We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 368: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Called in here for lunch as I was passing between Edinburgh and Manchester and noticed a sign advising non residents restaurant. Really just wanted a quick and light lunch so ate in the library / bar. What an amazing room. I had the specials which consisted of a soup and steak. Soup was wonderful with a choice of just about... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold L
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four of us from Moffat booked in for a Your Golf Travel DBB + 2 rounds of golf deal on the 24th and 25th October. From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for a treat. The hotel grounds were in immaculate condition and the hotel itself was warm and welcoming as were all the staff. The golf... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allanparky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location, great service, only minus point there are no showers in any rooms. Lovely log fires a really grand house feeling, beautiful surroundings, well a visit. Winter or summer, especially if you are a golfer.

Helpful?
Thank Bonita Z
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience when visiting The Roxburghe Hotel and Golf Course. It's a delight that you've enjoyed your time with us so much. I would like to point out to The TripAdvisor community though that we do have showers in all bedrooms. These are located over the baths and... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Accommodation comfortable and food good. Staff very helpful. Some spectacular public areas but let down by utilitarian furnishings in the bar and dining room. Best rooms look out over the grounds to front and rear. Wine expensive though and food portions quite small but well cooked. Well located for the beautiful borders countryside and interesting old abbeys and castles. Not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair W
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Roxburghe Hotel. Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and all very helpful to us. I hope you're able to return in the near future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager. More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We spent 7 days around Scotland, seemed every hotel we had was better than the previous This place we stayed on our last night and it was by far the best Truly beautiful mansion Fantastic decor A step back in time Fantastic place for a weekend get away wether romantic or family gathering Truly beautiful antique jam! Superb common room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dizaster81
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review from when your recently visited The Roxburghe Hotel and Golf Course. I am so happy that you enjoyed your time to the extent that you did and I hope that if there is a repeat visit from yourself, you'll have an equally enjoyable time. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager. More 

UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed here in 2015 for my mums birthday and it was wonderful. The staff made us feel welcome and looked after us from the moment I was corresponding with them prior to the visit to arrange for some surprises for my mum, to the minute we left. Unbeknownst to us at the time they were also making arrangements to... More 

Helpful?
Thank LexieLea
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your time with us at The Roxburghe Hotel and Golf course. It is always welcoming to read that a stay has been enjoyed and I hope that you're able to return back in the near future for a similarly enjoyable stay. Thank you very... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed after going to the races at Kelso and it was overall a good choice. It is no more over-priced than you expect for this sort of place; the hotel has charm and authenticity. The following comments apply: 1. The courtyard rooms are rather soulless inside with no charm so if you are after a castle feel they are... More 

Helpful?
Thank bwfs20
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. I'm saddened that the overall experience wasn't the 100% we'd want all our guest to witness when visiting. This seems largely down to your accommodation in the Courtyard and the Dessert you were to have at dinner. My apologies that neither were... More 

Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stay in the area quite often but this was first visit. The Golf was excellent with a efficient welcome and the Ladies availed themselves of the Beauty Spa, no complaints there ( they even catered for 4yr old Granddaughter). We could not eat at the Hotel owing to a Wedding so tried the Golf Course Club-Room. Once again efficient... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry M
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience when you visited The Roxburghe Hotel and Golf Course. I'm so happy that you enjoyed the Golfing complex and the Beauty Suite was also used whilst visiting. It is a shame that you weren't able to also visit the Hotel due to having our function on... More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

14 of us Just stayed there for a golfing break from the moment we arrived we were made welcome, the golf pro, hotel staff all fantastic. Hotel very comfortable good food and the course is a good challenge. That good we are going back next year.with 16 of us

Helpful?
Thank Phil S
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your overall experience with us. It is very pleasing that you and the group were to enjoy not only the offerings of the Golf Course, but also that of the Hotel's. The mention of a return is very welcoming and I look forward to seeing you back to... More 

Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I must emphasis my rating of this hotel is based on the rooms and not their management of events. I was attending a wedding which was exceptionally well organised but retaining a relaxed feel. Waiting and bar staff were all pleasant, helpful, always with a smile and this supported this relax and "make yourself at home" feel I presume they... More 

Helpful?
Thank BJMcI
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. I would like to first of all thank you for the kind words given in relation to the organising and service you were to receive whilst on your visit. I am saddened though that your experience wasn't to your standard and we weren't able to tick... More 

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heiton
0.0 km away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
317 reviews
0.0 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
292 reviews
0.0 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
807 reviews
0.0 km away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
117 reviews
0.0 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Roxburghshire, Heiton, Kelso TD5 8JZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso > Heiton
Price Range: $151 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxburghe Hotel And Golf Course
Roxburghe Hotel Kelso
Roxburghe Hotel Course
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Kelso, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Courtyard rooms are good if you have a disability”
 of 5 bubbles bonitaz2016, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the courtyard- very unimaginatively done”
 of 5 bubbles bwfs20, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The inclusive Golf/Hotel breaks, when available look excellent valus”
 of 5 bubbles 0barrym, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if there are any but ones with view from rear of hotel will certainly get the views.”
 of 5 bubbles BJMcI, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“very difficult to advise, given our experience.”
 of 5 bubbles Mags777, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay