We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 642: English reviews
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We booked this hotel as very good value last minute deal back in June.Be warned they take a hefty £100 deposit when you arrive and release the funds off your card when you leave.Thats not why I'm giving only an average rating. The rooms are a very good standard I paid extra for a river view which was a total...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salvagebabe
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experiences. Thank you for mentioning your positive experiences about the room, pool and breakfast. We deeply regret to read that you did not like our location. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Gábor Nemes...

Beverly Hills, California
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

I had low expectations of this hotel after reading other reviews, but the spa looked so nice in the pictures we took a gamble and booked here, and we were so glad we did. I was a bit scared when we arrived and were walking down the hallway to the room, it reminded me of Vegas, and not SLS luxury...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal S
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel and share your positive experiences. Thank you for mentioning your positive experiences about the spa, and please be assured that we will improve our cleaning service. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Gábor Nemes General Manager

Belgrade
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Prepaid on-line room via Trip Advisor, c-in took at least 30 minutes as they could not figure out the reservations. Balasz Soos was very unprofessional and rude. If you try to ask a question or communicate he remains mute. Had to forward the Hotel voucher several times. Noted that I have to rush to a scheduled massage and he said...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelKat22
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We deeply regret to read your comment about your stay and please accept our apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you. We deeply regret to read that none of our service met your expectation. Hope to better serve you in the future. Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager

Reviewed 24 August 2016

I attended Sziget festival for the third time this year. The last two years I camped but this year we decided to stay in a hotel. The ONLY positive about the Aquincum Hotel was its distance to Sziget, it only cost us roughly 6e in a taxi to travel to the festival. The festival was in August and I booked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sasha G
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for your sharing your experiences. I deeply regret to read that you were not satisfied with our service. As we have already sent an asnwer to your customer satisfaction survey, we can repeat ourselves. In case of your comments, I would like to kindly inform you about the following: Under the ‘policies’ menu you can find...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We booked a room from this hotel in August, as they had a good offer on rooms. Overall we were quite dissapointed about the hotel, overall rating would be 2+ stars. We got a room from the 1st floor, where keeping curtains open was not possible. We though the hotel had a bath, but it had a surcharge of 13e...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pekka_Koponen
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing our hotel. We regret to read that you had problems in regards to the serivce quality and the prices at our hotel. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that we have caused you. Hope to see you again soon, Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager

Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

It was a very nice stay, for my husband and two teens children . A big reception area with very polite stuff. The space in the room were enough.we even bought some souvenirs from the hotel's shop. breakfast was ver good:big variety ,omelette, pastries, hot dishes,coffee...and specially dinner was excellent: beer, burger, shnitzel and goulash,yummyy! There's an excellent restaurant just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maya_atme
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are happy to read that you found our staff polite and the rooms spacious. We are also glad to read you liked the variety of breakfast and our choice for the dinner menu. Hope to see you again soon, Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager

Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 22 August 2016

This is our third time here and despite having some issues earlier, the hotels location near the Sziget festival made us choose it once again. This time the wifi-problem, which was our major issue last time, was solved. The rooms are still a bit dated and shower pressure is low but we knew this when booking. We also got to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1406
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are happy to read that we have managed to resolve a previous issue in regards to the wireless connection on site. We are also glad to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast. I regret to read that you had problems in regards to the late check-out and the actual check-out...

London
Reviewed 21 August 2016

...of course it depends how you paid. I wouldn't NOT recommend this hotel and I enjoyed my stay. Nice big atrium, lobby area, rooms nice and spacious. Service good and friendly. Overall 7/10. If you want ease of access to city centre you must therefore be prepared to use the public transport and also make an change from the rail...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jethro672
ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are happy to read that you have liked the ambience of our hotel and had a good experience in regards of friendliness and service quality. I regret to read that you had issues regarding the problem-solving skills of our staff and regarding the transportation options here at Budapest. Please accept our...

Wickford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Lovely stay. Most staff polite, food inexpensive and met standards of a 4/5 * hotel. Only problem was the issue checking in and learning breakfast was not included in booking; despite stating on website.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhys S
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are happy to read that you liked our hotel and service. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you. Hope to see you again soon, Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, very close to sziget! Everything else was shockingly bad, the staff were rude and unclear in there explanations. On arrival we were charged 300 euro deposit for damages , however the man on the desk asked immediately for my friends card and mumbled something about verifying the details then charged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle L
ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing our hotel. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that we caused to you during your case. Regarding the deposit, it can be acreadit acrd or cash deposit and it's not payment, just a guarantee. We try to improve our services based on your experiences and we try to clearly inform our guests. Pleasea...

572 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (314)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (143)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Deluxe River View King (29)
Viewed
Executive King (29)
Viewed
Executive River Suite King (39)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior King (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
Danubius Hotel Helia
#77 of 340 in Budapest
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Residence
Boscolo Residence
#49 of 340 in Budapest
613 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#68 of 340 in Budapest
626 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 340 in Budapest
6,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest hotel overlooks the Danube on the historic Buda side, at the Arpad Bridge, opposite Margaret Island. Providing an exquisite balance between business, leisure and relaxation, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation, versatile conference facilities, and a natural thermal spa. We are located near some of Budapest's most fascinating attractions including the ruins of ancient Aquincum and the hills and forests of Buda. Downtown Budapest and the Danube Bend are also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

Address: Arpad fejedelem utja 94., Budapest 1036, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range: $76 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Aquincum Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Aquincum Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Budapest Hotel Budapest
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#56 Family Hotel in Budapest
#80 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from The Aquincum Hotel Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms with a view to the inner courtyard, if you want a view, ask to be a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles HoppieMaky, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own flip flops! - We thought they will be provided with the robs but they were not”
 of 5 bubbles B4014NTannas, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get one facing the river.”
 of 5 bubbles RogerThornhill66, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
  • Bathroom
  • View from room
  • Room very old and smelly
 of 5 bubbles claireleslie1973, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles violaa919, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay