We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Albany Foreshore Guest House

86 Stirling Terrace, Albany, Western Australia 6330 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (60)
Dining (11)
Room & Suite (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 12 B&Bs in Albany
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
1888 Heritage building, with stunning historical oil paintings, in the centre of Albany. All new King Single and Queen Size beds, with comfortable mattresses. Hot and cold breakfast included. Tea and coffee making facilities available 24 hours. If you arrive by bus, you can walk to the Albany Foreshore Guest House. If you arrive by car, we have secure parking behind a locked gate. Walk across the footbridge to Albany Entertainment Centre, Marina, Albany Visitor Centre and Princess Royal Harbour. Walking distance to Residency Museum, the Brig Amity, and historical buildings in York Street. Walking distance to restaurants, coffee shops and cafes. We are a family owned business. You will receive a very warm welcome at the Albany Foreshore Guest House.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
124Reviews5Q+A34Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 32
  • 6
  • 9
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
carsten w wrote a review Aug 2023
bremer Bay6 contributions2 helpful votes
Lovely place in the centre of town next to all attractions. Kathy the host was really accommodating and always tried to make our stay as perfect as possible. Everything was clean,cosy and you had anything a guest would need.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Rogerson, Owner at Albany Foreshore Guest House
Responded 13 Aug 2023
Thank you for your lovely comments 🙂
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cheryl T wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
+1
Beautiful historic guesthouse. Furnished very comfortably with trinkets and amazing art on walls. Friendly staff who were eager to please. Fresh and well prepared breakfast served in a relaxing dinning room. Highly recommend this venue for a relaxing visit in Albany. Close to most places in town.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Plenty of places to eat near by. The IGA was just across the road and well stocked with meals and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Neil M wrote a review Feb 2023
Curious historic building, lovely cooked breakfasr, secure parking, well located, fantastic hospitality. The best value and enjoyable accomodation i have had the pleasure to stay at. Not been at beeter accomdation in all my travels.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Rogerson, Owner at Albany Foreshore Guest House
Responded 10 Feb 2023
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was great to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jan Wild wrote a review Sept 2022
Brisbane, Australia172 contributions92 helpful votes
This property feels more like something I experienced in BnBs in England in the 1970s. Cluttered with the owners' possessions, signs everywhere, it felt like guests were an inconvenience. On arrival we rang the mobile number indicated - no answer and no message facility. Our room was tired, the sheets clean but marked and the bathroom very basic. On an afternoon when we wanted to return our car to the parking area I was told to try again in 90 minutes - a decent host would have moved his vehicle out of the way so that we could access the car park. Great location and good breakfast, but otherwise I cannot recommend
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
vkdoug wrote a review Apr 2022
Baldivis, Australia52 contributions4 helpful votes
Friendly owners, quirky interesting guesthouse, breakfast served promptly at allocated time, an excellent location very central to most things, accommodated us leaving our car there after check out due to Anzac Day commitments, thanks for the stay will come again
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Location is excellent Quirky guesthouse
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Rogerson, Owner at Albany Foreshore Guest House
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Many thanks for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
simary23 wrote a review Mar 2022
Perth, Australia69 contributions68 helpful votes
Location is excellent. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and some historical sites. Beautiful old building with high ceilings filled with character and charm. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice. It's our go to place when we are in Albany.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Rogerson, Owner at Albany Foreshore Guest House
Responded 29 Mar 2022
It was a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for your lovely comments. You have helped our little business!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Aaron C wrote a review Oct 2021
Cork, Ireland8 contributions
+1
Made a booking with bookings.com got to check in and was shown our room with paint peeling off the walls mould in every corner of the room. You can be assured we left swiftly hand back our key and was ignored by the owners. All round bad experience contacted bookings.com about a refund but they left it to the owners to decide about it. Don't waste your time or money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Rogerson, Owner at Albany Foreshore Guest House
Responded 1 Nov 2021
The Guests who stayed in the same room in our Heritage Listed 1881 building, the very next night, left the following review on BOOKING.COM with a perfect score of 10 out of 10: A colourful, quirky, comfortable place to stay. I'd stay there again any day. The house interior is extremely interesting, with large copies of grand master paintings covering every wall. I found the decor surprising and interesting, and just really loved being in the guest house. It felt very cosy and welcoming in an old-fashioned way.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
talya wrote a review Oct 2021
Perth, Australia1 contribution
Absolutely appalling service, check-in times was written 12 pm on adoga when I went. I arrived at around 10:50 pm, and called the hotel a man answered then yelled at me, said I couldn’t speak English, and refused to open the door. It wasn’t until 10 minutes later he sent a text saying no one was there, and that he was going back to bed. My mother and I had to sleep on the foreshore in our car.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t go
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Safari797851 wrote a review June 2021
Perth, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked 4 nights but could only manage 2. Never felt comfortable from moment we walked in. Manager John a nice bloke but guesthouse is dark and dingy. Eerie almost. Building was built in 1881 and I think the carpets were laid the same year. Cold, musty and unwelcoming. Old is fine but cleanliness is paramount in the service industry. Hairs all over bathroom and shower needed to be scrubbed. Breakfast was quite nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Rogerson, Owner at Albany Foreshore Guest House
Responded 21 June 2021
The recent (short term) cleaner has now been dismissed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Quest781585 wrote a review June 2021
1 contribution
Be cautious. Get agreement in writing. I have stayed here before and recommended it to friends. I booked 2 rooms for 4 persons. Kathy was very pleasant and offered the rooms at a discount because we had stayed there before and whilst making this booking I booked 3 rooms for November. We arrived and the owner and the manager John greeted us with you have to pay $40 extra for additional guests. Rubbish, Kathy said total cost was for 2 rooms, 4 guests and breakfast. I spoke to John when we were leaving and he agreed to refund the $40. I got home and a message from the owner stated my booking for November was cancelled. Feel sorry for John and Kathy (owner’s wife). Quality of breakfast depends upon the culinary skills of the manager, four changes since September 2019 that I know of.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Rogerson, Owner at Albany Foreshore Guest House
Responded 22 June 2021
When guests bring more people than the original booking, we charge $20 for each additional guest, just to cover the cost of the cooked breakfast made to order. When guests refuse to pay a deposit for a future booking, we cancel the tentative booking. This is normal business practice. We've never had Guests refuse to pay a deposit before.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Albany area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$165 - AU$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Vancouver Guest House
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaAlbany
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALBANY FORESHORE GUEST HOUSE (AU$165) - 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Albany Foreshore Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Albany Foreshore Guest House?
Nearby attractions include The Albany Convict Gaol & Museum (0.4 km), The Church of Saint John the Evangelist (0.3 km), and Patrick Taylor Cottage (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Albany Foreshore Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Albany Foreshore Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Albany Foreshore Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Albany Foreshore Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gourmandise & Co, Albany's Indian Tandoori Restaurant, and Dylans on the Terrace.
Is Albany Foreshore Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Albany.
Are there any historical sites close to Albany Foreshore Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Albany Convict Gaol & Museum (0.4 km), Princess Royal Fortress (2.4 km), and Old Farm, Strawberry Hill (1.6 km).