We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mescanka

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mescanka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night in October and it was lovely, perfectly located in the middle of the old town overlooking the river. Room was spacious, clean and warm. Staff very friendly, spoke fluent English and happily advised us on places to visit. I'd stay here again. Carl

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarldotYoung
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Our holiday in this fabulous old town was marred somewhat, by a distinct lack of accommodation to my partners mobility issues (arthritic knee ). She was frightened to use room booked, due to an unexpected complete lack of any handrails on the stairs leading directly to it. It didn't help that these stairs are contemporaneous with the age of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Mescanka, Manager at Mescanka, responded to this review

Dear Mr We are really sorry to read your review that followed just a couple of days after we tried to clarify everything to your partner. You have chosen the non-refundable reservation option which means free cancellation or modification is not possible. We have tried everything in our power to assist you and make you feel good during your stay....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The Superior Apartment we booked was magnificent - but there were no banisters or stairs from the 1st floor to the 2nd, where our Apartment was located! As I have mobility problems and had recently had a fall - the lack of support when climbing up or down was not possible without serious consequences to my health. We asked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catlover9cleo
Mescanka, Manager at Mescanka, responded to this review

Dear Ms We were really sorry to read your review, especially because we have tried everything in our power to assist you and make you feel good during your stay. We have received a non-refundable reservation from you (we do have an option for a normal reservation with a free cancellation option for you to choose) and we were not...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Great apartment with easy check in and check out. Clean and extremely spacious. We also liked how central the apartment was, but also quiet with the windows shut. Keep in mind that it's right in the heart of the city so there will be a bit more noise. Loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keels O
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This quaint and comfortable small hotel is right above a restaurant along the riverfront. We were there for only one night, a Friday, and there was street noise (festive, still noise) until the wee hours. But the windows muffled the sound quite nicely. Charming and a perfect location, central to everything on the riverfront. Motor vehicles are not allowed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazwaz811
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2016

This was a wonderful choice. Right in the centre of the old town, right on the river. Comfortable bed and great shower. Spacious and good natural light. Large fridge and cooking facilities Very friendly, helpful staff. Everything you need. Loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This cozy room was remarkably inexpensive considering it's location. The room we had was smallish but big enough with a great bathroom. I couldn't say enough about it's helpful,friendly staff. Certainly no need for a car. The hotel is in the middle of a charming area and you can walk to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bisbeejudie
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Location could not be better. Even though at the heart of Ljubljana, the window isolation was perfect with a cozy room that we always had good night sleeps. The front desk employees were all kind and helpful ladies. We stayed in a studio on the 2nd floor, Ljudmila I believe. Only complaint is that the bathroom was small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burak Y
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Perfectly positioned in the old town so that all the attractions are within a few minutes walk. We had a pretty room full of character with all the usual amenities including a fridge and tea / coffee pot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Location is very convenient. The apartments are on the river, with plenty of restaurants close by and walking to tourist attractions. Good sized rooms, very clean with compact kitchen (we ate out, so didn't need it, but if you're one for self catering, seems all the equipment and utensils you need are there. Although reception is not there 24 hours,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lautrev

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.5 km away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 29 in Ljubljana
428 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 29 in Ljubljana
1,342 reviews
0.5 km away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 29 in Ljubljana
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 29 in Ljubljana
721 reviews
0.0 km away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#16 of 29 in Ljubljana
262 reviews
0.4 km away
Old Town Rooms and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located by the river, beneath the castle and between the two central bridges of the city, Meščanka apartments (pronounced 'Meshchanka', meaning City Lady) offer you the perfect place to stay to discover Ljubljana. You can choose between rooms, studios or fully equipped flats, all with private bathroom. The clean and cosy premises were completely renovated in 2011 to blend a great mix of old refurbished furniture and modern interior design. Come and stay in Meščanka and you will feel why people fall in love with Ljubljana. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mescanka

Address: Kljuchavnicharska ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Price Range: $83 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mescanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mescanka staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mescanka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the highest floor has less effective sound proofing.”
 of 5 bubbles davidpS6428HG, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A good place for those under 40 or 50 - or particularly agile and disco-loving people - also for those who don't mind NOISE..”
  • Unsafe stairs  at Mescanka, esp at corner...
  • Beautiful Pink Church in Town Square
 of 5 bubbles Catlover9cleo, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles sophiel252, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a river view if you can”
 of 5 bubbles rickandpat, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“River views are fantastic. The apartment in the roof (Ljudmila) has a very small and low ceiling bathroom, be aware tall and big people.”
 of 5 bubbles Clouds777, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay