We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Groove

    Szent Istvan koerut 16/II/14, Budapest 1137, Hungary
    Best prices for your stay
    27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    USD 42*
    Traveller (71)
    Room & Suite (31)
    Dining (9)
    • Excellent82%
    • Very good13%
    • Average3%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Pets Allowed
    Dry Cleaning
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Groove
    Deals (1)
    27 Aug.28 Aug.
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • 2xBed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
      USD 42
      View Deal
    • 2xBed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
      USD 42
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 1
    Hotel Parlament
    2,208 reviews
    #5 of 334 hotels in Budapest
    NH Budapest City
    1,441 reviews
    #75 of 334 hotels in Budapest
    Aventura Boutique Hostel
    193 reviews
    #97 of 334 hotels in Budapest
    City Hotel Ring
    397 reviews
    #124 of 334 hotels in Budapest
    Write a Review
    Reviews (134)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    There are newer reviews for The Groove
    See the most recent reviews

    21 - 25 of 113 reviews

    Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

    This wasn't the best place we've stayed. We arrived at midnight in Budapest after a horrid bus ride from Zagreb, and the hostel wasn't well signed on the street. After finding it and being buzzed into a very old building, although quite stunning in the...More

    Thank RachelMT86
    Response from lilaj84, Manager at The GrooveResponded 27 December 2015

    Dear Rachel, First of all thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry if you were disappointed. We will discuss this cleanliness issue with the staff, normally everything should be clean, I'm sorry that you didn't mention it when you were there, we would have...More

    Reviewed 17 December 2015

    If you decide to stay at this hostel, you need to be aware of the noisy surroundings. People and the staff can make noise, so if you want a good night of sleep, you need to be aware of this. The rooms are big, there...More

    Thank Ali h
    Response from lilaj84, Manager at The GrooveResponded 21 December 2015

    Dear Ali, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you were not fully satisfied however I must correct that we have 3 showers and toilets and usually we don't get any complaints about their size, they are actually quite big compare to the standard...More

    Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

    Groove has a comfortable vibe, comfortable rooms, and the best staff of any hostel I've been in. It's not a party hostel but you can always find people there to go out with, and you can come back to a quit spacious that's freakishly cheap....More

    Thank Cody D
    Reviewed 25 November 2015

    This is my second time reviewing the same hostel. Management responded in an attempt to "draw my attention to some details" allegedly missing from my own experience. Of course, a party which was not present would know more about the situation than the person who...More

    3  Thank Laura W
    Response from lilaj84, Owner at The GrooveResponded 28 November 2015

    Dear Laura, After emailing back and forth 3 times and many apologies from our side, we cannot and will not get into this fight with you. We have talked to our staff about the possible policy breaches and everyone has learned their lesson. We go...More

    Reviewed 16 November 2015

    i stayed for 2 weeks in The Groove hostel, i was by myself and the staff(bo, kris, danni, dori and the rest) made me feel always at home, sitting and talking to me every night and making tea(dont forget to try kris's special tea) and...More

    Thank I N
    Hotel Parlament
    2,208 reviews
    #5 of 334 hotels in Budapest
    NH Budapest City
    1,441 reviews
    #75 of 334 hotels in Budapest
    Aventura Boutique Hostel
    193 reviews
    #97 of 334 hotels in Budapest
    City Hotel Ring
    397 reviews
    #124 of 334 hotels in Budapest
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Laundry Service
    • Concierge
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Room amenities
    • Microwave
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Price range
    • USD 20 - USD 69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 7
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Groove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Hungary >
    • Central Hungary >
    • Budapest
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (71)
    Room & Suite (31)
    Dining (9)
    Hotel & Grounds (41)
    Bathroom (6)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    City Hotel Ring
    397 reviews
    .15 km away
    NH Budapest City
    1,441 reviews
    .10 km away
    Aventura Boutique Hostel
    193 reviews
    .22 km away
    Hotel Parlament
    2,208 reviews
    .60 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Red Pepper
    274 reviews
    .17 km away
    Lecso Hungarian Restaurant
    267 reviews
    .09 km away
    Chiyoko Asian Food Bar
    143 reviews
    .10 km away
    Budapest Barbecue Company
    175 reviews
    .02 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Budapest Pinball Museum
    807 reviews
    .37 km away
    Columbo Statue
    59 reviews
    .20 km away
    Comedy Theater
    19 reviews
    .04 km away
    Olimpia park
    9 reviews
    .37 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    30 June 2017|
    Response from flxwnzl | Reviewed this property |
    I'd say about it's enough space for two big suitcases
    Google Translation
    9 August 2015|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from lilaj84 | Property representative |
    Hi PunindaS, Yes, we do, we have pub crawls, cooking evenings and bicycle trips (the last one depends on the weather of course). Cheers, Lili manager Groove Hostel
    Room Tips
    "Remember a padlock!"
    Read review
    "Mixed dorms, cheapest, does the job."
    Read review
    "Private rooms are a little more expensive, but offer a bit of privacy and space."
    Read review
    "Ask for a lower bunk bed, they have curtains to avoid sunlight :)"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing