Woodlands of Marburg
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Woodlands of Marburg

174 Seminary Rd, Marburg, Queensland 4346 Australia
View from the car park
Traveller (42)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Marburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
An Iconic Heritage Listed Resort offering Accommodation, Event and Conference Facilities as well as a Licensed Cafe, and 5 star dining experiences.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Billiards
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
71Reviews1Q+A20Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 27
  • 16
  • 9
  • 11
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
LyndaB B wrote a review July 2020
Paradise Point, Australia102 contributions19 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Tommy Smith's cafe's Indonesian inspired menu sounded so interesting. Unfortunately the Gulai Kambing, lamb curry with white rice and pickles lacked all the exciting herbs and spices usually found in this dish. Flavour didnt exist. The sweet soy pork and the satay chicken were excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Expressive Nature wrote a review Apr 2021
Ipswich, Australia61 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrific food and they catered well for the vegetarian in our trio. Great relaxed location and service above average. Home made condiments are available for sale- the jam I brought home is exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aussie Traveller wrote a review Mar 2022
Brisbane, Australia374 contributions100 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed our overnight experience in nice surroundings. Very impressed by the grandeur of the manor where we dined in the Sugar Loaf Restaurant. Outdoor areas and some external buildings require care and attention and in some cases demolition. Our accommodation was comfortable with nice furnishings and very much enjoyed our dining experience. Menu choices were limited but adequate and probably not the place to dine for people with big appetites.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheryl W wrote a review Oct 2020
Murrumba Downs, Australia22 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was expecting to be disappointed and I was! I thought that the room was overpriced - even though it was nicely appointed. We were fortunate that we were staying on a Friday night as the cafe is only open on the weekends. We had wanted to do the Ghost Tour, and it took three days for a response from Woodlands to tell us that it was booked out We had already booked the room and the cancellation policy meant we would have been out of pocket so we went.
The meal was great and the staff in the cafe were friendly and helpful. We didn't stop for breakfast as the cafe didn't open until 8.30 am we were up early so were gone by 6am as there was adequate tea or coffee or milk.
We were the only ones to park in the designated car park.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: make sure you pack a picnic basket!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol G wrote a review Feb 2020
50 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Today we visted Woodlands at Marburg for a delicious lunch at the Cafe beautifully situated behind the historical homestead. We had the option of sitting inside which is air conditioned or sitting on the back deck which had a lovely view of the countryside. There is a small menu to chose from but enough choice which covered all food areas.

The meal was delicious, the view awesome and the staff friendly. There is a wheelchair friendly ramp and ample parking

Highly recommend this venue.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Women Travel Solo wrote a review Nov 2021
Brisbane, Australia242 contributions182 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely stunning! Very quite surrounds, on hectares of land, so take a leisurely stroll around. Surprised it had a pool. Staff were very accommodating.

Although reception wasn't open, received an email and text giving instructions.

Cheaper accommodation is offered in dorm-style rooms, but only open for events.

Room was large, the double bed splitting into 2 singles. Bathroom was large, with a big shower.

I can not rate this place highly enough
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Shops aren't close by, so get snacks in advance
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeanette C wrote a review Nov 2022
Queensland, Australia109 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We used to come here for meals years ago & it was always really good . It has undergone a few management changes & types of venue since then.
We were very excited to see it reopen as a restaurant even if only on Friday & Saturday nights.
We only live in Ipswich so chose not to stay. We have done previously & the rooms were quite nice.

The meals were all delicious & well priced. We both enjoyed our entree of scallops. I had the duck leg confit & husband eye fillet. The duck leg was delicious. Hubby’s steak a tiny bit overdone. Both meals came with vegetables which was a lovely change from having to order an overpriced side.
We enjoyed the share plate petit four dessert . Delicious!

The service could do with a little tweaking. Not sure if they’re aiming at fine dining. If so please don’t serve my ginger beer soft drink in the stubby with a straw. A glass with ice is much more appropriate & when asked for was no bother. Also the days of serving a par bake roll with a little wrapped butter are long gone. Some freshly made bread would be lovely.
My husband thought it would be nice to see a maître d or manager somewhere in the restaurant but I fully understand with staff shortages this may not be an option.
The 2 waitresses were very friendly & helpful.
Please note these aren’t complaints just suggestions. We will certainly be returning ASAP.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go a little early if possible to catch the sunset.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CazziePie wrote a review Aug 2023
Richmond, Australia24 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first visit to Sugar Mill Restaurant at Woodlands and the building is impressive on arrival. A fine example of late Victorian c1880 architecture set amidst fine grounds it is a large B&B. Our visit was to celebrate a family birthday and we dined but did not stay in the venue. The dining room is spectacularly lined with locally sourced cedar panelling and a huge fire place. The menu was small but varied. I ordered lamb cutlets as a starter and crispy skin snapper for my main course. Other family members chose the seared scallops (delicious), steak, and comfy duck breast. My only complaint is that the cutlets were not cooked to my taste. Unlike the current trend to serve lamb pink, I prefer it well cooked. However this was almost raw. Lamb, like beef, changes flavour according the the cooking time and should be cooked to the preference of the customer. I will make sure to advise the wait staff of my preference next time visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gaye M wrote a review Nov 2020
Brisbane, Australia19 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband & I had a three night weekend stay in an executive suite. We had a family event to attend in Ipswich so it was ideally located. We checked in and out without the need to visit reception or have any contact with staff, so very Covid friendly. The room was beautiful, comfortable and spotlessly clean. It was so quiet even though it is just off the highway. The grounds are beautiful and there are amazing views and this would be a beautiful place for a wedding or function. I really enjoyed taking a stroll around the grounds. The swimming pool is huge. The only meal we had in the cafe onsite was Sunday breakfast which was really nice and the service was great despite having a lot of people in the cafe. It is popular with the locals so I would suggest booking a table. The only issue we had was Sunday night dinner as the cafe was closed as was the local pubs so we took a drive into Rosewood to get a takeaway pizza. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janette G wrote a review July 2021
Brisbane, Australia7 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had 2 nights at Woodlands a couple of weeks ago with 2 other couples. The accommodation was perfect. The outlook is beautiful, rooms are so well appointed and very clean. We were able to sit on the verandah outside our rooms and have drinks in the afternoon. Breakfast was an adequate "breakfast box" with cereal, bread and condiments. Tea and coffee making facilities, good size fridge and toaster were supplied. Unfortunately we were there mid week and currently the restaurant was not open nor the ghost tour, BUT because we enjoyed the stay so much, we have decided we will return on a Friday night to do the ghost tour and have dinner in the glorious restaurant. The staff were so friendly. We met the chef on his way into the kitchen. He was telling us about his menu etc. A very passionate and friendly young chef. We would certainly recommend a stay here. I believe it is popular for weddings as there is a chapel on the grounds. Photographs would be fantastic. Loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We had 3 rooms (2 upstairs 1 downstairs) as 3 couples travelled. All equally as good as each...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian A asked a question Apr 2017
Brisbane, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
Do you have availability for Mothers day 2017, and could you send me a price and or menu please.
Answer from rosrees
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions
Sorry I cant answer your question. You need to send your question to the venue directly. I have just provided a review of my experience.
Jeanette C wrote a tip Nov 2022
Queensland, Australia109 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go a little early if possible to catch the sunset."
Read full review
Women Travel Solo wrote a tip Nov 2021
Brisbane, Australia242 contributions182 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Shops aren't close by, so get snacks in advance"
Read full review
Janette G wrote a tip July 2021
Brisbane, Australia7 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had 3 rooms (2 upstairs 1 downstairs) as 3 couples travelled. All equally as good as each other."
Read full review
Cheryl W wrote a tip Oct 2020
Murrumba Downs, Australia22 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"make sure you pack a picnic basket!"
Read full review
rnrvacations wrote a tip May 2019
Brisbane, Australia9 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"great rooms - very comfortable. Some King rooms and some Queen rooms."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Marburg area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$162 - AU$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandMarburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WOODLANDS OF MARBURG (AU$162): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Woodlands of Marburg
Which popular attractions are close to Woodlands of Marburg?
Nearby attractions include Barb's Gift Shop (5.9 km), EWE Nique Hobby Farm Haigslea (4.5 km), and Coolana Olives (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Woodlands of Marburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Woodlands of Marburg?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Woodlands of Marburg?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Woodlands of Marburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Woodlands of Marburg, The Girls' Coffee Bar, and Special Branch Collective.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Woodlands of Marburg?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Woodlands of Marburg offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Woodlands of Marburg accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.