We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Wyndham Torquay

100 The Esplanade, Torquay, Victoria 3228 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (303)
Room & Suite (146)
Pool & Beach (60)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 5 hotels in Torquay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Wyndham Resort Torquay, offers guests stylish and comfortable accommodation, showcasing sweeping views of the beautiful Zeally Bay Beach; located at the gateway to the Great Ocean Road. Torquay is home to the world famous Bells Beach and iconic surf brands including Quicksilver and Ripcurl. Immerse yourself in the epic surf culture of Victorians surf capital and begin your spectacular, Great Ocean Road adventure from the official starting point in Torquay. Wyndham Resorts luxury accommodation features quality hotel rooms and spacious one bedroom apartments, providing a private balcony or patio overlooking the swimming pool, stunning gardens or the magnificent ocean. The exceptional hotel facilities will be sure to complement your stay with us. The Resort features an impressive outdoor swimming pool and spa, fully equipped gym facilities, tennis court and BBQ are. Wyndham Resort Torquay, creates the perfect atmosphere for families and hopeless romantics to kick back and unwind.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Car park
Public wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's playground
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Game room
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
882Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 309
  • 289
  • 146
  • 60
  • 78
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Asia4me_1 wrote a review Jan 2024
Melbourne, Australia93 contributions72 helpful votes
Facilities are good however for an expensive 5 star resort it is disappointing that they don’t even provide fitted sheets? Rather just a plane sheet not even tucked in when made up ? The rooms are also very small along with the car spaces available. Cleanliness also an issue. I would rank the hotel as 3 star only !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking spaces are small and extremely tight especially for a 4wd and fills quickly on heavy...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tonyv wrote a review Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia66 contributions50 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel celebrating our anniversary so we booked a king room via booking .com. When we arrived we checked in ok and went to our room and found that they moved 2single beds to make the king bed which is not what I was expecting . The room was ok , apart from nothing to sit at and use a laptop and the air conditioner wasn’t much good.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Thomas H wrote a review Aug 2023
Croydon, Australia35 contributions7 helpful votes
We spent a quiet weekend in Wyndham Resort Torquay, as a gift from our friends who have a time share. There was a bit of a sales pitch on check-in but as a couple of old age pensioners there is no way we can afford this. We had secure underground parking. The resort in on the esplanade and a short drive to the town. Younger persons may choose to walk. Our rooms were excellent. The kitchen had a microwave that I didn’t know how to operate. I guess you need to scan the QR code for instructions. There was an induction stove top, toaster, jug and even a blender. The dining area extended to a lounge with a TV and plenty of channels but not Fox Footy. The bedroom had its own TV and both room had access to a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the pool, unused while we were there in winter. There is also an indoor pool and gym. The bathroom doubled as a laundry with washing machine and dryer. My wife had a minor quibble that the mirror was not big enough for her 70+ year old eyes. There is a games room, cafe and bar (not operating when we were there). I bought and over-priced ($10) can of cider from reception. Overall, its a great place and I expect is really buzzing in summer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay
Responded 2 Oct 2023
Thank you Thomas for spending some time with us. You must have some great friends to gift you a weekend away...I need to review my friends! Glad you got to enjoy your stay with us, and you used the room and the resort to the fullest in the Winter months. You are right there is a good vibe over the Summer months, but there is nothing more relaxing than an off season stay...you seem to get the resort facilities and the town all to your self! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lana R wrote a review July 2023
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
We (2 adults, 1 toddler) stayed here last night, some things to note: Booked a resort view room (room214) - that view is of the car park entrance and neighbouring propertys yards/balconies. Not exactly what we were expecting based on the name… You can see a bit of the beach if you sit out on the balcony but again it is majority carpark entrance. Was disappointed with this. You can hear the roller door to the carpark going up and down every single time. Fridge in room completely froze all items we had in there (reported to reception today when we discovered this) The pillows are fantastic for leaning against when watching tv but to sleep on are the most uncomfortable pillows we’ve ever experienced. They are very high and solid. On site cafe/bar is closed during winter. Room had a shower/bath combo. Rooms are dated. Good little playground for toddlers in a quiet corner of the outdoor area. If the weather were warmer we could have made use of the fantastic looking outdoor pools. Would not pay $200+ to stay here again for a single night, it felt excessive. We have previously stayed at the local caravan park - find this a better option for toddlers and price wise value for $.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay
Responded 2 Oct 2023
Thank you for your review, Sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your short stay with us. The outwards facing rooms are not called 'Resort View', we simply class them as "Hotel Room' or 'One Bedroom Apartment', the categories up from there are 'Pool view' and 'Ocean View'. Apologies for any confusion. We will take a look at the fridge, it is most likely the thermostat that has been set to low. Glad your toddler enjoyed the playground, and you are right, you will have to return when the weather warm to use the pool areas.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ceinwen P wrote a review June 2023
18 contributions1 helpful vote
Great resort with a massive heated pool and outdoor spa. Underground secure carparking with an elevator access to all rooms. Our room was well equipped, quiet and extremely spacious. Resort was straight across the road from the beach and not far from beach side restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book more than one night stay in Torquay as the town has so much to offer and you will have more...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay
Responded 2 Oct 2023
Thank you for your lovely review. We are proud of our resort and the team do an amazing job to make sure everyone enjoys their stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Torquay for your next Road Trip! Many thanks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marcus G wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Disappointed to say the least. We arrived in our room which we paid extra for to find we had had M & Ms on the floor and chewing gum on the bench top. On our first day we had an electrician come to our room trying to come in to change a light globe with no warning from the hotel. Later that night we had a hotel staff member frantically banging on our door and what sounded like trying to open our door at 8PM as our baby slept to ask if the door joining the second room was locked. No TV remote to be seen anywhere in the room for the TV which was more than annoying. We paid extra for a balcony and on the balcony was another rooms air con unit which was constantly pumping cold air so we couldn't even use it. A lady came around to the room to ask if we wanted towels, knocked once and without giving us a chance to even get to the door continued to knock impatiently whilst our baby was trying to sleep. Good facilities like gym and pool etc however will never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay
Responded 21 May 2023
Good day, Thank you for your review, but I don't believe you were staying at Wyndham. There is another operator at the property who manages about 16 rooms. Our Maintenance team replace light bulbs during the day, and I know the other operator sends in electricians to change the lightbulbs as they do not have Maintenance staff onsite. Also we don't have staff knocking offering towels as this is done during the cleaning process, or are available at Reception at anytime if a guest needs more at anytime. Kind regards, Cameron General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stevie Wills wrote a review May 2023
Perth, Australia18 contributions7 helpful votes
A bad experience from start to finish. We booked a king room and were provided a king with an additional single with no room to relax or move around with luggage for two people. We were eventually given what we booked and paid for and had to move our luggage and car to the other side of the complex. No apology offered for their mistake. The new room had a few issues, only one light was working in the bathroom and we couldn't see properly to shower or shave. The shower screen leaked and we had to mop up rhe floor after each shower to prevent slipping on the floor. The fly wire on the patio door was loose. A rod on the curtains was broken with half stuffed in a bedside drawer. The toilet bowl was cracked. We did not complain about any of these issues. At 7.30 the next morning the power went off upsetting our plans for an early shower etc and breakfast before a late checkout. We left it till 8.00am which we thought was reasonable only to be told the power board was in an adjoining room and they didn't want to disturb the occupants whilst apparently satisfied to inconvenience us. At 8.40 the maintenance person said it was still too early. This wasn't our fault. By then we had had enough and packed and left early. 9.15am was deemed a suitable time to go next and flick the tripped fuse. When suggesting the Manager learn some customer service skills he was rude and insulting suggesting a cup of hot water to make tea was sufficient for this inconvenience
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay
Responded 21 May 2023
Good day, thank you for your feedback. I don't believe we actually met, so it may have been one of my team who assisted you. I have spoken to him, and he said you were after a cup of tea, and he was offering to make you a tea, or provide you hot water at that moment, he said he wasn't trying to be rude but assist you. I had a look at your booking and prior to arrival you were upgraded to a larger room type that has room for an additional bed, however once you brought to our attention that you didn't like the additional bed, the team arranged to move you to a smaller room with just the King bed. In regards to the power tripping, we found that the guest in the adjacent One Bedroom apartment had brought their own appliance (electric throw rug) which had tripped the power overnight (which is what it was designed for safety reasons). As the rooms are dual key, the fuse board is in the main part of the room, which is the One Bedroom, and at 7:30am the team deemed it too early to wake them up, and was done shortly afterwards. It was an unfortunate set of circumstances, and the team did the best they could in the situation. In regards to the maintenance issues, thank you for bringing to our attention. Our team will certainly look into them and rectify the best we can. Our apologies for the less than seamless experience, it was certainly not our intention to upset you. Kind regards, Cameron General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dylan K wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
Stayed here for 3 nights asked for room with pool view, got a view with a hedge no pool visible, there was also no balcony like the listing that we booked for said only 1 chair outside overlooking a hedge directly in front Housekeeping didn’t give us any towels in the bathroom among leaving coffee cup rings on the table and missing some details while cleaning the room
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay
Responded 16 May 2023
Thank you for your review. Apologies that the room location was not what you expected. The ground floor rooms are more sought after as you can walk off your balcony/patio and the pool is within 2 meters. If you wanted a room on the next level up, our team could have happily arranged a room move for you. I will discuss the Housekeeping shortfalls with the department manager. We do have a towel reuse program as part of our green commitments. The team will replace towels that are on the floor/bathtub, but if still on the rail it is assumed you want to reuse the towels. Our apologies again, and hope you come visit us again when next down in Torquay. Regards, Cameron General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Osusana wrote a review Apr 2023
Stockport, United Kingdom272 contributions277 helpful votes
Great room, clean comfortable bed, excellent service - breakfast was included in the rate and was a la carte, freshly made and to order. This hotel is a little outside of the main town for restaurants and shops, we don’t mind a walk but you may like to take this into consideration if you are not so mobile.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay
Responded 16 May 2023
Thank you for your review and for visiting us down in Torquay. Glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, it is either a short 3-5 min drive to the shops, or a pleasant 15-20 min walk along the beachside to the town centre. Torquay has good parking, so a quick drive to the shops, or to a restaurant will not mean an extended search for a carpark. We hope to welcome you back down under again soon. Regards, Cameron General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah D wrote a review Apr 2023
21 contributions14 helpful votes
Not sure what the bad reviews are all about on here. We had such a lovely stay - the room was really well appointed, so cosy and quiet, with a lovely partial sea view from the balcony (which we didn't ask for or realise we had - which was a real treat!) The hotel is walking distance from the town (about 25 minutes) and across the road from the beautiful beach where you can walk for miles up the coast. We ate dinner and breakfast in the town, rather than at the hotel. Staff also very friendly. Would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Jeffery, General Manager at Wyndham Torquay
Responded 16 May 2023
Thank you for your review and staying with us. We hear you about reviews, we certainly look after thousands of guests each year and we hear some fabulous feedback, but we understand that like anything we can't please everyone, or something doesn't go exactly to plan which can understandably frustrate some guests...although we certainly try our hardest to make everything perfect. Myself and the team listen to all feedback, and we adjust and learn and try and make changes for the better...so we appreciate all types of feedback. But we do love the good feedback such as yours from time to time, as that certainly helps me to keep the team excited and energized to continue to deliver exceptional service. Thank you again, and hope to see you back for another stay in Torquay soon. Regards, Cameron General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Torquay area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$174 - AU$281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wyndham resort torquay hotel torquay, crowne plaza torquay
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Crowne Plaza Hotel Torquay
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WYNDHAM TORQUAY (AU$174): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Wyndham Torquay
Which popular attractions are close to Wyndham Torquay?
Nearby attractions include Torquay Front Beach (0.06 km), Point Danger Lookout (0.10 km), and Fisherman's Beach (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wyndham Torquay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Wyndham Torquay?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Wyndham Torquay?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, barbeque facilities, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Wyndham Torquay?
Yes, a parking garage, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wyndham Torquay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fisho's Torquay, The Pond Cafe, and Bomboras.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Wyndham Torquay?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Wyndham Torquay?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Wyndham Torquay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Wyndham Torquay accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.