We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

684 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
See the most recent reviews
Showing 682: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

revisited the Hydro after the massive renovations to celebrate Wifes Birthday. Decore was adequate and in keeping with old /previous style.Arrival service was terrible and then Weekend only got Worse.Room was adequate, but, the Valley view , as advertised was only visible over the drab room and blocked by other wings. Toilet was built in wrong alignment to the Bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bearlock
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear bearlock, Warm greetings from the Hydro Majestic and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was not to your satisfaction, and I am alarmed that you did not receive a reply from your attempts to contact the hotel. We do aim to reply in...

Sydney
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed at Hydro as a stop over between Sydney to Dubbo. The hotel was pleasant, neat and clean. The room was not large but comfortable. The room faced a small garden next to the highway however it was not noisy at night. There was no suitable dinner option for our child so we drove to Katoomba which was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wmrl
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear wmrl, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hydro Majestic Hotel and that you found your room, pleasant, neat, clean and comfortable. We do have a children's menu in...

Glenbrook, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Had Hi-Tea for lunch at the Windergarden. The view was fantastic. Service was excellent and could not be faulted. The décor was beautiful and it was great to see someone brought the Hydro back to it's glory days. Worth a visit and lunch. Not cheap but you certainly receive your money's worth.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LenSydneyAustralia
Yallingup, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful building with magnificent views. Our room was the cheapest available and very small with views over the car park and highway but was furnished well. The bed was amazing and gave both myself and my husband a fantastic nights sleep. Would have preferred the TV to be located at the foot of the bed rather than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yannie469
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Yannie469, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. It was a delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hydro Majestic Hotel, and that you appreciated the renovations and were able to take in the magnificent views. Thank you for...

Ryde
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Joined a history tour of the hotel, Very interesting and informative. The tour ended in the cafe shop, which has many items from the old days. I found these two machines and was fascinated how far the technology has taken us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 907xinh
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear 907xinh, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent History Tour of the Hydro Majestic Hotel. It is indeed fascinating all the old treatments that were offered at the Hydro Majestic when it...

Reviewed 17 October 2016

My wife and I had been wanting to stay at the Hydro for many, many years. Finally we were treated to a stay by our daughter for my wifes 50th birthday. We arrived early afternoon on Friday. Initial impressions were good, although a little puzzled by having the hotel reception mixed in with the lounge and bar in the Belgravia...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bellbirdweb
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Bellbirdweb, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. While I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the renovations and found the staff to be helpful and pleasant I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay due to noise...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This is going to be a long review as I was not happy! I was very excited to be visiting the Hydro, one of those places I have always been fascinated by and wanted to visit. I received a gift voucher from my daughter for my 50th and when I rang to book was advised it had to be a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vanessa T
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa T, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. While I am glad to read that you enjoyed the renovations that were completed here at the Hydro Majestic Hotel, I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed in some areas...

Kellyville, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

So where do I start With the negatives but finish on a positive No dropping off check in area for the car....... go park and walk your luggage back Someone to open the door and greet you.......... nope Check in is in the bar area and breakfast eating room...... why not in the Casino room where there is a concierge...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark B
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Mark B, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience in the wintergarden restaurant. I am however sorry to read that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. Please allow me to...

Reviewed 15 October 2016

I have been promising myself a trip to this iconic Australian hotel for years and last night was the big night. I'd booked a "Heritage Room" B&B package at $419.00. Heritage sounded good in this grand old hotel. Imagine my disappointment to arrive at one of the smallest rooms I've ever stayed in in Australia -with a view of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary C
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Mary C, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed in some areas to provide you with the service, and attention that we are striving to achieve and be renowned for. I hope...

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Well this hotel was in my bucket list I can now tick it off But probably will never come back Service was atrocious Nothing at all to do at hotel but drink the expensive cocktails ;( Rooms small Dust And holes in curtains Shower well u would need to run around to get wet although this posed as a problem...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kristabel1971
Ralf B, General Manager at Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains, responded to this review

Dear Kristabel1971, I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains. While I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the renovations, I was disappointed to read that we failed in some areas to meet your expectations for your recent stay at the Hydro Majestic Hotel....

878 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (531)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (118)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (265)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (315)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Belgravia Room (34)
Viewed
Belgravia Valley View Suite (34)
Viewed
Executive Valley Suite (60)
Viewed
Hargravia Valley View (38)
Viewed
Heritage Valley view Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medlow Bath
4.9 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
793 reviews
4.5 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.2 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
6.5 km away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains is one of the most historical and iconic hotels in Australia. Situated on the escarpment edge overlooking the Megalong Valley which adjoins the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in Medlow Bath, NSW, Australia. With the picturesque Megalong Valley and Majestic lookout, abundant wildlife and a scenic attractions right at your doorstep, the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains has 54 guestrooms to choose from and offers several accommodation options to meet the needs of every guest. The accommodation rooms have been refurbished in the Belgravia main building and the Belgravia Gallery wing with each room being designed to reflect the rich heritage of this iconic hotel and of the Blue Mountains with the glamour of yesteryear. Each room features a seamless blend of art deco inspired design with a black and white colour scheme and have been finished off with a modern edge. Our iconic Blue Mountains hotel offers a range of onsite facilities to meet the needs of each and every guest. Relax in the comfy Belgravia Lobby Lounge with its plush lounges and ornate fireplace, spoil yourself with lunch or dinner or maybe an afternoon high tea in the Wintergarden with panoramic views overlooking the Megalong Valley. Celebrate all that is Chinese in the history of the Hydro Majestic in our Shanghai chic team room and bar, decorated in rich Oriental reds, with a delectable yum cha menu in the Salon Du The or maybe sample a cocktail or two in Cat's Alley whilst gazing at the majestic sunset over the Megalong Valley. Sit back and relax in a casual dining atmosphere of the Boiler House Cafe which is set in a unique industrial heritage space whilst overlooking the panoramic views of the Megalong Valley. Experience the "Taste of the Blue Mountains" whilst venturing through the Hydro Majestic Pavilion which is an interactive living history space and vibrant providores showcase which demonstrates the best regional gourmet food and wine of the Blue Mountains. Located within a 1 hour and 45 minutes drive from Sydney CBD, the Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains is a breathtaking escape for romantics, a delight for gourmets and a wonder for lovers of nature and the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains

Address: 52 - 88 Great Western Hwy, Medlow Bath, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Medlow Bath
Price Range: $158 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Katoomba
Hydro Majestic Hotel
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains Medlow Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just go for a drink at the bar, or maybe dinner but stay elsewhere, it is not worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles tim_jones_sydney, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“there are no lifts so best to stay on the ground or first floors.”
 of 5 bubbles vicky_kvisle, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a heritage view room but beg them to check whether the windows open.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahwC7454IC, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't expect to get what your paying for. This is a beautiful hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles r0wdy_1961, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“An escarpment view room is best.”
 of 5 bubbles PerryB137, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay