We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl

Certificate of Excellence
20/06/2017 21/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
Start your review of Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl
 Click to rate
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for only one night in Ljublana, but wished we had another. The town is lovely and easily accessible from this B&B - the tourist info centre is literally across the street where you can rent bikes for 2 euros...good restos and snack bars less than 5 min away. Breakfast was standard (cereal, milk, coffee and juice, bread etc)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helena E
Spokane
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights in the "New Mini Studio". Very small room, double bed, spotlessly clean, TV, wifi, kitchenette with fridge, toaster, hot water pot and a few basics like milk, muesli, orange juice, coffee, sugar, toast and a toast maker. You can make a simple breakfast with that or, if you need more, you can get it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheBirdSpokane
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Selected due to consistent good reviews, we were not disappointed with our choice. Good communication with the owner pre-stay, easy to find from the detailed instructions received. Location is superb close to the Castle, Old Town and Market Square. We were located on the Second Floor Dormer Room, was a bit small but spotlessly clean and was more than adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LIMPIT
Petra V, Alex at Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you. Regards, Alex

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Bookended a trip to Lake Bled with two separate nights at Petra Varl, when we first arrived we were greeted by Alex, who was incredibly welcoming he showed us to the room and then took us to his private residence area for a coffee & paperwork - we spoke for a while about all kinds, he was very interesting &...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank btone6seven
Bridgnorth
Reviewed 20 December 2016

we didn't need or want hotel facilities , just a nice clean room in the right place , and we got exactly that . Perfect location in the heart of the old town . Great friendly welcome . It was a perfect start to the Christmas holidays . Ljubljana is a beautiful city , so clean , so so friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul B
Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

One-liner: Tidy, clean and inexpensive B&B right in the heart of the City LOCATION This B&B is located right on the edge of the market square, the epicentre of the City of Ljubljana. It's close to all the bars, cafes and other tourist attractions like the castle. The central bus and train station is less than 10 minutes walk. A...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank duncanamps
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Its all about location! Tremendous location for this quirky hotel (and next door to a great bakery). Ljubljana isn't the biggest city but this is between the castle and river, perfect for both. Friendly host (english speaker), spotless rooms...great B&B. Probably the most interesting building we've stayed in. I'd really recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kevin I
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 23 October 2016

As we walked up to the B&B, we only then realized it was pretty much at the Public Market Square, a great location. Alex was such a gracious host and our stay completely exceeded our expectations. We arrived just as he was about to have a bowl of some freshly made pumpkin soup. Still, he took the time to check...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Celseaux007
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The room was great value for money, everything you needed for a continental style breakfast was provided, otherwise a supermarket was within 100m and the fruit and veg market right opposite the property! The location of this place is great - right in the heart of the old town. The only view from the room was a courtyard but we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank e0029
essex
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Location very good 50 metres from the Market and Canal. around the corner from the Funicular Railway to the Castle Area quiet Nice room with a nice firm double bed. Bath and shower as normal. Small sink. A little fridge which had Bread, Milk, Orange Juice and butter and jam Also a kettle with Coffee and some utensils I booked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank craig v

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Other (19)
20/06/2017 21/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
810 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,499 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,280 reviews
0.5 km away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
477 reviews
0.3 km away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl

Address: Vodnikov trg 5a, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Price Range: $74 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Petra Varl
Bed And Breakfast Petra Varl Hotel Ljubljana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only saw the Studio and it is perfect for couples.”
Celseaux007, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“New Mini studio is perfect for 2 people with view over the courtyard.”
SusanP540, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the blue room is a studio on the first floor and with a lovely balcony”
Boginia, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The rooms with balcony”
Pasha333, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The balcony rooms are charming.”
dec0rs, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates