We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Save
Share
Jansky Vrsek 328/3 Mala Strana, Prague 118 00 Czech Republic
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (856)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (428)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#167 of 673 hotels in Prague
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Czech

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
183Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
124Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1,082Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 727
  • 253
  • 64
  • 15
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jeffrey P wrote a review Nov 2019
Rome, Georgia157 contributions59 helpful votes
We spent one night at Vintage Design and will not return or recommend this hotel. The design plan sounds interesting, but the decor was old and worn.The carpet in the room was stained as was the boxspring. Luckily the linens were clean and fresh. The hotel will store your luggage, directing you to a small closet, but it smelled of garbage as if it was stored in the same area. We still had no choice but to use it. WARNING: Make sure that your reservation is cancellable without penalty. Be sure to check prices at least 24 hrs before you check in. Better yet, stay elsewhere. Prices were SIGNIFICANTLY less for all room sizes from the online prices, and we booked directly with the hotel. Unfortunately, we made the mistake of not checking prices the day before.For 250 EUROS, yes-our mistake- you can stay in a truly luxury hotel and avoid this one. We asked about the possibility of reducing the rate once the huge price difference was discovered, contacting them again after our trip. We were told that nothing could be done, that we are the ones who reserved the room and that prices fluctuate; they would not make any adjustment. A disappointing and expensive mistake on our part, but we can warn others who are considering this hotel. 3 positive notes: the night desk clerk was friendly, the kitchen staff packed a breakfast to go for us, and the location was good. But this was not enough to improve this rating. Overall, we had a 1-2 star experience at a 5 star price.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear Jeffrey P vintage is basically means, that decor will be old-fashioned. You can not expect modern design in a VINTAGE hotel. So, thank you for your comment about decor :) We do not have problems with the air in the luggage room. If you have found it bad, you could have stored you luggage somewhere else for additional fee. As we discussed at the reception, there is nothing that can be done with the prices retrospectively. The prices change every day and the final price is the one you book it at. The lower prices you saw were for much smaller rooms, as wasI showed to you at the reception desk. What you could do is to check prices one day before check-in, cancel your reservation and then book it at a lower price if it was available (which was, only for smaller rooms). It is like if you would buy a t-shirt online at a normal price, then saw that the t-shirt is on sale and then wrote and email to the store about the money return. Also, imagine if the price for the room was much higher than the one you book it at - it also would not be ok to charge you more. So the price is the price at the time of booking. Best regards Hotel Sax
Read more
daltonblue wrote a review Oct 2019
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom331 contributions162 helpful votes
Stayed here when England were playing football. The hotel is ideally situated for the centre. It's next to the American embassy ( and not so surprising the KGB museum). It's also close to some quiet bars which is a positive when compared to the Old Town. The hotel itself was very comfortable and clean. The staff all walked around with a smile on their faces. The breakfast was a bonus. We weren't expecting cooked food to go with the continental breakfast. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Responded 14 Nov 2019
Dear daltonblue, thank you very much for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. It is great to read that you enjoyed the breakfast. We would be pleased to accommodate you again in the future!
Read more
Emma C wrote a review Sep 2019
4 contributions3 helpful votes
We came to Prague in April, and we arrived quite late at night due to a flight delay. Found the hotel, and were brought to our room on the ground floor behind the breakfast area. The room was tiny and secluded but it was fine, that is until about 5am when we were awoken to loud bangs and people walking past the bedroom door. Turns out the room was right beside the service entrance to the kitchen and it was so loud, impossible to go back to sleep. We complained at reception and asked to change rooms but there were only 2 suites available, which we were shown. When we asked the price the girl at reception gave us a very good deal as we were staying a few nights which made the suite not much more expensive than the original room. Once we moved rooms the trip was amazing, the room we now had was so quiet with stunning views of the terracotta roofs and Prague castle. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a cool 70s vibe. Location of this hotel is amazing, the area is quiet and very safe due to the embassies being so close, but still is so close to main attractions such as Charles Bridge and Prague Castle. Would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Responded 14 Nov 2019
Dear Emma C, we are happy to read that your problem was solved smoothly! Please do not hesitate to choose our hotel in the future, we would be pleased to see you at our hotel again.
Read more
Gina L wrote a review Jul 2019
4 contributions1 helpful vote
The Hotel is great and has beautiful big rooms. You got an A/C in there what makes it even better. The Service is great and they help you with every question you have. Its quiet up here and I felt save bc the police stops every car whats driving up the hill to the hotelto controll the car.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Responded 14 Nov 2019
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review, it is awesome that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Do not hesitate to choose our hotel again when visiting Prague, we would be happy to see you again.
Read more
Robertboeger wrote a review Jul 2019
Colfax, California2 contributions
I was told air would be fixed tomorrow for 3 nights. We were given fans in poor shape. When I asked for the supervisor, first she was changing her clothes then she wasn’t there. This hotel should be rated a 2 star not 4. Very noisy
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Responded 14 Nov 2019
Dear Norabob, thank you for your feedback and sorry for the inconvenience with AC. We improved our services and everything should go smooth if you choose our hotel again. We would be happy to accommodate you.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 75 - USD 180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
design hotel prague, hotel sax
LOCATION
Czech RepublicBohemiaPragueMalá Strana (Little Quarter) / Praha 1 (City Center)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Which popular attractions are close to Vintage Design Hotel Sax?
Nearby attractions include St. Vitus Cathedral (0.4 km), Prague Castle (0.4 km), and Elixir Mystery (Real Escape Adventure) (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vintage Design Hotel Sax?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Vintage Design Hotel Sax?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vintage Design Hotel Sax?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vintage Design Hotel Sax?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mail Room bistro, Vegan's Restaurant Prague, and Designum Café.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vintage Design Hotel Sax?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Vintage Design Hotel Sax have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Vintage Design Hotel Sax offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Vintage Design Hotel Sax?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vintage Design Hotel Sax?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to Vintage Design Hotel Sax?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Town Hall with Astronomical Clock (1.5 km), Vysehrad National Cultural Monument (2.9 km), and Lobkowicz Palace (0.6 km).