We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Charles

Show Prices
#52 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

515 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 265: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here three nights in November 2016. Selected on basis of location (business) and price. Rooms are spacious and clean if somewhat tired. We had room with kitchenette, they added a toaster at our request. Service was prompt and helpful, all staff had reasonable English language. It was hot in the room even in November, we had to keep window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for giving us a positive feedback. It's always pleasing to read the satisfaction of our guests. We are happy that you were delighted by our staff. Next time you visit us ask for a room that faces the courtyard so traffic noises can be avoided. We are looking forward to see you soon again. Kind wishes,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My First visit to Budapest, and I wasn't let down by the Charles hotel .. The room was massive, a good size kitchen although not overly equipped, but you only had to ask for more. King size comfortable bed.. Bathroom, a little shabby, but everything worked The weather was very cold but heating was on all day, should you require...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen j
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Thank you for giving us a positive feedback. It's always pleasing to read the satisfaction of our guests. We are happy that you were delighted by our staff and the room you stayed in. We are looking forward to see you in June. Kind regards, Anna Jeney marketing assistant

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location on the Buda side of Budapest. Wi-fi did not work great, but room was nice. Small kitchenette perfect to cook up a few small meals. Pots, pans, utensils, dish soap, dishes all available to use. The pillows were so big though that they hurt my neck...however for watching tv or reading in bed, they were comfortable. A bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skaidra K
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us a positive review. It's always pleasing to read the satisfaction of our guests. We are happy that you were delighted by our staff. Next time you visit us ask for a room that faces the courtyard so traffic noises can be avoided. We are looking forward to see you soon again. Kind wishes,...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for just one night. The (triple deluxe) room was huge and clean. We also had a small kitchenette fairly well equiped. Breakfast was great. Many types of food to choose from, fresh juice, coffee, tea, milk etc. The staff was extremely helpful with the high-chair and booster for the children. A good overall experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calin l
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us a positive feedback. It's always pleasing to read the satisfaction of our guests. We are happy that you were delighted by our staff and the breakfast you had in our restaurant. We hope we can welcome you soon again in our hotel. Kind wishes, Anna Jeney marketing assistant

North Brabant Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel The people are very kind and helpful. If you need something you can ask the reception and they will help you. The cleaning lady's also do a very good job. This a good hotel for a good price. Thanks from Holland A.Tijs

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ad T
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us a positive feedback. It's always pleasing to read the satisfaction of our guests. We are happy that you were delighted by our staff. We hope we can welcome you soon again in our hotel. Kind wishes, Anna Jeney marketing assistant

Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We stayed three nights in the beginning of October and had a Studio Deluxe. Clean, spacious and comfortable. Included a kitchenette with a mini bar. The breakfast was good and varied. The location was good. We found it very convenient to catch a bus just outside the hotel when going to the centre. Someone wrote on this sight that it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lars S
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review

Dear Lars, Thank you for giving us a feedback. It's a pleasure to read you satisfaction about our hotel. We are happy that you were delighted by our staff, you found the room convenient you stayed in and you also liked the breakfast you had in our restaurant. We hope we can welcome you soon again as our guest. Kind...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Great hotel, fantastic helpful staff who all spoke good English. Food was beautiful ,hot fresh. Breakfast was great with lots to choose from. Would highly recommend this hotel whether business or pleasure. It was by a railway line and a busy road but I could not hear anything from my room. The local buses stopped right outside, you could walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jacky_knight
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us a feedback. It's a pleasure to read you satisfaction about our hotel. We are happy that you were satisfied with our staff, you found your room convenient and you also liked the breakfast you had in our restaurant. We hope we can welcome you soon again in our hotel. Best wishes, Anna Jeney...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Clean carpets and sheets and towels. Mini kitchen with hob fridge. Kettle. Kitchen essentials also. Comfortable bed. Was at front of building by a main rd. A little loud but it almost becomes comforting in yhe background. Would recommend and its 10min drive from city centre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Summayah S
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Good location on Buda side, handy to public transit and easy walk to river... Hotel staff were marvelous - provided lots of information and helped with booking tours...restaurant provided fabulous breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Weezie010
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us a feedback. It’s nice to read that you were pleased by our staff and the breakfast you had in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you soon again as our guest. Best wishes, Anna Jeney marketing assistant

Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We had a fabulous three night stay in Hotel Charles Budapest. The reception staff were so polite and helpful and they had excellent English which is a big help. It is about a fifteen minute walk into the city centre so we got a bit of exercise as well. There are buses just outside the hotel if you don't feel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James H
Jeney A, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review

Dear Jim, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It’s a pleasure to read your positive thoughts about our hotel. We are glad that you were delighted by our staff and you were satisfied with the meal you had in our restaurent. We hope to welcome you soon again as our guest. Best regards, Anna Jeney marketing assistant

335 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (36)
Viewed
Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#41 of 340 in Budapest
479 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#38 of 340 in Budapest
852 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#57 of 340 in Budapest
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#53 of 340 in Budapest
864 reviews
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#40 of 340 in Budapest
827 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#114 of 340 in Budapest
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District I / Buda

Neighbourhood Profile
District I / Buda
The historical center to a city with a multifarious and intricate past, Buda has some of the most outstanding buildings in Europe and an enviable natural landscape with stunning views onto the Danube. Centered around the Royal Palace, it provides a glimpse into the golden years of the Austro-Hungarian empire and the lives led by the aristocracy at the time. Matthias Church, beside the palace, hosted many events attended by the royal family and was the chosen place for the coronation of Franz Josef, one of the Hungarian Habsburg kings. Having admired the palace and the church, a visit to Buda will be unforgettable by the stunning and memorable panorama over Pest offered by the seven towered Fishermen’s Bastion.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Charles is situated on Gellert hill, on the Buda side of the river, with excellent public transportation to the close city centre. The Citadel and the Royal Castle is within walking distance. All our Deluxe category studios are airconditioned, while some of our newly furnished Standard category studios are available with airconditioning as well for a surcharge. All of our studios are equipped with a kitchenette. Free WIFI access is available in the whole building. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Charles

Address: Hegyalja ut 23, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Price Range: $43 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charles And Apartment
Hotel Charles Apartment
Charles Apartment Budapest
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#43 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#52 Family Hotel in Budapest
#66 Business Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Charles staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Charles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floors are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 403roberth, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for kitchen equipment, ie toaster. fry pan”
 of 5 bubbles helenj535, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room at the inside is more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 651adt, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It is best to stay in a room away from the street to avoid noise from passing traffic”
 of 5 bubbles JimH820, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floors are probably better if you are easily disturbed by traffic noise and of course you will have beautiful views.As the rooms are apartment type there is no coffee /tea in rooms(kettle provided)so bring your own coffee /milk”
 of 5 bubbles getaboutalotwales, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay