Econo Lodge Goldfields
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Econo Lodge Goldfields

7-9 Western Highway, Stawell, Victoria 3380 Australia
Traveller (7)
No curtains
Room & Suite (3)
Comfort Inn Goldfields Restaurant
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
AU$135
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#6 of 6 hotels in Stawell
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Looking for a place to stay in Stawell? Then look no further than Econo Lodge Goldfields, a hotel that brings the best of Stawell to your doorstep. Guest rooms offer air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a kitchenette, and Econo Lodge Goldfields makes getting online easy as free WiFi is available. You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including a 24 hour front desk, room service, and newspaper. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and a lounge during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. Nearby landmarks such as Stawell Gold Mine (2.4 mi) and Sister Rocks (2.9 mi) make Econo Lodge Goldfields a great place to stay when visiting Stawell. While visiting Stawell, you may want to try some fish and chips at one of the nearby restaurants, such as George & Kids Fish n Chips. Looking to explore? Then look no further than Stawell Oval (0.8 mi), Stawell Uniting Church (1.1 mi), and Cato Park (1.1 mi), which are some popular Stawell attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Econo Lodge Goldfields as you experience everything Stawell has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Massage
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English
54Reviews0Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 19
  • 14
  • 7
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
dragonlady31964 wrote a review June 2020
Victoria157 contributions59 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Situated on the main road through Stawell you do get a lot of truck noise. Room was very clean and staff great to deal with. Very basic accommodation but you get what you pay for. Internet kept buffering, so it took me 50% longer to watch tv shows online. Heater in room was old and took a long time to heat the room up. Bed had an electric blanket thankfully, as bed only had a blanket on it, no doona, and even with the extra blanket doubled over from the cupboard I only just felt warm enough during the night. Restaurant was meant to reopen after refurbishments in Feb but still wasn't. Got the impression it never did. Breakfast is available but the continental products were very pricey at $5 for a juice or yoghurt (which was out of date by a week), or $5.50 for a cereal - this was the most expensive prices I have seen for these items, and I have stayed at a lot of hotels/motels in the last year. Better off to get a hot breakfast for $10, but don't know how big it was. Got stuck down the end with road (?) workers who got up at 6am and sat outside their rooms chatting. I left at 8am and they were still going...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AustraliaOwen wrote a review Aug 2018
Newcastle, Australia540 contributions229 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are spacious and clean.
The bed is comfortable with great pillows.
The bathroom is clean and has washers, shampoo, conditioner and body wash.
There are tea and coffee making facilities and they give you a small milk at check in.
All the staff are friendly.
The air-conditioner was not real great at heating, but enough to warm the room.
Noise from the road out the front was not an issue.
Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TonyB_au wrote a review Dec 2017
Oakleigh, Australia299 contributions376 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a 5-star Hilton, it's a country motel. Keep that in mind when reading reviews.

Check in was quick and easy but not terribly friendly. A nice 'Hello, how was your drive' doesn't cost much. Neither does a smile.

Room was fine (room #7). Nice and big, clean, big bed, fridge, bathroom, desk, kettle...all the things you'd expect from a motel.

I didn't have an issue with the noise from the road but I'm a heavy sleeper and it was holiday time so perhaps the traffic was lighter than normal. What did prevent me from sleeping was the noise of the old fridge (until I turned it down) and the light coming in through the window. There were vertical blinds on the window but no curtains. The light outside seemed to be on either all night or very late into the night and, of course, the sun came up around 6am and came in through the window.

Given that it was a few days after Christmas the restaurant was closed even though the hotel was fully booked. I thought that was strange. There was also no hot breakfast available (for the same reason).

There was free Wifi available, apparently, but I didn't see any of it. It wasn't available during my 3 days there and the lady at reception mentioned something about NBN and having connection problems. I didn't really buy that excuse but that was the reason, apparently.

There is a swimming pool that looked ok. I didn't try it but there were some people using it. There's a BBQ area beside the pool that has some good potential but looks tired and worn. It could do with some cleaning and re-painting to brighten it up.

On the positive side, the room was great, the shower was excellent (great water pressure and hot water). If you're looking for a one-night stopover on a Melbourne to Adelaide drive then this is fine. As a longer-term holiday stay, perhaps not.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Goldfieldsmanagement, Manager at Econo Lodge Goldfields
Responded 1 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review. We always take note of customer opinion and take action if required. Just to address a couple of issues you had. 1. Our internet in the area is disgraceful and we have had awful trouble with reception to our motel for quite a while. Complaints to our suppliers have made no real difference and talking to others from Stawell the whole town is affected by this issue. 2. Our Restaurant closed the few days after Christmas and Boxing Day (we do not open public holidays or Sundays as the volume of customers never quite cover the cost of opening) so our Chef could have a break from working huge hours over December. We work with a small team in the kitchen and a break was required. I am sorry both of these issues were disappointing to you and everything else will be looked at. Thank you for your positive comments about the room and I will certainly look at the vertical blind issue. The lights out the front are motion sensored and if people were moving round they would have been on. It is for security. Thank you for giving your time to review us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noodle wrote a review Aug 2019
Worldwide60 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lived here for 2 months, probably the best joint I have stayed in for comfort and convenience. Friendly staff and right next to the bar and restaurant, what more could you want? If you are in Stawell for some strange reason Get on it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cairen H wrote a review Dec 2015
Traralgon, Victoria, Australia15 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We'd decided to break up a long drive between Adelaide and Melbourne by stopping in Stawell but didn't decide where until we started driving. Google suggested quite a few places but we decided on the Comfort Inn for a couple of reasons 1) it was along the highway and close to town, and 2) we'd stayed at a Comfort Inn in Ballarat recently and found it comfortable (hence the name) and good value. We booked a room over the phone and gave them an approximate arrival time.

Once we got there, the female owner checked us in quickly but also upgraded us to a larger, family room FOR FREE simply because it was available.

The room was functional, clean and well equipped. My boys thought the heated pool was awesome and we're happy with their choice in beds.

