We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Opal Cove Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Opal Cove Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

816 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Opal Cove Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 810: English reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

For those of us fortunate (or unfortunate) enough to remember the 1980's - here is a place where you can bring your kids for a trip back through memory lane. The 1980's were all about excess, and every hotel architect of the time worked to design their hotel to be bigger and better - aiming to deliver the sort of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 917Time
FOM62, General Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear 917Time, Thank you for taking the time to review our property on line and for the subjective comments. We like to be as honest as possible in our Descriptions and overviews of the Resort. We are an older establishment and in the process of upgrading facilities. We are sorry that the resort did not meet you expectations.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

We stayed in a 4 bed apartment. When we arrived in the apartment it was bright, spacious & in a good location. However, it wasn't long before we discovered the beds & pillows were uncomfortable, bed linen & towels were very thin & shabby. The air conditioning was so noisy you couldn't hear the TV unless it was blaring. Screen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lee552016
FOM62, General Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear lee552016, Thankyou for your review and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We will look into all of your complaints and issues raised and address These with the relevant departments. Again, we apologise that the resort did not meet you expectations. Again, thankyou for your feedback.

Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed,whats on photos totally shocking how it looks in real.dated,smelly needs total refurbishment. Carpets smelly and old, main foyer water feature totally disappointing .would not recommend to anyone no matter how desperate you are,avoid this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 520maggs
FOM62, General Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear 520maggs, Thankyou for your review and we are sorry you did not enjoy the stay or the layout and features of the Resort. We are undertaking a Refurbishment program so hopefully will soon be of a standard more to your liking. Unfortunately the foyer ponds and water feature Will remain as most people quite like these. Again thank you...

Sydney
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed in our stay. For the price and the pictures I had expected a high quality resort. It looks as though it used to be a great place however now it is run down, old and way overpriced. The kids did enjoy the pool but it was a run down version of what the brochures show! Room was outdated,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RJMcGray
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear RJMcGray, Thankyou for taking the time to review our property. We are an older establishment but do our best to present as well as we can and look after our guests. Your comments with regards the beds will certainly be looked into. During the high season peak period when accommodation is in short supply occupancy levels are extremely high...

Sydney
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Paid an exorbitant amount to stay in the units over the new year period and was very disappointed. The prior reviews sum it up but to add further color: - staff were friendly but not well trained, unable to answer simple questions and the restaurant seemed to be making a lot of mistakes with orders - rooms contained the bare...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dusty86
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dusty86 Thankyou for taking the time to review our property. As you are aware we are an older establishment but do our best to present as well as we can and look after our guests. Your comments with regards the 4 bedroom Units come as a surprise as these are generally considered to be well equipped and maintained. A...

Melbourne
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Very disappointing place to stay. Very old and tired rooms. Rude staff on check out. Pullout sofa bed was paper thin. Not recommend even for kids. Dirty smelly nappies In the hallway in the mornings. Overall not a pleasant stay. Won't be back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kate1327
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kate137 Thankyou for taking the time to review our property. We are an older establishment but do our best to present as well as we can and look after our guests. Your comments with regards smelly nappies in the corridor are rather disturbing as they obviously must have been left there by other guests, and generally would have been...

Reviewed 2 January 2016

Although the rooms are a well appointed (and management have attempted to keep them looking fresh) the rest of the "resort" is a dive. It may have been a spectacular place when it was built in the 80s but it does not look like it has had any improvements or repairs since then....that goes for the hideous menu at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CameronDee
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear Morkul Thankyou for taking the time to review our property. As you are aware we are an older establishment but do our best to present as well as we can and look after our guests. Daily routine maintenance is carried out and generally everything is kept in a safe working condition. During the high season peak period we offer...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Punched in the face with the stench of chlorine as you walk into the reception. Not one bit of maintenance done on the place since the opening day. Smells like water damaged carpet in the hallways. Leftover room service scraps from the day before left in the hallway. Gym wasn't air conditioned or ventilated in any way and the Windows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hungybro
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hungybro We are an older establishment but do our best to present as well as we can and look after our guests. Your comments regarding the gym have been taken on board. It is not air-conditioned but does have 2 large industrial fans to circulate air and the Louvre windows are able to be opened enough to allow fresh...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Disappointed with our stay this time, have stayed her many many times but this stay put a family of 4 tall people in a tiny room with a sofa bed and a double bed when the booking had clearly asked for two double beds. A shame but won't be back sorry Opal Cove after travelling all day we needed our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherry5O
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cherry5O Thankyou for taking the time to review our property. As said to Tom C, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay on this occasion. As you are aware having stayed a number of times before we are an older establishment but do our best to present as well as we can and look after...

Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

The hotel looks fabulous on the pictures but in real life it is just bad. It is an old hotel that may have looked great twenty years ago but now it is tired, smelly and in a bit of disrepair. Our room felt more like a dungeon and the sleep was not at all comfortable. We would not stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tom C Thankyou for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay on this occasion. We are, as you mention, an older establishment but do our best to present as well as we can and look after our guests. At peak occupancy levels we are not always able to...

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korora
0.9 km away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
366 reviews
1.5 km away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
6.0 km away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#12 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#5 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
65 reviews
4.6 km away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
227 reviews
2.2 km away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#3 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst 36 hectares of native bushland overlooking the magnificent pacific ocean and gardens is Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort. The perfect destination for family holidays, business trips or short breaks. Resort facilities include 9 hole golf course, heated swimming pool, 3 floodlit tennis courts, gym, sauna, games room, 24hr reception & so much more. Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort, where you can do as much or little as you like. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Opal Cove Resort

Address: Opal Bvd, Korora, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour > Korora
Price Range: $119 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opal Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Opal Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opal Cove Hotel Coffs Harbour
Opal Cove Coffs Harbour
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Opal Cove Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Leek, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Opal Cove Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you must stay, make sure that it is not on the ground floor...”
 of 5 bubbles diannab989, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to mention you want a comfortable bed and not near the lift or AC”
 of 5 bubbles Shell182015, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are ideal for small children as there is lawn outside the terrace”
 of 5 bubbles KUB5556, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Must reserve sea view and and no lower than 3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles BrianJ374, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else !!!”
 of 5 bubbles Mumager, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5