We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Parks - Port Hedland

Agoda.comUSD 46*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 52*
USD 46*
Great Deal
USD 52*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Parks – Port Hedland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 133: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Parks – Port Hedland
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed overnight in a deluxe cabin, which had been fairly recently renovated and it was immaculate, modern and very comfortable. The staff were fantastic when we rang them to see if we could arrange to stay a night earlier instead due to our baby being a bit uncomfortable camping and needing a break they were happy to help, wanting to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmberL1991
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Was a quite location with great renovated rooms although feels a lot like work with contractors staying on premises. Has a nice pool and access to the shops just down the road. Was only an overnight stay but worth a shower and a fresh bed for the night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adamlenehan
Tom Price, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This park is right next to the Ocean so if you splurge for a water view it is really lovely.....has a nice swimming pool near front entry and all the usual amenities you find in a caravan park....we had a cabin with beds & kitchen area all in one with separate bathroom....had everything from fridge, air con, all cooking tools...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki A
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Hedland, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the views, the facilities, and the cabin at our park. Thank you for your review, Vicki!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The chalets are approximately one third the cost of staying at the hotel and the rooms are cleaner and you have more amenties. Stayed here for three weeks and it was good to cook you own food and have a comfortable bed to sleep in. The location is good as you can go fishing or swimming right next door. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MalDann
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Hedland, responded to this review

Great to hear that you felt we were suitable for long-term accommodation and that you'll be back at our park when in Port Hedland. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Brisbane
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice lots with clean amenities. However very expensive. The toilet blocks near the cheaper, unpowered lots were closed, so we had to pay extra to get a lot close to the toilets that were open. The lady at reception wouldn't give us the lot for the same price which is pretty slack as they should have all toilet blocks open....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1,827,484,939,237,474
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Hedland, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the price of our accommodation. Should you wish to discuss your comments further, we invite you to contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for sharing your review.

Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to stay in seater front cabin. Staff are friendly and helpful. Close to drive to shops and places to eat. Always clean and tidy. Couches could do with a bit of a clean in some cabins but other than that it's cosy and comfy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette A
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Hedland, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you were impressed with the level of cleanliness and customer service at our park, Annette! Thank you for your review.

derby WA
Reviewed 5 February 2017

What a great park. The location is over looking water on both sides. The cabins are spacious, modern and very comfortable for a family. Bathroom was very large. Great service at reception even when we didn't book anything. It's location makes for a nice and quiet night and very close to town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickstar89
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Hedland, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the views of the water and the quiet of our park. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

We only stayed one night but could have happily stayed a lot longer. Everything we needed was there. The chalet was a good size with washer, kitchen living area and TV for the kids. Bathroom and 2 bedrooms. Complimentary tea/coffee. My only suggestions would be 2 snall cartons of milk instead of 1 and a we had only 3 towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Hedland, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear that you could have comfortably stayed a lot longer at our park and were well accommodated for. Thank you for the review and we do hope you have the chance to return to Port Hedland!

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 January 2017

This is a very big Caravan park with lots of chalets and some that seem to be permanents. There is a very nice pool which we much appreciated as it had been a long hot drive to get there. The facilities are good and kitchen facilities available. The sea is just over the sand dunes, and to the west the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CMB425032
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Hedland, responded to this review

We agree - the sunsets really are wonderful, and we're happy to hear you think so too! Thank you for the review of our accommodation, facilities and location.

Moree, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The view from where we had our site was wonderful.It looked out over the waterway and marshland to Port Hedland.We were fascinated by all the train activity we could see in the distance.At night you could see the lights from the port.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bronwenm1612
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks – Port Hedland, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay!

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hedland
3.4 km away
Hospitality Inn Port Hedland
Hospitality Inn Port Hedland
#2 of 6 in Port Hedland
85 reviews
3.2 km away
The Esplanade Hotel Port Hedland
7.0 km away
The Landing Port Hedland
The Landing Port Hedland
#4 of 6 in Port Hedland
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Ibis Styles Port Hedland
Ibis Styles Port Hedland
#6 of 6 in Port Hedland
170 reviews
7.7 km away
Mia Mia Port Hedland International Airport
9.9 km away
Blackrock Tourist Park
Blackrock Tourist Park
#2 of 3 in South Hedland
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you visit for work or leisure, we guarantee your review of WA’s Pilbara region will include the word “unforgettable”. Our holiday park is perfectly located for both remote workers and holidaymakers. Discovery Parks – Port Hedland (formerly Cooke Point Holiday Park) is a great base for outdoor adventures, from off-road driving to coastal walks and endless fishing hot spots. The world's largest bulk tonnage export port is perfect for fishing, crabbing and whale watching. Take a BHP Billiton Iron Ore Tour or a Reef Walk to discover Port Hedland’s rich ecosystem. The unique phenomenon ‘Staircase to the Moon’, when the full moon rises at low tide, is a must-see. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Parks – Port Hedland

Address: 2 Taylor St, Port Hedland, Western Australia 6721, Australia (Formerly Cooke Point Holiday Park)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > The Pilbara > Port Hedland
Amenities:
Price Range: $60 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks – Port Hedland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks – Port Hedland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks – Port Hedland Western Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks – Port Hedland staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Portland, Australia
Caloundra, Australia
over a year ago
Mornington Peninsula, Australia

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks – Port Hedland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet location, great views”
vickstar89, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ideal stopover after a l-o-n-g tiring drive!”
ozcan1, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All cabins looked good enough to stay in.”
249gayem, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check out the other caravan parks before deciding to come here”
JanM271, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All cement slabs look ok and spacious”
170aijab, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 46* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 52
Booking.com
Hotwire.comUSD 52
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates