We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,330: English reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

When you arrive, you would probably be first struck by the beautiful heritage style of the building. Location is good as well, across the road from a park and walking distance to many of Freo's attractions, shopping and restaurants. The train/bus station is quite nearby as well. We enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Journeyfamily
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our fantastic location to explore Fremantle. Thank you for your feedback; we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Abby McDowell

Reviewed 21 January 2016

We decided to book a last minute two night stay at this hotel. Upon arriving we were impressed with the location of the hotel and its surroundings. We did find the check inn staff not very friendly and did not tell us any information of the facilities just gave us the room key and pointed to where we should go!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nk5
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback; we're glad you enjoyed the location and the Hotel. However, we apologise for the service level you received upon check in. We do have a few new concierge staff at the moment so they might not have had a chance to explore the attractions. Your comments will be passed on to management for review. Kind...

Leksand, Sweden
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Very nice hotel, close to everything and at the same time quiet and relaxing. A 10 minute walk from the train/ buss station, and 5 minute walk to the Fremantle Markets/ Shops / Restaurants. Me and my partner spent 7 nights here. Clean beautiful rooms, did not try the breakfast buffé but it looked amazing. Wi-Fi is free (24 h...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine P
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback; it's great to read that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our fantastic location to explore the area. Our WI-FI is free, you just need to log back in after 24 hours/1GB; I'm sorry if this wasn't clear at the time. Kind Regards, Abby McDowell

Mandurah, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2016

The hotel is extremely well appointed. Staff are customer focused and well trained in the hospitality industry. Rooms are 4 star, and very suitable for all ages. Within walking distance you have all the sights of Fremantle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback; we're so glad you and your family enjoyed staying with us and enjoyed Fremantle. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Abby McDowell

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

Location of the hotel is great where you can walk to many restaurants and shops. The hotel is very nice with various eating areas and two pools. It is very easy to travel around here with a free bus service taking you around town and to the train station. A very pleasant stay. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

It's great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you made the most of our fantastic location to explore Fremantle and beyond. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Abby McDowell

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

The location is very convenient in the middle of Fremantle. A short walk to the beach and restaurants. The room was good, not the best but it does the job. The staff is nice and helpful. My only comment is the valet parking, they were busy and if you want the car , you have to call 15-20 mins earlier...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kemo0o
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments; it's great to read that you enjoyed your stay. You're right, our valet parking can be busy at peak times and it's best to give us as much notice as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Abby McDowell

guildford
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

We arrived by taxi about 8pm after a 24 hr. journey with 2 suitcases and 2 sets of golf clubs.The two young men on duty immediately walked away from entrance back into the hotel leaving two tired pensioners to struggle into the hotel with their luggage and then up to the room after check in. Other than one lady(I think...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hallbower
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback; we're very sorry to read about your disappointing experience and understand your frustration completely. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. I hope that we can have another chance in the future to give you the great hotel experience that so many of...

Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

It's got everything. Well built so noise between and above rooms is zero. Check out happy hour it's a lovely bar offering indoor & outdoor areas & good coffee. Buffet breakfast is nice. I ordered omelettes. Cereal is very disappointing. Cooked breakfast is very nice. Coffee is OK. Staff lovely. Pools are great with shaded sitting area and umbrellas next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane452au
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback; it's great to hear from a regular guest that is enjoying our Hotel so much. We're glad that you enjoyed happy hour at the Marine Lounge Bar and breakfast, although we're sorry to read that you didn't enjoy the cereal. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Abby McDowell

United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Nice hotel and we would recommend it to anyone considering a stay in Freemantle. If we had any concerns then it would be the rooms - clean and roomy but they, in my opinion, did not reflect the period of the hotel - they had more of a business like feel to them. The aircon in our room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steve u
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback; we're happy to read that you enjoyed your long stay with us overall. However, we apologise for the air conditioning not working ideally; we are constantly checking and reviewing them to ensure they are functioning correctly. I will pass on your comments to maintenance for review. Also, it is unusual...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Wifey and I got off our cruise ship at 9.30am and taxied directly to Esplanade hotel. Not surprisingly our room wasn't ready but they pre-checked us in, held our bags and told us to come back in a couple of hours. After a bit of a look around we were back at noon and were given a room on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback; we're glad you thoroughly enjoyed your post-cruise stay with us in Fremantle. It's great that you enjoyed the rooms, service and especially the pools when it was so hot outside. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Abby McDowell

601 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (97)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (310)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Dolphin Pool (9)
Viewed
Executive King Room (39)
Viewed
Parkview Room (37)
Viewed
Premier Spa Suite (50)
Viewed
Resort Pool (25)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
369 reviews
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
162 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Price Range: $163 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Albany, Australia
Melbourne, Australia
5 months ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Huge range of rooms to choose, many appear to have balconies with an aspect overlooking either the pool or park.”
 of 5 bubbles karenmcnab1969, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps request a room on the second + floor as the ground floor is dark and you need a night on during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles 195Kathryn1965, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“218 is a nice room”
 of 5 bubbles JW22613, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Side street rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Flynn010, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Plenty of parking on the street don't use valet parking it took for ever and very expensive”
 of 5 bubbles tinawB2503CK, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay