We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

PricelineUSD 273*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 273*
Great Deal
USD 274*
USD 274*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 396: English reviews
Start your review of Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a stunning hotel and the perfect place to chill out, unwind, and relax. The service is impeccable, the grounds well groomed, the hotel itself offers magnificent living areas, roaring fires, the bedrooms are beautifully decorated and very individual. I would recommend dining in the restaurant, friendly and helpful service, great food. I would love to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hrb91
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were here playing with fantastic weather and a very Nice Course. Come here and play. Worth every penny. There is also a very Nice pub there an a great atmosphere. The view from the pub looking out in the Course is amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magnus R
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was upgraded to a suite on arrival, four poster bed and the most unique bathroom I have ever stayed in. Friendly and welcoming staff. Service to be complimented. Superb food and great choice of wine and enjoyable golf.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickymoo2410
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking time to review your recent stay with us. And indeed for your kind comments. Delighted we had the opportunity to upgrade your room. I have to agree the Bowmont Suite is a fantastic room to stay in with a bathroom that has the originality of the house. We do also have a number of...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been thinking back to our stay here in March. We have already stayed here twice in the past and have enjoyed the ambience, service and general air of peace and quiet. All of these features which make this a memorable stay are still there thank goodness. However I feel that the Albert Roux dining is a backwards step. The...

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordonmacanderson
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Mr Roux has seen your comments and my reply. I am delighted to read your positive thoughts on the Ambience and Service aspects. We do appreciate how nice it is to relax & unwind in the quite environment. I am disappointed that you felt the your meal wasn’t...

Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not like staying in a hotel but more like being a guest at a private house party. We were welcomed on arrival and shown round the sitting areas and the shown to our comfortable room which overlooked the gardens. There was a lot of information in the room about the grounds and the surrounding area. Dinner started with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotworldtraveller
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your lovely review for The Roxburghe Hotel, we do like to think of it as a family home. I was delighted to hear your positive comments on all aspects of the hotel. The relaxed public rooms and garden are perfect for unwinding in. The Garden itself is slowly coming into bloom, so definitely worth popping...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the third review of the same venue. The first was an evening meal which was superb, the second was a very disappointing afternoon tea. I was invited out (as a present) to return for another afternoon tea and I do admit my heart sunk after the last occasion. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. The food was lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10claret44
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at The Roxburghe Hotel. We are delighted that you have been able to enjoy your time with us however, we are obviously disappointed that you still felt you experienced some issues. My colleague recalls checking on you and your guests on a few occasions, however, I...

On the move
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went for a short break as a treat for ourselves and were really pleased. Beautiful grounds for a stroll. The golf course seemed to be a hit with those that were there for the golf and the anglers were clearly pleased with the local fishing. We just enjoyed relaxing in beautiful surroundings. Dinner and breakfast were both superb.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madmikeb
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for your generous comments. We pride ourselves very heavily on the comfort, service and food we offer so I'll happy that you were to enjoy and hope that you'll be able to visit again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.

Barcelona
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We live very close to the Roxburghe, so it should be a regular destination, we like to eat out at least twice a week.. So!! I want to eat what I can't cook... the lunch menu is beyond disappointing, If I wanted a burger or fish and chips I can go to one off the pubs in kelso. The service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your valued feedback. With our various conversations during your visits, I know our lunch menu isn't to your liking as you'd prefer the more formal offerings we have available in the evenings. On the day you visited though, we were of course happy to make up the dish you enquired about, which was...

Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We managed to find a "two nights for the price of one" B&B, then paying for food. Located near to Kelso the hotel is a beautiful old building which has been lovingly restored. With only 22 rooms, you are assured of personal service, and whilst all the staff we met were excellent, a special mention must be given to Gavin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ferrett55
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to The Roxburghe Hotel. It is hugely welcoming to read that you've enjoyed everything to the extent you have and lovely that you've left a special mention to Gavin and Elinor. I'll be sure to pass this on to them. The cuisine is hugely important to...

Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

My husband and I booked afternoon tea for 2 and what a super spread. We were lead to a very comfortable room where tea was served to your specifications and food followed. I had ordered a regular tea and a gluten free tea. Both were superb. So much so that we couldn't eat it all and we were sent away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
GMRoxburghe, General Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving your wonderful feedback regarding your Afternoon Tea. We are always happy to accommodate any dietary requests and pleased to do a little package of anything that isn't managed due to it being a large offering. I do hope that you are able to come and stay in the not too distant future. Kind Regards,...

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heiton
4.8 km away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
341 reviews
5.0 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
311 reviews
11.6 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
132 reviews
16.4 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
249 reviews
24.6 km away
Best Western Pus Scottish Borders Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Roxburghshire, Heiton, Kelso TD5 8JZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso > Heiton
Price Range: $293 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxburghe Hotel And Golf Course
Roxburghe Hotel Kelso
Roxburghe Hotel Course
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Kelso, United Kingdom
over a year ago
paisley
Fareham, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor front - superb view of the parkland.”
ferrett55, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms are good if you have a disability”
bonitaz2016, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the courtyard- very unimaginatively done”
bwfs20, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The inclusive Golf/Hotel breaks, when available look excellent valus”
0barrym, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if there are any but ones with view from rear of hotel will certainly get the views.”
BJMcI, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 273* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUSD 274
Hotels.comUSD 274
Booking.comUSD 273
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates