We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
wombat\\
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

840 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 527: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hostel was right in the fun and beautiful nightlife and restaurants district. The staff was really friendly and they organised different kind of evenings in the hostels own bar. They also provided pub-crawls. Having this bar in the hostel, it gives you the perfect opportunity to make some new friends. i'm not that kind of party girl, but i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomie A
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a big hostel compared to others I have stayed but this doesn´t affect the quality of cleaning and the friendly staff ready to assist in everything they can. It has a very good location. I really like staying there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fernanda A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is awesome. The rooms are decent enough. The staff are friendly. But what sets this place apart is the eating area. Really easy to meet people, and make friends, where you all of a sudden have a crew to see the sights and sounds of Budapest. I really, really enjoyed my stay!! I highly, highly recommend getting a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1. You can meet foreign roommates at there. -You can enjoy breakfast & 1 free drink at 1F with your foreign roommates. 2. Especially, location is very good. -Saint Estvan Catheral (5 minutes away by walk) -Dohany Street Synagogue (5 minutes away by walk) -Big supermarket (3 minutes away by walk) -Pubs, Cafes (around hostel)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hyun Jung L
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Average experience of the hostel room. The lockers were good for being spacious and the plug socket next to each bed was good but the bedroom smelt awful and my other group members has the same experience with their rooms. The bathroom was average at best. The downstairs community area was big and quirky designed which I liked. the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LivActually
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very good,best service,not expenciv,very cheap,recepcion guys very caind and helpfulls,you go inside,real real good,so clean near all bats there small table on the wall and every where conector where you can put your staff and phone for charge.i give +5

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came here for my last day from Flowhostel , a less central hostel. The staff were friendly enough but there was a complete lack of atmosphere. There were a lot of staff around but I saw one other guest in the time it took me to decide to go back to FlowHostel. The beds didn't look that clean but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cw1234567892015
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, terrible room quality and cleanliness standards. Bedsheets covered in long dark hair, holes and stains on supplied linen and they ask for a piece of ID in return for a room key... dodgey

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRNewey
Management response:

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry for the inconvenience, please accept our sincere apologies. It's really hard to hear that we have fallen on our standards. I hope when you noticed the problem you told it to our reception team and they could provide you new linen. We ask for the ID deposit for the...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second time staying at a Wombat's hostel, so I already knew I was going to be satisfied with the room, the bed, the service, etc. But, what really struck me about this hostel was the absolutely phenomenal location. This hostel is literally within walking distance from all the important things Budapest has to see. You are within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mina T
Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What can I say! So we arrived 13th Jan Friday/Saturday morning to be met by a member of staff at reception that was half asleep. He only checked us in for 2 nights instead of 3, furthermore he only gave us 1 key card and expected us to share a locker and no bed tags. When we went back down...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shane-b1918

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (60)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 340 in Budapest
747 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 340 in Budapest
4,488 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#41 of 340 in Budapest
949 reviews
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#37 of 340 in Budapest
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest

Address: Kiraly utca 20, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range: $22 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from wombat's CITY HOSTEL Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Enjoy the free beer at 1F using coupon! (They'll give you coupon during check-in)”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“4 Bedroom is the best option”
 of 5 bubbles minat284, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If your budget allows it, go for a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahbH4886QC, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I assume all rooms are great. There is a very fast elevator to get to higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 547katiez, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you're worried about the noise, ask for a room not on the street side.”
 of 5 bubbles woutv598, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5