We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel CRU

Show Prices
#15 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel CRU
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 174: English reviews
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 12 October 2016

My husband and I stayed at the CRU on a weekend trip to Tallinn. I chose Hotel CRU based on the reviews at TripAdvisor, and I'm glad I did. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the hotel. I asked for a quiet room, as I read from the reviews that the rooms facing the street can be very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marjokay
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this review

Dear marjokay, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this beautiful and detailed review about your stay in our hotel! We are so glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind words about the amenities, decor and service! We apologise about the breakfast choice, but we try to keep everything seasonal...

Los Angeles
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Hotel CRU was once a 14th century merchant's house which explains why you might have to go up and down stairs to find your room. Because of the age of the building there is no elevator. I found all of this charming but it might not work for you. It is smack in the center of the Old Town and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jauchzet
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this review

Dear jauchzet, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this detailed review about our hotel here on TripAdvisor! Unfortunately, our hotel is not accessible by taxi even when the renovations finish - our hotel is located at the very heart of the historic Old Town, so it is a pedestrian street. Thank you for all your kind...

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Hotel located in the very center of Old Town so everything's within reach of the hand. The only disadvantage: if you need a taxi you need to walk for 200 m as Viru Street is just for pedestrians. Rooms are upstairs (no lift) so you need to lug your stuff. Rooms are not too big but sufficient. Bathroom was equipped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krzysztof N
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this review

Dear Krzysztof N, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our hotel! Thank you for the kind words about the location and service! All of our 15 rooms have different decor and sizes, some more luxurious, some more practical. I apologise for the Wi-Fi, we have several routers and repeaters scattered around the...

Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We spend two nights in hotel Cru right after our wedding and it could not have been any more perfect. We asked for quiet room from top floor of the hotel and got exactly what we wanted. Double deluxe room was spacious enough and equipped with anything we needed for relaxing few days. The hotel had very nice atmosphere and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maija S
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this review

Dear Maija M, Thank you once again for a beautiful and detailed review! First of all - congratulations! Thank you for pointing out our atmosphere and friendly service! We try to keep the check-in procedures positive and informational at the same time. Indeed, our restaurant compliments the hotel, and the two are a perfect match! Best regards, Anneli Tammela

Reviewed 7 September 2016

Very nice and characteristics rooms well adapted to the very old house in middle of the medieval town. We appreciated the wonderful Breakfast Buffet with homemade bred, pancakes..... It's highly recommended to have dinner at the CRU's Restaurant as well, amazing food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harald S
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this review

Dear Harald S, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us here on TripAdvisor! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, amenities, atmosphere and food! Our homemade black bread is a big hit amongst our guests and definitely the star of the breakfast buffet. Thank you for the kind words about the...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I was surprised that the hotel gave so much attention to small details: bio shower gel, fancy mirrors, lighting and couches in the room corridors, some wooden beams etc. The previous reviewers were right about the labyrinth thing but I enjoyed it because I had the impression I was in sort of a castle. I was told by the receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VernLand
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this review

Dear VernLand, Thank you very much for writing this beautiful and detailed review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Thank you for pointing out that we have put attention to small details - in our opinion the well-crafted small details are a good foundation for a great whole. All of our 15 rooms are...

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Come without a car. The hotel has no safe parking, except those on the street nearby. A plenty of bars and restaurants around, even the downstairs restaurant high rated. Very helpful and dedicated staff. Rooms are small, but have all necessary equipment and even welcoming wine bottle (not for free) available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Okarhu
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this review

Dear Okarhu, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us here on TripAdvisor! Unfortunately yes, the hotel cannot offer parking, since we are located at the very heart of the Old Town, which is a pedestrian area and will never be accessible by car. I'm very glad to hear that our staff managed to please you....

San Clemente, California
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We booked this hotel as part of a three week vacation to Scandinavia and the Baltic Countries. We were traveling as a family of four with another family of four. We each booked a suite to accommodate our families and were pleasantly surprised by the space we had. As someone else has mentioned, the street fronting the hotel is under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristi S
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this review

Dear Kristi S, Thank you so much for your beautifully detailed and wonderful review! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I will let Oskar and the rest of the staff know that they have been doing a great job. I'm sorry that the street noise bothered you, unfortunately, our central location has it's...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We had a pleasant stay here, but the charm of the hotel and the location was largely absent in the standard double room we had. The room furnishing were underwhelming, and it gave a sense of a budget hotel room. On the more practical side, the bed mattress felt cheap and soft, and the curtains were not opaque enough, letting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carpatifara
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this review

Dear Carpatifara, Thank you for your honest and detailed review! I'm sorry to hear that the Standard room furnishing was underwhelming for you, that's why we always suggest people to book Deluxe rooms, which are twice the size of the Standard room and fit a lot more furniture. Since we only have 15 rooms, each room is a little different...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Beautiful little hotel at a top location in Tallinn's old town. Lovely furnished rooms, very clean, great service and a delicious restaurant. This guys should not be #17 but definitely in the top 10! We will come back. - eatelicious.ch

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eatelicious
Anneli T, General Manager at Hotel CRU, responded to this review

Dear ttktvl, Thank you so much for your lovely review! Your praise gives us even more motivation to climb back to the top 10. We're very glad, that you are planning to come back. Upon planning your next visit to Tallinn, do not hesitate to contact us directly at cruhotel@cruhotel.eu Best regards,

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
1,890 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
1,534 reviews
0.2 km away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
642 reviews
0.2 km away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
1,077 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Late Medieval architecture in one of the oldest houses in Tallinn together with first-class service and possibilities create a unique atmosphere which connects with the environment surrounding the hotel. When renovating the house we respected both the initial architecture and the strict national heritage protection requirements that ensure that both the location and design of the hotel rooms is as loyal to the original concept of the house as possible. In 1997 Tallinn Old Town was included in the UNESCO World Heritage list and that can be regarded as the highest international acknowledgement to any historic town! In addition to a usual lodging experience we offer you an exclusive luxurious boutique-type experience, deriving from the unique design of the hotel building and its medieval legacy. Since all the rooms are unique and different from each other, the visitors may choose the intimacy or luxury of their preferred environment. Our breakfast is made of self-made or farm-grown fresh high-quality ingredients that are not so easily, if at all, found in shops. Natural and fresh breakfast is a unique experience that lights up the whole day! On the lower storey of Hotel Cru you will find a cosy and highly regarded restaurant of the same name. Hotel guests enjoy 10% off all items on the restaurant menu. Dmitri Haljukov, the head chef of the restaurant Cru, represented Estonia in the chef olympics final Bocuse d'Or in Lyon 2015. CRU Hotel is a good choice for both - leisure and business trips! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel CRU

Address: Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Price Range: $155 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel CRU 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel CRU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viru Tallinn
Viru Hotel Tallinn
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel CRU staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel CRU staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you appreciate peace and quiet at night, ask for a quiet room facing the inner courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles marjokay, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles eatelicious, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stairs only with no lifts. Room 1 has the fewest.”
 of 5 bubbles Sher71, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“With big suitcases go for a superior room. Ladies on shopping and/or partying definitey need a superior room!”
 of 5 bubbles rouvar85, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the back will be quieter, if you are bothered by noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles TanyaC158, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay