and the staff ( or FAMILY) now more than ever, are the pure light and compassion that we need more of. . . . So if you are looking for things to complain about or something rattles your egoic reality, just remember this is what traveling is all about. But who am I to judge. . . . .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Craig A wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
We stayed at Pirates with our family of four a few months ago after having a bad experience at another hostel in Freo. We are backpacking with two young daughters ages 9 and 10 and weren't sure how kids would be received here, but Vaughn was so kind and welcoming and our stay was very enjoyable. This hostel is very centrally located near restaurants and grocery stores. Vaughn organizes activities and fun stuff to do around Freo. We have fond memories of our stay here and would come back if we return to Freo.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
rpetrick92 wrote a review Feb 2020
Parkerville, Australia346 contributions73 helpful votes
We stayed for just one night after having an engagement to attend in the area (and living ages away from Freo). The staff were great and very lovely and accommodating. We were very happy with our room for the price and thought it was a lot nicer than some other places we have stayed for similar value. We also had a bathroom right near our room which was convenient. We were out most of the night and arrived back late and fell straight asleep so cant really comment on much other than that!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Emma L wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Very old, dirty and the the woman on reception Jan was very rude to my friend when trying to raise our concerns for staying there. Ended up sleeping in our campervan and was not offered refund. BEWARE
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Vaughan-Pirates, Owner at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle
Responded 30 Jan 2020
The two of you checked in and then wanted to leave because you were suddenly offered free accommodation. We said there was no refund as per the hostelworld policy. That's when unfortunately you both turned nasty. Calling us constantly, even after midnight, arriving at our doorstep and continually demanding a refund. Not nice people. Vaughan
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 18 - USD 49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pirates backpackers fremantle hotel fremantle
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaGreater PerthFremantleFremantle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pirates Backpackers Fremantle
Which popular attractions are close to Pirates Backpackers Fremantle?
Nearby attractions include WA Shipwrecks Museum (0.4 km), The Escape Hunt Experience Perth (0.2 km), and Fremantle Fishing Boat Harbour (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pirates Backpackers Fremantle?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ohana Acai Bar, Duck Duck Bruce, and Manuka Woodfire Kitchen.
Is Pirates Backpackers Fremantle located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Fremantle.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pirates Backpackers Fremantle?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Pirates Backpackers Fremantle?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fremantle Prison (0.6 km), The Fremantle Round House (0.6 km), and Fremantle History Walking Tour (0.6 km).