We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Welle House

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Prawle
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Start your review of Welle House
 Click to rate
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We only had an overnight visit in February with some friends to watch their daughter play at the local pub, and Welle House ticked all the boxes. The parking was easy, the welcome warm. The room was warm and the bed was huge (6') and very comfortable. We had a fabulous night in the local pub "The Pig's Nose" which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _mike_richardson1909
North Curry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Back again in October and the welcome was just as warm as ever. We're becoming very fond of Andy and Mo - they are such lovely, kind, warm and generous people. We (my 94-year-old disabled mother and I) loved taking our beautiful Golden Retriever down to Mill Bay beach. (It helps if you're a member of the National Trust as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoldenTia
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Homely describes it well, I think. An excellent basic B&B that does better than it says on the tin. Not chintz, not boutique, but friendly (and that includes dog friendly) on a remote headland in deepest Devon. Comfy bed, excellent full English, and helpful. Would be an excellent place for walking, if only my health were up to it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesHappyWalker
North Curry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We three girls - my 93-year-old mother, Tia, my Golden Retriever and I - returned to Welle House in April. Still as lovely and welcoming as ever, still as generous - we never have to worry about our first night's supper or breakfast the next day, as Andy and Mo kindly stock the 'fridge with eggs (their own), milk, bread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoldenTia
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this review

Thank you so much, yet again, for your lovely review. It gives us a warm fuzzy feeling that you like it here so much AND that we’ll be seeing you again, very soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The homeliness factor, warmth and humour of owners Mo and Andy is really what set Welle House apart for myself and my daughter. We stayed in one of their charming twin rooms complete with a superbly powerful shower and views over fields of scampering rabbits. Each morning begins with a delicious cooked breakfast - the menu includes local Salcombe smokies...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emandtate
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it made our day. We are very pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us. The rabbits are a delight to watch. This year there was also a vixen in that field, raising 3 fox cubs, that we often watched playing. We just hope they stay away from our chickens!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I have been a regular camper in East Prawle for many years and have always gazed quite longingly at the yellow house with the fabulous gardens and views (and garden den!) that sits at the back of the field. This year my parents and several friends didn't fancy camping (I know) and so I booked them all into Welle House...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DRW1968
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely kind words. It was a real pleasure meeting you and your family and friends and are really pleased you enjoyed yourselves so much. Sorry about the internet speeds – we are afraid that we all have to suffer with that in such a remote rural spot, although we are hoping that we will be included...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Back to Welle house again which was as welcoming and charming as ever. We were theare at the Prawle Fair weekend which was fun and the coastline around Prawle point was as sunning as ever. Mo's breakfast was so good (as usual) I had to post a photo, so I've also put a couple of other photos up of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neal C
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – we always love to see you and are pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays with us. Prawle Fair is such a thoroughly enjoyable event, for locals and visitors alike – a proper, old fashioned country fair.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Thanks to Andy, Mo, and their dogs and cats, I really enjoyed my stay in East Prawle! They are great hosts, really fun and warm people, immediately making me feel at home, and even welcoming me with a towel when I arrived having hiked there through a rainstorm! They make a mean fried breakfast of locally sourced produce, but offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeeBee112
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a delight meeting you and having you stay in our home. The photographs of the local area are brilliant. We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful place, and are pleased to be able to share it with others that appreciate it.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I suppose one of the dangers of business websites is that they're pure marketing and usually over sell something - often leading to disappointment. In all honesty having looked on Tripadvisor and elsewhere before travelling to Welle House I was confused as to what we might actually fine, particularly as the owners on the website state themselves... "if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danioko
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this review

Thank you so much - that quite choked me up! You were a delight to have stay and we loved your dogs (never had one stay that we didn't like yet!). It's quite possible that we do down-sell Welle House slightly, but I think it's better that way than to give people false expectations. That's why we try to make...

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

A warm welcome when we arrived in the middle of a storm at this homely country house in a wonderful location! Comfortable bed and a very substantial breakfast using really top notch local ingredients. Dog friendly, child friendly and walker friendly. Nothing too much trouble - thanks for everything!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grahampauline
Welle_House, Owner at Welle House, responded to this review

Oooh. Thank you so much for this lovely review. It makes us feel slightly better after the last one. It was lovely to meet you all. We’re really glad you enjoyed you stay with us and the wedding went brilliantly. Most people that stay here and enjoy themselves say kind things to us and often write something nice in our...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Prawle
4.6 km away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
7.8 km away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
740 reviews
5.4 km away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
540 reviews
10.9 km away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
396 reviews
11.1 km away
The Hope and Anchor
The Hope and Anchor
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Welle House

Address: East Prawle, East Prawle TQ7 2BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > East Prawle
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Welle House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Tauranga, New Zealand

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Welle House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have fabulous views (sea to the rear, countryside to the front) and comfortable beds.”
  • Bedroom 2 - very comfy bed!
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom one
GoldenTia, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the self contained cottage is perfect for a family - sleeps 6 - and comes with it's own garden, patio, bbq and picnic table . . .”
  • that view . . .
DRW1968, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Back of the house has sea views, front is countryside.”
danioko, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1 (twin) & 2 (double) have lovely country views, Room 3 (twin) lovely sea view. Bathrooms upstairs and down - great. All comfy & warm.”
  • Bedroom 2 - very comfy bed!
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom one
GoldenTia, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We had the family room and the velux window has no blind so the light comes in early.”
bee1001, 22 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5