We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Beresford Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The Beresford Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 120: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great night at the Stables for an anniversary meal. Lovely choice of food and very friendly staff. Would recommend. The atmosphere was relaxed and the owner was very informed. I can recommend the king prawns and the sweets are a good size to share.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Happyhomemaker93
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

The Hubster and I stayed for one evening. We were in room 4 which was very nice. Breakfast was great as was the evening meal. Loved this place and can't wait to return. The staff were very welcoming and the locals seemed to enjoy themselves. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Waddo62
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Went here on the recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed !! Great food although I have to say I made a complete pig of myself and had the huge twix cheesecake 😁. Our whole party loved the food and the veg were so fresh. Would highly recommend! ! Next time we go back, I think we'll stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey B
Northumberland
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I was out with the "girls" and was looking forward to enjoying one of our regular restaurant visits but I was very disappointed with the food, service and ambiance here. I ordered the soup of the day with an artisan bread roll, what arrived was a bowl of cauliflower soup which had had a pepper pot spilt into it along...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foodfan
TheBeresfordArms14, Owner at The Beresford Arms, responded to this review

Foodfan, Thanks for taking the time out of your day to rate us, we are very sorry to hear that you felt the whole experience was poor! You will note from numerous reviews from past customers our service is something that we excel at and we have a lot of positive feedback about our food. If you had brought this...

Reviewed 25 September 2016

Lovely over night stay while attending family wedding. Bedroom was clean, good size, well equipped toiletries, towels etc. Plenty tea coffee available in room. Good breakfast from friendly staff.locals were nice also. Felt very welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessie M
TheBeresfordArms14, Owner at The Beresford Arms, responded to this review

Hi Jessie, Thanks for reviewing us! We hope to see you again soon.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We have just spent two very pleasant nights in the Beresford Arms. We were greeted by very friendly staff and locals alike, our room was clean comfortable and large enough for the two of us. We had our meal here on our second evening and it was very nice, well cooked and good portions, quite a few people in for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnthewhit
TheBeresfordArms14, Owner at The Beresford Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay here, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and the Brown Ale! :) The breakfast included is a continental breakfast, we do offer cooked as an upgrade. All businesses operate slightly differently, some hotels have free buffet breakfasts and charge for other services, for example, hotels often...

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We just spent two nights at the Beresford Arms. The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of storage and en suite toilet and shower. Hair dryer and kettle supplied with plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate mix and cookies restocked daily plus two chocolates on arrival. A range of shower gel, shampoo/conditioner, body lotion and cotton balls also restocked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
Chris E, Owner at The Beresford Arms, responded to this review

Thanks Ed, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Please visit again soon.

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We meet up with family here once or twice a year. What a difference a year makes. Menue cut choice limited. I had a steah at £17:95 some of it tasted sour. It was aged and you couldtell it was the end piece. I adked for eell done chips but they were soggy. Lacking in vegetarian choice....veg curry of fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weardalelad
Chris E, Owner at The Beresford Arms, responded to this review

Weardalelad, I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal here with us. We pride ourselves in using premium quality, locally sourced meats, we are more than happy to correct anything that isn't to your liking or preference if it's brought to our attention. We are proud to boast one of the only 5* food hygiene and food safety ratings...

northumberland
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stayed here on a Friday night.The bedroom was clean,quiet and spacious.The staff are very friendly and the food was lovely with the service being quick and efficient.The shower wasn't fantastic but it was just for one night so didnt bother us.We would highly recommend if your looking for somewhere to stay in our beautiful Northumbrian countryside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missyscott
Chris E, Owner at The Beresford Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for the review MissyScott. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, we are currently in the process of replacing the showers so hopefully next time we will get 5* from you. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 11 September 2016

Visited here last night on northumberland tour with a large group. Received a warm welcome, staff very friendly and provided nibbles and chips really lovely atmosphere and staff very attentive will certainly return and reccommend to friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwen E
Chris E, Owner at The Beresford Arms, responded to this review

Hi Gwen, Thanks for taking the time to review us, we are offering loyalty cards to all of the TyneIdols visitors, contact us offline if you'd like us to post you one.

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whalton
15.3 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.2 km away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
17.4 km away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
St Mary's Inn
St Mary's Inn
#2 of 33 in Morpeth
101 reviews
4.4 km away
The Dyke Neuk Inn
The Dyke Neuk Inn
#18 of 33 in Morpeth
82 reviews
8.4 km away
Castle View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Beresford Arms

Address: Main Street, Whalton, Morpeth NE61 3UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Whalton
Price Range: $129 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Beresford Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All bedrooms are accessed by stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 295jessiem, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only a small country Inn so rooms are limited.”
 of 5 bubbles 893edb, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay , its a small village pub.”
 of 5 bubbles aspearman, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 1”
 of 5 bubbles davidcL4759ST, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“No 4 is slightly smaller but cosy and adequate. Our favourite.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterJ525, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay