We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

908 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 902: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
 Click to rate
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I had a lovely time at the only fools and horses dining experience night. The show was superb and this is the third such show we have attended. The food was very nice and we love the hotel. Very pleasant staff and comfortable rooms. I would recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The staff, swimming pool and food were fantastic, unfortunately not everything followed suit. There was plenty of parking available for free when you register your car at reception, the staff were really helpful and my swim was finished off with an enjoyable 5 minutes in the steam room. The restaurant offered a wide variety of food, all of which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clair B
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Old fashioned furniture in rooms, but very clean and pleasant.All this was totally spoilt by everything in the dining room. The room itself was badly lit, some lights not working, tables unsteady, flooring not conforming with health and safety in one place. The staff were all very young and virtually untrained in their duties, the breakfasts were just perfect, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked with group coach trip. F and B staff friendly and doing their best. Food cold, tasteless, and unappetising especially the half chicken plonked on a plate and the uncooked potatoes; No wardrobe doors; no bath plug; towel rail cold; Wi-Fi non existent; cold water jammed off; T.V. needed attention as did heating. My first experience of a Best Western....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jleaney2017
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a business meeting here today, Staff were friendly and coffee good, Also ordered a couple of sandwiches which were really nice (club especially). Parking is good but you must register your vehicle immediately. Nice venue which I will use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkJJ69
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love this place and can't wait to return .. room spacious and clean ... bed comfy ... loved the spa and getting up for a swim before brekkie .. . Room service messed and order up big time but this was rectified satisfactory ... staff mainly friendly and helpful ... all in all lovely place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I, like many, fell foul to not noticing the parking signage and the resultant penalty charge notice of £100 when failing to log in my vehicle registration number at reception when taking my grandson to a swimming lesson one afternoon in February. I see that others say there's plenty of signage, so what's the problem? Well the problem is that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've just stayed here for two nights and it's a very relaxed, comfy stay. The staff is friendly, the food is lovely and bedroom was a decent size. They have signs everywhere saying to register your car number plate within 15 minutes, so why people are complaining I don't understand. The prices are reasonable but if you don't fancy anything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma G
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Hotel to meet up with an old school friend over Christmas period, didnt see the poorly hit signs telling you to register VRN at reception and got lumbered with a £100 Parking Charge notice that the Hotel say they cannot deal with. Suggest people avoid this place until they remove the parking company....

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Flobber W
Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Be very careful if you visit this hotel. I attended a pre-booked club lunch in December 2016, and was surprised to be fined £100 a few weeks later for having used the hotel car park whilst having lunch. I was not alone in failing to see warning signs, which were not obvious, to register my car .All appeals have been...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 29kep
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

The car park management system is currently run by a third party – Creative (Contracts) Car Park Ltd - who operate independently from the hotel. While the current system was implemented to ensure our hotel guests and patrons always have access to free parking, we have been made aware of those that have been experiencing issues. Creative (Contracts) Car Park...

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marks Tey
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
710 reviews
5.7 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
508 reviews
13.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
7.4 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
239 reviews
7.8 km away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Colchester Zoo, Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester near to the A12 and Marks Tey railway station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Address: London Road, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Price Range: $89 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Derbyshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont use the car park unless you want to pay an additional £100!”
 of 5 bubbles thurgodebb, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Parking penalties”
 of 5 bubbles davisfamily01, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The executive rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Akita4England, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just avoid this hotel altogether”
 of 5 bubbles jeffcV1512VZ, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“218 was good for us, overlooking the main entrance”
 of 5 bubbles brianc890, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5