We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Aquincum Hotel Budapest

1,525 reviews
#133 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Save
Traveller (415)
Room & Suite (253)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good38%
  • Average19%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“city centre”(86 reviews)
“nice hotel”(57 reviews)
“thermal pools”(21 reviews)
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,525)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
252
259
145
42
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
252
259
145
42
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrenice hotelthermal poolspublic transportmargaret islandthai massagesteam roomsgreat spathe riverspa facilitiessziget festivaltrain stationexecutive roomstars hotelreception staffbuda sidebuffet breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Overall we were very happy with our stay at the Aquincum Hotel, but there is room for improvements as well. The room had a nice size, was always clean and we appreciated the complementary water, coffee and tea. The bed was comfortable and we were...More

3  Thank Lind0305
Response from ManagementBudapest, General Manager at The Aquincum Hotel BudapestResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review, we are very happy to see that we have left an overall positive impression on you. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, and we will keep on...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We visited Budapest last week, the hotel is ok as a base. The personnel is nice, breakfast is good, we didn' t have time to enjoy the swimming pools because they are opened till 10:00 PM. The room was clean, the carpet on the hallway...More

Thank Mihai D
Response from ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel BudapestResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review, we are very happy to see that we have left an overall positive impression on you. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, so that you can try...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We chose to stay in this hotel as we went to a wedding in it's close neighborhood.... the receptionists were slow and exaggeratedly unfriendly, speaking with irritated voices and lacking manners. Good start, we said. The room (superior, French bed room) was a simple one...More

1  Thank Anca A A
Response from ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel BudapestResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us and for taking your time to write this feedback. We regret to read that you were not satisfied with our Hotel. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay, we will make sure...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

If you are on holiday you have many things than staying in the hotel. this hotel is exactly serving for your aim like settlement and cleanliness and also comfortable bed for your rest. I recommend👍🏻

Thank Batuhan K
Response from ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel BudapestResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your brief and praising review. We are extremely happy that we could provide you an excellent service in our hotel we hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Gábor Nemes General Manager

Reviewed 2 September 2017

My gf and I stayed at the Aquincum for 2 nights in August 2017. The room was alright and the toilet was impressively clean. The corridors to the rooms were however in a poor condition. The food of the breakfast buffet was tasty with a...More

Thank Rowena A
Response from ManagementBudapest, Ügyvezető igazgató at The Aquincum Hotel BudapestResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest We'd like to thank you for choosing Aquincum Hotel Budapest. We were pleased to read that you were satisfied with your room, and enjoyed our spa facilities. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with our staff members. Customer...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
156789150
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Shuttle Bus Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 71 - USD 174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#23 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#91 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Details
Price range
USD 71 - USD 174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#23 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#38 Business Hotel in Budapest
#55 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#91 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (415)
Room & Suite (253)
Pool & Beach (36)
Dining (28)
Amenities (65)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
robrt
4 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from barbarajeavons | Reviewed this property |
I think the breakfast was €13 You can use the spa it is free to all guests - enjoy 😘
0
Votes
robrt
28 October 2017|
Answer
Response from ManagementBudapest | Property representative |
Dear robrt, We have separate sex saunas, where no swimsuit is required, but you have to use the sauna towel that the spa reception provides for you. The steam cabins have the same rule, except they are not separated. Kind... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Kavita H
19 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Mi M | Reviewed this property |
We used an limo service, worked great. 5 am flight, so no public transport. Public transportation in Budapest was great, so I think it would work if it's the right time of day.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12345610
Room Tips
"Just run as quick as you can...do not stay!!!"
Read review
"Avoid! There are better alternatives out-there."
Read review
"ask for river view..."
Read review
"Ask for a river view"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing