Hanson Bay Cabins
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hanson Bay Cabins

476 Hanson Bay Rd, Karatta, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223 Australia
Kitchen in cabin
Traveller (98)
One of the bedrooms
Room & Suite (49)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Karatta
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are pleased to offer you a choice of six self-contained beach side cabins for your next holiday at beautiful Hanson Bay on Kangaroo Island. Each log cabin features picture windows and spectacular ocean views of the rugged coast and Southern Ocean. The Hanson Bay cabins overlook the pristine beach and sparkling waters of Hanson Bay. They are ideally positioned to capture the wonderful cooling sea breezes during summer, while the slow combustion wood fire ensures that your are warm and snug during the cooler months. Four of the self contained holiday cabins contain two bedrooms, a bathroom, and open plan kitchen and living areas.Two Cabins are one bedroom and fully self contained. Each cabin features slate floors, electric oven/cooker, refrigerator and a shared laundry. Fully equipped kitchen and full linen are supplied. The main bedroom features a queen bed and built-in robes. The second bedroom is equipped with two single beds. An extra single bed, cot and high chair are available if required. There is also a BBQ (barbecue) and a deck area available. Birds during the day and abundant wildlife at night make this a very popular holiday destination for nature lovers. Hanson Bay is also a fantastic location for swimming, fishing, snorkeling, canoeing, bushwalking or just relaxing. Bring your swimming gear, fishing rods, bicycles and comfortable walking shoes to make the most of your escape to Hanson Bay. There are also plenty of fascinating places to visit nearby. A short drive from the Hanson Bay Holiday Cabins will take you to Kelly Hill Caves, Flinders Chase National Park, Remarkable Rocks, Admirals Arch and Platypus Walks. Those staying in the cabins receive free access to our Koala Walk - as well as a discounted entry fees to our Nocturnal Walks. Hanson Bay Sanctuary now has its new visitor centre and cafe, At the Koala Walk, 7km from the cabins (yes, its a large property!) we are open for food, drinks, coffee, souvenirs or just a chat from 8am until 6pm in Spring and Summer and 9am until 5pm in Autumn and Winter.We also sell bread and milk, and regularly organise provisions for visiting guests by prior arrangement.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Beach
Canoeing
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Fishing
Walking tours
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

476 Hanson Bay Rd, Karatta, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223 Australia
108Reviews4Q+A27Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 30
  • 6
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Wendy B wrote a review May 2023
Sydney, Australia44 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. Entire beach to yourself or one fisherman, night skies that are sooo spectacular, close to Flinders Chase for daily walks and sightseeing, panoramic views, fireplace and bbq. Good communication. Please don't tell too many people about this unique special place. Do tour of wildlife sanctuary as well. Self cater bring your own food, make sure you have plenty of fuel although you can fill up at camping grounds down the road. Walk to Kelly Caves.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You can buy food and fuel from nearby camping area- better stocked than at Vivonne Bay if you are...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from jim geddes, Owner at Hanson Bay Cabins
Responded 19 May 2023
Thanks we are glad you enjoyed your stay and sanctuary tour . By the way the walk to Kelly Hill Caves is expected to be fully reopened in October and is currently only accessible if you have booked on the KI Wilderness trail. So we better keep that as a secret for now!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
penm80 wrote a review Apr 2022
37 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Stormy Petrel cabin and it was breathtaking. The views were incredible and the location itself it so special in the gorgeous bay with clear water, stunning coastal vegetation and all the wildlife. It was so good having next to no one else around. The cabin was fitted out really well with everything we needed for our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to arrive before dark to avoid when wildlife is more active
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from jim geddes, Owner at Hanson Bay Cabins
Responded 19 May 2023
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Booking both cabins is the way to go. They have a connecting door which makes into great for a family or small group.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MAW wrote a review Mar 2024
Melbourne, Australia351 contributions87 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What an amazing view these cabins have, we stayed here for 3 nights and found the location great base for some of the local attractions. Alot of damage caused by the bushfires is slowly re generating. Sadly l think while they have been trying to look after the wildlife sanctuary l think the cabins have been somewhat neglected and they are badly in need of some serious TLC l wish Tom and the team all the best in there rebuiding phase.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from jim geddes, Owner at Hanson Bay Cabins
Responded 26 Mar 2024
Thanks for staying and writing a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the view. We are located in an awesome coastal headland location which means the windows can get dirty quite quickly due to the salt laden spray if the winds pick up. We clean them between each stay but sometimes.... we are constantly upgrading so I look forward to welcoming you back to see the improvements that have already occurred. Jim
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
worldtraveler94131 wrote a review Apr 2006
San Francisco, CA4 contributions31 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hanson Bay Cabins are *extremely* rustic. They are 5 km down a badly unpaved road which they dont warn you about in advance - if you bring a rental car - you are not allowed to drive on these roads. The cabins do not have central heat but instead have a pot bellied stove. This was definitely not child friendly and not good for us given that we had a 2 yr old with us. We had to run the stove constantly to be able to stand the cold. The firewood was very damp. Nobody was around to greet us or even around if we had questions about anything (like can we get dry firewood since it's freezing cold out and there's no heat). If there had been a problem, we wouldn't have been able to reach anyone. I called the mgmt the day before we arrived just to confirm directions as we were arriving after dark and there is no cell/mobile reception and they were extremely rude and said it should be in the letter they sent me and hung up, not exactly what I wanted to hear when I was paying $200/night and wanted to make sure we arrived safely.

If you enjoy extremely rustic places or you are going to write a book or read, you will enjoy this place. Otherwise, if you have kids or want some basic comforts, you will not.

I also felt that we were extremely mislead. The brochures and reviews I've read other places say that there were wallabies and possums right out the front door, penguins on the beach. I never saw one of these animals, and I looked. Regarding penguins, I asked every single person I could find about this. The tourist office in Kingscote says there are no penguins in Hanson's Bay. The local residents say that they have been looking for them for months and have never seen them. Other guests have never seen them. The people at the sanctuary said they'd never seen them but that just maybe if you take a flashlight and put red cellophane over it, and walk around with that, you might see them (the red prevents animal's vision from being blinded at night). All in all, I was extremely unhappy with the level of service, the accuracy of information, the value, and what we got. I was led to believe that the cabins would be serviced daily and they were not.

Just to put things in perspective, I am a backpacker and a camper, and I was very disappointed. So, I wasn't expecting the Ritz. But for $200 Australian/night, I was definitely expecting more than this.

One other thing to keep in mind is that Hanson Bay is probably the coldest part of the entire island. Local residents confirmed this.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2006
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KANGAROOS10, Manager at Hanson Bay Cabins
Responded 25 June 2011
Dear Worldtraveler94131, Sorry to hear that your experience with Hanson Bay Cabins was an unpleasant one. Since your stay in 2006 Hanson Bay Cabins has had a few small changes including a change of management. Please rest assure that our management and staff strive to make guests feel welcome and at home. Kindest regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
surf17 wrote a review Nov 2012
Nice, France4 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a stay there for the end of 2011 before holiday high season, yet after a mad border control at Australian customs in WA, I cancelled Australian journey, asked manager James Tomlinson that if he was not kind enough to refund booking in this situation I was not responsible of, he might refund GST and convert balance in a tax free donation to its wilderness refuge foundation.
He did convert lost booking, yet did not refund GST.
Not ethical as it claims.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KANGAROOS10, Manager at Hanson Bay Cabins
Responded 31 Dec 2012
Firstly let’s get this straight, you have never been here an never stayed with us. Your entry into Australia was denied by customs and federal police. You booked accommodation and cancelled and lost your deposit of 20%. Your emails to myself and staff of threats and extortion have been passed onto South Australian police. We do not tolerate any form of confrontation, threats or bullying at any time. GST tax on deposits does not happen until that product is used. The receipt sent to you on the 16/10/2011 does not show an amount of GST tax. Your demands of a refund and threats came over 12 months from your cancellation. Your deposit was used to plant close to 100 trees and plants to support our fragile wildlife on Kangaroo Island. If this is unethical then everyone one else can let me know. It looks like our border security does a great job.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TexRamblinMom wrote a review Jan 2013
Austin, Texas32 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The best things about Hanson Bay Cabins is the beautiful view from the porch and the wildlife surrounding it. You can look down on Hanson Bay which is just a short, 5-minute walk down the hill and hear the crashing waves to lull to sleep at night. The water is a gorgeous blue, and the nearest beach is safe for swimming. At sunset, go up the trail to the top of the hill (3 minute walk) for a sweeping coastal view of the sinking sun. And every day at dusk, at least 4 small wallabies would hang out immediately in front of the porches.

Hanson Bay Cabins is located on the southwest side of Kangaroo Island with Koala Walk (where you check in) and Flinders Chase National Park (25 minutes) to the west and Seal Bay Conservatory, Vivonne Bay and Little Sahara about 20 minutes to the east. It's a great location if you're here to see these highlights of the island.

The kitchen was tiny buy had enough pots, pans, dishes and cutlery so that we didn't have to spend money eating out. It's equipped with a refrigerator with freezer, 4 burner stove, oven, microwave, and electric teakettle. We did our grocery shopping in Kingscote (store closes at 7pm) which is an hour away, but you can get basic staples like milk, juice, and bread at Koala Walk (open until 10pm) or Vivonne Bay General Store (open until 5pm). I do wish I had brought some paper towels.

There's also a communal barbeque, plus washer and dryer on the property.

There were 2 bedrooms in our cabin with a queen in one room and 2 twins in the other. They brought in an extra bed in the room with the twins to accomodate our 3rd child. A towel was left on each bed, so we had enough for everyone to have their own. (At other hotels, I usually have to call housekeeping to get the 5th towel).

The large dining table seats 6 people.

Bedrooms had both plug-in room heaters and fans. There's also a wood stove in the sitting area. I think the firewood was out by the rubbish bins, but it was summer, so we didn't need it.

When we arrived, everything was clean and tidy, but we received no housekeeping during the 3 days we were there. That was fine since we are fully capable of taking out our own trash.

No TV, phone or internet, so we could fully disconnect from the outside world.

Making the payments was very easy, and they were very cooperative when I had to shorten my stay by 1 night, although I did inform them before the full payment was due.

We drove directly to the cabins without stopping by Koala Walk. Our cabin was unlocked and had our name on the window, so it was easy to find. Another family said their key had been on the dining room table, but ours was no where to be found. We stopped off at Koala Walk the next day to pick it up (leaving our cabin unlocked for hours) and then dropped it off there when we left.

It was a great, relaxing stay.

However, there were a few downsides to the cabin. They weren't deal breakers for us, but I think future visitors should be fully informed when making their decisions.

1. A sign on the fridge says that some guests drink the tap water with no ill effects, but management recommends boiling it before drinking. No big deal for us, but we would have brought more bottled water if we'd known.

2. A sign on the fridge also asks that you keep pantry foods in the lidded container provided for you in order to thwart the mice from getting to it. The sign also says that they regularly trap for mice but have provided extra traps for you in the pantry if you need it. I saw at 1 mouse one night and 2 playing chase the next night around the living room and kitchen. It's the middle of the wilderness, so perhaps mice are not totally unexpected.

3. We ran out of hot water the 1st two nights we were there. No hot water for anyone's showers the 1st night, and ran out after the 1st person's brief shower the next night. Two of us just decided to sleep dirty and shower the next morning after it had a chance to get hot again. The 3rd night, we were the only ones in our building, so there was enough hot water for 4 of the 5 of us. And yes, we were taking very QUICK showers (turn water off while soaping up) as requested by the "Rainwater -- Use sparingly" signs above the sinks.

4. Mosquitoes -- Hubby killed 5 one morning in the bathroom. There was always at least one in the cabin. Perhaps they were getting in the tiny holes between the logs where you could see daylight shine through. We certainly weren't leaving the doors open, even with the screens in place.

5. Easily overhear the neighbors -- Our bedrooms were right next to the barbeque area. One morning, I awoke to 2 families having a conversation in the barbeque area. They weren't being loud, but I could easily hear every single word they said as if they were standing right next to my bed. Got some great sightseeing tips through my eavesdropping!

So, I'd highly recommend Hanson Bay Cabins to anyone who doesn't mind the rustic accomodations. But if you're looking for something a little more luxe, you'd probably be happier elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bumbie wrote a review Dec 2012
San Francisco, California160 contributions104 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Most places we've stayed which describe themselves as log cabins actually fill in the gaps between the logs. Not so Hanson Bay Cabins. We cannot begin to tell you how many mosquitoes decided to visit us each night and feast on us. Also, it does not tell you in the property description that the tap water is not potable, making cooking somewhat challenging, even moreso than the inadequate facilities would have . One would think that it would be very close to Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary, where one goes to check in and out. Alsol not so, a twenty minute drive each way. All in all, a horrible facility, not at all quaint.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KANGAROOS10, Manager at Hanson Bay Cabins
Responded 12 Dec 2012
Thank you for your review. firstly the water supply. The water provided at he cabins is safe and drinkable. As with the majority of settlements on KI and throughout remote Australia rainwater is collected through the year, filtered, stored and used on demand. when this resource is used up, we purchase town water from Kingscote with it delivered in bulk and stored in the same food grade 22500 litre plastic tanks. The "safe drinking water act 2011" give us the rules in which we follow. KI has one of the purest rainwater catchment areas on the planet. Mosquito's. We were surprised that you had encountered large amounts of mosquito whilst at Hanson Bay as there is no brackish water nearby for them to breed. I contacted other guests that were staying at the cabins during your stay to see if they also had a problem, they all replied that they had not seen any nor been bitten. The cabin walls. The cabins are made of old log, on the outside where they meet the joins are filled with quadrant (quarter round wood strips) to weather proof them, on the inside black insulation foam has been used. Photos on this trip advisor page of the cabins back this up. Our visitor centre where you checked in and also started the Nocturnal tour from is exactly 8.16 KM (5.07 miles). the road speed is 110km/h. Hanson Bay Sanctuary is a 3850 hectare property, about 9500 acres in size It is a shame that you did not raise these concerns, especially about your water concern, when you spoke to myself and staff at the visitor centre.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RonWamberal wrote a review Apr 2012
Sydney, Australia12,130 contributions2,695 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been here many times and Lynn loves it for the beauty of the coastline, simplicity of the cabins and nearness to the wildlife of the island.
This is the real thing.
Although the award winning (and expensive) resort sits in close proximity, it doesn't have the view that these cabins have.
There is probably not a nicer bay in all of Australia and the only real problem is the difficulty in getting here.
It involves probably a plane flight to Adelaide, a drive to Jervis Bay, then a ferry to Penneshaw followed by a relatively long drive to the far coast of KI.
But it is worth it.
We took a team of 10 of our top sales people for a "natural" weekend rather than the normal "resort" type reward and they loved it.
The cabins are by comparison primitive but as a bonding exercise, it was wonderful.
Everyone had to share cooking and cleaning and it brought them together as a team.
We were fortunate to see the eclipse in December and it was one of the most amazing sights imaginable - with a clear sky and millions of stars, it was awe inspring - we could not have had the same viewing from a major capital city.
The other must experience is to enjoy the wildlife and nocturnal nights put on next door - absolutely fantastic with the highlight being a mother roo coming over to us and inviting us to see and touch its baby in the pouch - none of us had ever had such an experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: only 6 cabins but we normally ask for the end closest to the sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eek-i-saw-a-mouse wrote a review Sept 2008
Cheltenham, United Kingdom497 contributions134 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Stormy Petrel cabin for just 2 nights in August.
The weather wasn't brilliant for the duration of our stay but still the location is stunning. To lie in bed hearing the sea crashing on the nearby rocks was just great!
The cabins are fairly basic but have everything we needed and we were there for the location and experience and not all the comforts of home. It was perfectly adequate for us - 2 adults and 2 children.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by two large kangaroos (who semed to like to lurk by the washing lines behind the cabin) and we had regular visitors in a little wallaby, some magpies and a possum each night.
We did the koala walk during the day and also did the nightime walk which was great. We learned a lot- saw lots of koalas, kangaroos and possums - and it was a lovely clear night so a good chance to see all the stars too!
It is only a short drive to Flinders Chase (Admirals Arch, Remarkable Rocks etc) - the Finders Chase area was badly affect by fires at the end of 2007 - which we werent aware of before we went - so a lot of walks were closed while we were there and there was very little wildlife to be found - but it was fascinating to see how the trees and plants were growing back and starting again.
We stayed two nights in Penneshaw and 2 nights here and felt it gave us a really good chance to see as much on the island as possible in 4 days. We loved the Little Penguins near Penneshaw, the Pelicans at Kingscote, Willoughby Lighthouse, antechamber bay, between the two we did Seal Bay (although as it was cold and windy we saw very few seals here - we saw far more around Admirals Arch) Vivonne Bay, We visited Little Sahara and tried a toboggan down the dunes (only really works in the summer I think!) and then we also did Flinders chase with Remarkable Rocks, Admirals Arch and the koalas at Hanson BAy sanctuary - a real fun packed time. Our children (10 and 12) still look at the 4 days on Kangaroo Island as one of the best bits of our 5 week trip!
On main tip - we were tol that although many roads were unsealed a normal car was fine! We are so glad that we ignored this and took a 4x4 - in winter the roads were very pot holed - a very interesting experience!! - I have included a photo of one of the roads!
Hansons Bay is a great location and we thoroughly recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2008
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
decca_mac wrote a review Jan 2018
nyc239 contributions214 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dont let some of the low ratings dissuade you from renting one of these cabins -- but insist on one of the two modern cabins -- Stormy Petral (best view corner cabin with insane bedroom view of the sea) or Cygnet (second best cabin). All the other cabins are much older (like camping cabins) and a very different experience. The two modern cabins are sleek, with beautiful modern bathrooms, gorgeous kitchens, and modern furniture. All cabins face east to the beach and inlet but Stormy Petral's bedroom has two glass sides -- east and south. You wake up to the most awesome view of a sunrise over the southern ocean. And at 1/20th the price of the Southern Ocean Lodge. Details: First, there is nothing in the fridge / kitchen except tea, coffee, sugar, salt and pepper. If you are cooking bring it all from Kingscote. Second, it takes about 1:30 from the airport and 1:45 from kingscote to get to the turn off and then 20 minutes to get down the unsealed road to the cabins. If going to the animal sanctuary first, dont take the Hanson Bay turnoff. Keep heading towards flinders chanse about five minutes more down the main road. The park entrance is about 15 minutes from the cabin turn off on the main road. Third, go to both the night visit at the sanctuary and a day visit late afternoon -- tons of action but even more at night (the day visit comes with your rental, you need to book the night visit in advance -- it books out quickly). Ideal visit IMO is two nights, visiting flinders chase during the day. When you visit flinders chase you will see tons of seals so skip seal bay which is remote, hot, and a much smaller colony than admirals arch. Fabulous place that we were thrilled to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stormy Petral and cygnet are the two modern cabins. Stormy Petral has the best view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from jlou-12, Owner at Hanson Bay Cabins
Responded 12 Jan 2018
Thank you for visiting and for recommending our nocturnal tour. The wildlife really gets active after sunset. Tamar wallabies do not emerge until dark and seeing hundreds of them emerge then move about is a very special experience. Sadly it is missed by most visitors who only come to the sanctuary during the day. Meals can be ordered in advance from the website or our cafe and a good restaurant at KI Wilderness Retreat (dinner only, reservations essential) are only 10 minutes away. The old cabins were repainted in 2017, had new queen beds installed in 2016 and new doors and windows a few years before. Given the awesome views and unique location they must represent good value because we many repeat customers including a number who have stayed more than 20 times.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Teeps P
Toronto, Canada11 contributions17 helpful votes
There is no wifi in the cabins. There is spotty data access depending on your provider. Part of the charm though :-)
Sherylapple asked a question Mar 2016
Singapore, Singapore54 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there air condition in the cabins?
Answer from KANGAROOS10
AUSTRALIA13 contributions
There is no AC. They do not need it. In summer there is always a breeze off the ocean. Each cabin has a highly efficient wood burning heater for winter.
Answer from KANGAROOS10
AUSTRALIA13 contributions
Stormy Petrel and Cygnet (both built in 2015) are the most popular. However all 6 have the same view.
Answer from KANGAROOS10
AUSTRALIA13 contributions
There are 2 cafes and a restaurant (bookings essential) within 10-15 minutes drive.
Wendy B wrote a tip May 2023
Sydney, Australia44 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can buy food and fuel from nearby camping area- better stocked than at Vivonne Bay if you are short. But better to take with you."
Read full review
penm80 wrote a tip Apr 2022
37 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to arrive before dark to avoid when wildlife is more active"
Read full review
Alexandra9519 wrote a tip Dec 2019
Townsville, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room was at the end of the 4 cabin complex so it was more private and the view less obstructed."
Read full review
Amy W wrote a tip Nov 2019
Soquel, California6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you do go, the Stormy Petrel room is the best."
Read full review
Michael D wrote a tip Mar 2019
Eidsvag, Norway44 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the newer cabins are more expencive but we used them one week . The price is worth it."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Karatta area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$346 - AU$379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaKangaroo IslandKaratta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HANSON BAY CABINS: 2024 Prices & Reviews (Karatta) - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hanson Bay Cabins
Which popular attractions are close to Hanson Bay Cabins?
Nearby attractions include Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary (6.4 km), Kelly Hill Conservation Park (6.5 km), and Hanson Bay Beach (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hanson Bay Cabins?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, barbeque facilities, and canoeing.
What food & drink options are available at Hanson Bay Cabins?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Hanson Bay Cabins?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Hanson Bay Cabins?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wiers Cove (13.1 km).
Does Hanson Bay Cabins have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Karatta HotelsKaratta Hotel DealsHotels near Hanson Bay Cabins
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars