We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St. George Residence

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St. George Residence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St. George Residence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 322: English reviews
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We absolutely loved this little hotel full of charm in the heart of the castle district of Buda. You are feet away from fisherman's bastion and the is a great restaurant just across the street (Buda-Pest) for you to enjoy a typical Hungarian meal. The hotel was VERY clean and all the rooms are furnished with antique furniture. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mallard_Canuck
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you very much for the kind review of our Property. Thank you for mentioning that the Hotel is located feet away from the Fisherman’s Bastion which offers a grand view to the Danube and the most famous sites of the city like the Parliament, the Chain Bridge and the St. Stephan Basilica. We are grateful for highlighting...

Central NJ
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

I have been wanting to stay at this property for a very long time and due to my plans changing last moment was able to get a discounted room for one night. From the second we walked in all I could say was WOW. Built in the 14th century this place is stunning and not in an over the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cinema15
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are always happy to hear if there are guests who have been wanting to stay with and if they finally able to stay with us they are not disappointed i.e. we are able to satisfy their expectations. It is our pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the style of accommodation we offer as well as the...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The quality and size of accommodation at this apartment hotel was exceptional and far exceeded our expectations. All reception rooms were beautifully restored and presented with period furniture throughout. Every day the walk to reception was a visual treat! The staff were extremely helpful and the location is superb.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gctravellers251
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for the excellent review about our Property. We are happy that our Hotel has managed to meet your needs and has been able to bring lots of pleasant experiences during your stay. It is good to hear that you have enjoyed the location and that our staff has been of help to you! Looking forward to...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Excellent location, close to Buda castle and Corvinus cathedral. Vicinity of many places worth visiting. Exceptional atmosphere. Very friendly staff. Very comfortable room. Been there for the second tome, will surely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serban I
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest: It is always a pleasure to receive a review from a returning guest, since loyalty of our guests means a lot to us. Thank you for highlighting the location, special atmosphere of the Hotel, comfort of our suites and the friendliness of our staff. Looking forward to serve you soon in our Hotel! Kind regards, Andrea Farkas, Sales...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Positives Location, staff, room size. Hotel arranged a taxi to the airport which cost 33 euros. Our rooms were great very spacious and you do feel like you are staying in a castle. The flavoured lemonade is wonderful to try in the garden area. Negatives No bath. Wifi could have been better. Extra bed charged at 35 euros a night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rachel F
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for the very professional review that might be useful to the guests who plan to stay with us for the 1st time. Thank you for mentioning among the advantages the location, the size of the room and our staff. Regarding disadvantages you mentioned that there is no bath. The majority of our suites are equipped with...

Reviewed 4 August 2016

I would recommend this hotel if staying staying in Buda for longer than a couple of days. You feel completely safe in the in an around the hotel and the Buda. The room was and clean with beautiful floors and decor, you actually felt you were living in castle ground. I would not recommend the breakfast and I would not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzette M
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for recommending our Hotel in the Buda Castle Hill for extended stays in Budapest. It is true that our area is super quiet and safe being surrounded by gates. The historical building dating back to the Medieval ages in which the hotel is located makes our guests feel as if they were living in a Castle....

Sweden
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Beautiful surroundings :Mathias church, Hilton Hotel, old buildings. Georgous furniture and design at the hotel. Loved outside restaurant. Good dinner: tasty wine,fish and steaks for good prices. Friendly staff only one minus-breakfast is not included and 15euro and sadly it is not worth 15euro. Otherwise really 5stars hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karolina P
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for a nice summary about our Property in the Castle Hill of Budapest and kind words about our St. George Restaurant. We are happy that you have enjoyed the served dishes and wines. Thank you also for mentioning friendliness of our staff and your comment about our breakfast. We regret to hear that you have considered...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel on the outside , we had a huge room on the top floor number 27 I believe , quite dark and no lift . However the restaurant is terrible and the food awful , we had a romance package and were the only ones in the restaurant , this should have set bells ringing . Everything we ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gnb5
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for reviewing our Hotel. It disappointed us that you had not been satisfied with the services of our St. George Restaurant especially with regard to the 3-course dinner by candle light and the breakfast included in the Romantic Package you booked with us. I have forwarded your comments to our Restaurant Manager who is to investigate...

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful rooms. Nice staff very friendly and welcoming. Good breakfast. We will defenitly be back and recommend it to others. Its located in beautiful Buda a short drive from pest. Fishermans castle is right near and great restaurants and cafes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timnal
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your lovely review of our Hotel. The fact that you would recommend our Property means a lot to us and is a proof to us that you have enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to see you in our Hotel soon! Kind regards, Andrea Farkas, Sales Manager, St. George Residence All Suite Hotel de Luxe

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We chose St. George for its location on castle hill and were not disappointed. It is close to all major points of interest but out of the city rush. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was elegant, quiet, and spacious. My only "complaint" was the lack of coffee in the room. There were 3 of us in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerri N
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your time to review our Property. It makes us happy that you have liked the historical character of the Property, its closeness to the major sights and quiet surroundings. We are happy to hear that you have found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Please accept our apologies for not enough coffee packets prepared...

884 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (294)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (154)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (530)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Bronze Suite (68)
Viewed
Diamond Suite (74)
Viewed
Gold Suite (73)
Viewed
Dining (105)
Viewed
Silver Suite (73)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda Hotel
Pest-Buda Hotel
#96 of 342 in Budapest
84 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#27 of 342 in Budapest
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#62 of 342 in Budapest
655 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 342 in Budapest
3,928 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#49 of 342 in Budapest
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District I / Buda

Neighbourhood Profile
District I / Buda
The historical center to a city with a multifarious and intricate past, Buda has some of the most outstanding buildings in Europe and an enviable natural landscape with stunning views onto the Danube. Centered around the Royal Palace, it provides a glimpse into the golden years of the Austro-Hungarian empire and the lives led by the aristocracy at the time. Matthias Church, beside the palace, hosted many events attended by the royal family and was the chosen place for the coronation of Franz Josef, one of the Hungarian Habsburg kings. Having admired the palace and the church, a visit to Buda will be unforgettable by the stunning and memorable panorama over Pest offered by the seven towered Fishermen’s Bastion.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. George Residence

Address: Fortuna utca 4., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Price Range: $142 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your St. George Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Budapest
#27 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#28 Business Hotel in Budapest
#59 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. George Residence staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from St. George Residence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is no lift so if you have problems with stairs try to book for a lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles EandPBath, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“historic area of buda castle”
 of 5 bubbles Okiebird14, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay at the Hilton across the road!”
 of 5 bubbles richardl339, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Gold Suite!”
  • Gold Suite
 of 5 bubbles 456serafimak, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The courtyard facing suites are nice and quiet, and the diamond suites are lovely and very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterFett, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5