Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn

24 Seaby St, Stawell, Victoria 3380 Australia
Traveller (21)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#5 of 5 motels in Stawell
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

Welcome to Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn, your Stawell “home away from home.” Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Nearby landmarks such as Stawell Gold Mine (1.9 mi) and Sister Rocks (2.7 mi) make Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn a great place to stay when visiting Stawell.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the motel.

Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn features room service and newspaper, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a lounge. If you are driving to Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn, free parking is available.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the cafes, including Chris ‘n’ Di’s Pies and Cakes, Neilly's Cafe, and Bamboo Garden Cafe, all of which are a short distance from Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn.

Should time allow, Stawell Oval, Stawell Uniting Church, and Cato Park are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn puts the best of Stawell at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Budget

Location

24 Seaby St, Stawell, Victoria 3380 Australia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Melbourne Airport
195.6 km
See all flights
51Reviews1Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 15
  • 11
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Stuart S wrote a review Mar 2020
Adelaide, Australia90 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed overnight on my way from Adelaide to Melbourne. Dave was very welcoming and had me in a nice ground floor room. I thought the squeaky floorboards from the room upstairs would impinge on my nights sleep, but once those guests stopped moving around all was quiet. My room was nice and there were biscuits to enjoy with my cup of tea. For the price, it is thoroughly recommended. before I left I took a walk along Seaby Street toward the track where the Stawell Gift is run. The footpath along the way near the track has some interesting story boards giving some details of the runners over the years.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Upstairs rooms would be quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colin P wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dave & Wendy are the most amazing hosts!
Wendy’s beautiful warm smile and friendly demeanour is like receiving a warm hug on a cold winters day!

Dave, absolutely is hilarious and very reminiscent of visiting an Australian version of Faulty Towers (The TV show) but in the best possible way!

Dave’s cooking is also sensational and the Coriander Prawns served with Coriander ice cream ( one of many dishes on the menu) is beyond compare!

If you’re looking for a unique experience while travelling through Victoria, you won’t be disappointed!

Top notch!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Wainwright, Owner at Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
Responded 15 Dec 2023
Hi Colin Thanks for the review much appreciated. by the way its a lime chilli and ginger ice cream with the Coriander Prawns Hope to see you again soon...!!!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mr_Mrs_Melbourne wrote a review Sept 2013
Greater Sydney, Australia285 contributions135 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Diamond house recently on our drive over to Adelaide. It took us 3 hours to drive from Melb cbd to Stawell and we chose Diamond house Motor Inn as it wasn't on the main highway which is very noisy. The rooms were very clean, pretty basic but perfect for an overnight stop. Bed was comfy & off street parking. Itwas a short stroll next morning to the main shopping area.

We had dinner at their heritage restaurant. Food was good, basic food- our only complaint was it was 'over described' on the menu so it sounded like a more complicated dish than what was presented & it was a little over priced. $j28 or $30 for basically chops & veg or snitzel & veg was a bit pricey.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SharonLinda1960 wrote a review Feb 2022
Murray Bridge, Australia14 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival I was requested to show my Australian Govt COVID VAX Certificate. I have no issue with that request, as I have shown it many times since arriving into VIC from SA. I use the cert stored in my Apple wallet as haven’t had opportunity to download onto my new acquires VIC QR app. I was met with ‘that’s not legal or good enough’ I tried to download the cert onto the app on the spot but it took some time. In the meantime the waiter was extremely rude and shouted over me. After he started arguing we decided to leave. The owner was also very rude as we left. I have never felt so bullyied by hospitality staff before. Every place we visited in past 2 days accepted my Apple wallet certificate, so I am perplexed to say the least
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Wainwright, Owner at Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
Responded 18 Feb 2022
First of all, let me start with saying how much of a displeasure it was dealing with such an arrogant and belittling person such as yourself. If you had of taken the time to listen instead of talking over the top of me at every word, you would have been informed that the VICTORIAN government expects us to check digital certificates for a hologram. As I tried to inform you, this information comes from the Victorian Department of Health, and not following their guide lines can result in us receiving fines up to $100,000. It is ignorant of you to think that anything you say would force us to risk doing anything else. You eventually showed us the appropriate proof of vaccination that is required in Victoria, as displayed clearly in our posters supplied to us by the Victorian government. At this time, the matter was closed, but you had to keep going on and belittling me for doing my job. I get the impression that you're not exactly used to being told no by someone that you see as beneath you. Regards Ben (your waiter, and co owner)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gemma B wrote a review June 2019
Wellington, New Zealand29 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Motel was clean and warm, although dated. The fridge in the room had a really weird smell and although there was a toaster, there were no plates or knives and forks to eat breakfast in our room with. Didn’t try the restaurant as the stale smoke smell in the motel foyer put us off and again the place was very dated. It was a comfortable stay and was what we required but price doesn’t really reflect the amenities offered. Recommendations of local eats would be helpful in the room information, as well as WiFi password.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter F wrote a review Feb 2019
12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Motel is in desperate need of some TLC.
No microwave or cutlery makes eating in your room very difficult.
Parking is very limited and cannot support all vehicles if the motel is busy.
Rooms are basically clean but the refrigerator was well overdue for defrosting.
TV is tiny and hard to hear.
Queen bed is hard and uncomfortable.
Noisy in bottom rooms with constant noise from guests on second floor.
Would not return,as there are better options in Town.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobbin wrote a review Jan 2019
Adelaide, Australia23 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here on 3 separate occasions, always with between 2-4 small babies/children. The pricing is fair and the owner is always happy to accommodate any issues. The beds are comfortable and the showers are hot and have good pressure.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
angelaroberts7 wrote a review Mar 2018
Melbourne, Australia9 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The motel was a real let down! After reading the reviews I was rather shocked at the state of the Motel. Our room was dusty, carpet was dirty, bathroom was disgusting! Funny smell in the room. The towels were worn and so small could have been hand towels! Outside was rundown and needed a good clean up. We were up stairs and the stairs were not safe. The door to our room was sticking so bad you had to bang it so it would close. The man at reception was rude and not helpful in any way especially when the internet wasn't working, we had to use our own hotspot. We had a meal at the restaurant the waiter was very nice and the food was ok but expensive. We defiantly wont be back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenrike81 wrote a review Sept 2017
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were met with a rude, condescending and arrogant reception here on a cold, wet, blowy Tuesday night.
After attempting to have dinner here with the family after a long drive from Adelaide, the waiter and an older man (probably the owner) did not accept us at the restaurant as we were not staying at the motel.
When my wife with our 3 month old in arms asked where else we could go, the waiter told us to go to Macca's in a rather abrupt, loud and unhelpful manner. Not really the answer you are after when your 4 years old is hungry, you have a baby in arms, it's raining and 8 degrees outside.
Only after further prompting, the waiter gave us other options in town.

The older man asked where we were staying and then condescendingly told us we should know better and we should book a hotel with a restaurant.

I hope this review prevents other people driving through the sour experience we had. The 'New Hong Kong' incidentally was welcoming and nice!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pandl2017 wrote a review July 2017
Adelaide, Australia24 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The manager was arrogant. The room wasn't serviced at all the 1st night & only 1 bin emptied & some milk left the 2nd night. You would think that if I mentioned the room not being serviced then they would try to do a thorough job the next day. The manager told me I accepted the booking.com offer but when asked if that meant no service he replied NO. why mention it??
I left this review on the Diamond House website & his reply was that we had booked a table for both nights & not turned up - we asked about dining options but did Not book either night.
He apparently upgraded us so I would be curious what the other rooms are like!!!
Lastly I did not demand compensation, I just asked if there was any but he said emphatically NO..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from keaba, Owner at Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
Responded 29 Aug 2017
I thank you for your second complaint the first being on Booking.com and as with my answer on there .. Your Husband booked in and was a perfect gentleman we had a great chat and as such i up graded you to a Queen room after you only booked a double room .. on booking in your husband booked in to the restaurant for 2 evenings,, neither bookings were kept.. Yes your room service was ,missed and i apologized for that and even offered to do it immediately but you would not listen only interested in demanding compensation
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Polly3380
Stawell, Australia107 contributions73 helpful votes
Hi Bhavesh w, I just rang Dave, Breakfast is an optional extra.
Stuart S wrote a tip Mar 2020
Adelaide, Australia90 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upstairs rooms would be quieter."
Read full review
Julia C wrote a tip May 2019
Melbourne, Australia16 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upstairs is a better option as regards noise."
Read full review
Bronwyn G wrote a tip Oct 2018
Adelaide, Australia13 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"2nd floor when busy, ground floor only if no one above you."
Read full review
Matthew G wrote a tip Apr 2017
Melbourne, Australia29 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take your own pillow and blanket"
Read full review
eilzabeth s wrote a tip Feb 2017
merbein south4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"any room would be fine"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stawell area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$123 - AU$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaGrampiansStawell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DIAMOND HOUSE HERITAGE RESTAURANT AND MOTOR INN (AU$123): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Stawell) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Stawell Oval (0.5 km), Cato Park (0.9 km), and Stawell Uniting Church (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chris ‘n’ Di’s Pies and Cakes, George & Kids Fish n Chips, and Gift Hotel.
Is Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Stawell.
Are there any historical sites close to Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bunjil's Shelter (8.7 km).
All Stawell HotelsStawell Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in StawellHotels near Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars