We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Show Prices
#28 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

980 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 463: English reviews
Helsinki
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We waited for this small break a lot. When we got to the hotel the. Junior suite that we booked was not available for us at all. We were given business room but no mentioned that we will get no suite. We realized it immediately when entering the room. The person at front desk saw no harm done. Manager tried...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank ScandinavianHelsinki
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Reviewer Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. Please accept our apologies for caused inconveniences regarding the services, and we already fix these problems. All information has been forwarded for corresponding hotel departments as well our managment will contact with you in the nearest days. Our guest thoughts are more than inpormant for us,...

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is a budjet hotel with really small rooms (the rooms looks much bigger on their website!) and not great service. We booked a room with "backyard" view which was really no view at all - it was just a small square in between the blocks of the hotel. Vittoria was not a pleasent receptionist, she did not try...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TuridVic
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you very much for being our guest and taking time to share your comments regarding our hotel on Tripadvisor. We like to explain that some rooms has smaller than others, thats why we always suggest for guest who like to stay in more comfort to choose Superior or Business class rooms- as these rooms are spacious and...

São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed 24 August 2013

As soon as I checked in I noticed the sink broken and the blind courtain not working properly. I imediately asked for maintenance. They fixed the sink but all they did for the window was giving me a scisor and a scotch tape to fix it by myself (yes, they asked me to do it by muself). In the next...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Carlos U
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor concerning your recent stay at the Wellton Old Riga Palace. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has been our mission.We have addressed the Maintanance issue, and send information to corresponding hotel department to fix this situation. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with...

Ispra, Italy
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed there for a July weekend: the hotel is quite central and quite close to the airport bus stops. Nevertheless it was not noisy at all. All major sights are in walking distance. They even have free umbrellas to borrow in case it is raining. The room was a bit too small. Breakfast buffet was OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dogadoga
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor concerning your recent stay at Wellton Elefant Hotel. We are very pleased that you found so many positive aspects that you enjoyed during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel. Best Regards Matiss Cesnieks Wellton Hotel...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. This hotel is a 5 min walk from the Old town square and surrounded by attractions and restaurants. The hotel staff is super friendly and when they could not find the room type that I booked available, they immediately upgraded me to the nicest rooms in the hotel. Room was spacious, comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharadmhta
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are pleased to read that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything of a high standart, especially our rooms. We would also like to thank you for positive comments about our team members who provided you excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Wellton Elefant Hotel....

Ishoej, Denmark
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I booked 2 rooms for 3 nights and we were greeted and shown to our rooms - no problem so far. Unfortunately the aircondition in one of the rooms was not working, and even though we told them every day, they did not manage to get it fixed, and we were offered absolutely no compensation! They simply did not care....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClausO70
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your stay with us.We are disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay. We like to explain that guests who like more comfort ,we always suggest to...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We booked this hotel three months in advance but yet when we tried to check in we were advises they had double booked and sent us miles outside the city centre to a bloody hostel that smelt like urine and I had to sleep in the floor despite paying for a four star hotel with spa treatments we couldn't even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 781Wally
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review our Old Riga Palace hotel. We truly value the opinions of our custumers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We already forwarded your comments to corresponding hotel and we already fix these...

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I spent 4 nights in this Hotel recently and was initially worried about the surroundings- not a particularly salubrious area of Riga with derelict buildings next door and up the road but I need not have worried. This Hotel is extremely well positioned with the river front seconds away and the central part of Old Riga less than 5 mins...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Davefel67
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us.Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.Custumer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. Once again thank you very much for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming back to any of the Wellton Hotels in...

Reviewed 31 July 2013

.We had booked this particular hotel as we know Old Riga quite well and wanted to stay in that particular area as the bars and restaurants are quite good there and we wanted to indulge in the Spa of this hotel also. we arrived late in the evening having flown into Riga and getting delayed at passport control. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Loumogou
Lahti, Finland
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you like to have a glass of sparkling wine at breakfast, this is your choice. Very near to old city and attractions. You can walk to shopping centre nearby. Public traffic connections are great. Not many tv channels, but who needs them anyway... If you are oversized, don't take economy room cause you don't fit into the shower cabinet....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cikkis66

637 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
0:32
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (131)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (313)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Economy Double Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Single Room (31)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Backyard View (28)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Bath (25)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Shower (33)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 km away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 109 in Riga
603 reviews
0.3 km away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.2 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
572 reviews
0.1 km away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Price Range: $63 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Riga
#23 Family Hotel in Riga
#28 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Either to back side of the hotel in April and Mai do to the construction on the opper side of the front of the hotel.”
kro90, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the backside are quiet.”
704tjibbeh, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose the modern rooms!”
Lucofran, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Designer rooms worth the extra cost, highly recommended.”
Bluefox47, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All very nice ask for a room away from the building work if you don't want to get woken up early in the morning...”
sidami, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5