I couldn't be happier with the premises, the service and the price we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
martin o wrote a review Sept 2015
Wigston, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
to add insult to injury after a bad experience in Halls gap.. went to stay the night at this motel.... we complained about the traffic noise and asked for a different room .. we where then told we would have to pay again as we had used the first room... the lady on reception was most rude ... we just left... wouldnt have got any sleep and was not paying again
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Goldfieldsmanagement, Manager at Econo Lodge Goldfields
Responded 25 Sept 2015
I would like to verify that you have actually stayed with us as our system does not come up with your name for any dates for this year. I will point out that any client that comes into our office with a complaint that is justified will be offered a room change if it is required. Under no circumstances do we charge for a room change if it is required. I am on site 24 hours a day and any complaints are brought directly to me so I will say I have not been informed about you approaching us. As protocol is to come to me, I do not believe that we were informed about any complaint you may have had and would like you to inform me of either the company you may have been booked under and the room number you stayed in. I take customer service seriously, I own and run this business and put my heart and sole into it. I do not like to see posts on Tripadvisor with not being given the opportunity to fix things.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathryn H wrote a review June 2015
Bendigo, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Cold, miserable space, lack of hot water for showers, bed rolled to centre. Highway noise constant preventing sleep - what happened to the 90's invention called double glazing to minimise traffic noise? Not worth the $110 tariff charged in late June 2015.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask about traffic noise level. Ask if the shower works. Ask if the very old style air...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hallsgap wrote a review Mar 2014
Halls Gap, Australia1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We didn't stay at the motel but ate at the restaurant. Three of us enjoyed a fantastic meal in the motel's restaurant. The staff were extraordinary, very welcoming, friendly and nothing was left to chance. The meals were amazing. The best fresh fish and meat serves we've ever enjoyed..... and then the most delicious sweets. All made onsite. Congratulations to the owners and chef. We'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Norman R wrote a review Aug 2013
Bendigo, Australia15 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Goldfields Motel in Stawell for the first and last time On arrival they had lost booking for the night and it needed 2 people to complete check I The room was average with marks on carpet when we arrived and then billed for cleaning of the carpets which were already dirty. I wonder how many other people have been charged for this same sting. Our sleep was constantly interrupted by the traffic on the highway. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Goldfieldsmanagement, Owner at Econo Lodge Goldfields
Responded 28 Aug 2013
Your booking hadn't been lost, we had an updating issue between the Choice website and our booking system. By the time you went to the bathroom your booking had been sorted out. I dont feel this is an issue at all. As for the carpets, when you were contacted in regard to the thick tar like substance that had been tracked through your room, not too mention the reception area, restaurant carpets and mens bathroom, you got your back up straight away and had excuse after excuse as to how/why it wasn't you and it was already there. These marks were not in the room nor through the main building before your arrival and after speaking with you I contacted our cleaner to check that the marks weren't there the day prior, I also contact the guest who stayed in the same room the night before you & it was confirmed by both that there where no marks in that room (or through the main building) prior to your arrival on site. Not too mention all of our carpets throughout this establishment had been steam cleaned in July, this particular room being cleaned only 12 days before your arrival. I do not enjoy having to deal with these situations nor do we "fleece" people with what you refer to as a "sting" . I felt I had gone above and beyond dealing with this one, I contacted you to discuss, heard your story and followed it up by making phone calls to staff and even another guest to verify your story, which proved to be untrue. Most hotels/motels would just charge you without notification, please also note I only charged you for the cleaning of the room not the scrubbing of reception tiles, mens bathroom tiles and the carpet in the restaurant, which we had every right to do so. I even checked with my regional manager as to the right proceedure for these situations before calling you in the first instance. As for the highway noise, short of risking our lives standing on a busy highway to stop large B double trucks and general traffic so you can have a goods night sleep, there is unfortunatly not too much we can do about this, traffic is understandably out of our control. If the room genuinly was dirty upon your arrival why did you not notify reception then and there? We do not appreciate your slander on our business practises. Kind Regards Goldfields Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lovelle_greene wrote a review Aug 2013
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Visiting the beautiful city of Stawell for the first time we were very impressed with the old buildings...the town hall and its clock....and some of the very unique buildings...
especially The Diamond House Motor Inn...who ever built it had so much patience it is well worth the turn off the highway to see..
Anyway getting back the purpose of my revue ...yes we tried to book into the Diamond House but it was full..
So we ended up booking in to The Goldfields Motel... we were rather late booking in so when we were told the restaurant was about to close we decided to eat first before going to our room As i said yes we were late but the food was disgusting dont know if they kept every thing in a bain-marie but oh god it was to bad to even try and describe ..
Well after complaining...no one was interested...we thoughtlets just go get a good nights sleep and continue with our trip...
Well the shocks just kept coming the rooms were not at all clean...the shower had soap scum every were could not have been cleaned for a very long time...
But being very tired we just went to bed...sheets were clean...well zso much for a good nights sleep ...no way the traffic noise was awe-full and the trucks going by went on all night...
the next morning we complained to reception but again they were just not interested,,
we were just glad to get out of there in the end.... very bad finish to a beautiful day..
AAA...rated 3and half stars...must have cost them a fortune to bribe the inspector
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: dont think there could be a good room here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Amy M wrote a tip July 2019
6 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best motel here"
Read full review
DidsterBenalla wrote a tip Dec 2016
Benalla207 contributions207 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room at the back if at all possible."
Read full review
kenneth829 wrote a tip Oct 2016
Greater Melbourne, Australia31 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for a room away from the highway"
Read full review
kevin l wrote a tip Nov 2015
Melbourne, Australia77 contributions89 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Deluxe Queen Rooms have been refurbished."
Read full review
Kathryn H wrote a tip June 2015
Bendigo, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask about traffic noise level. Ask if the shower works. Ask if the very old style air conditioner and refrigerator are noisy and ready to die."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stawell area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$130 - AU$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaGrampiansStawell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ECONO LODGE GOLDFIELDS (AU$130): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Stawell) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Econo Lodge Goldfields
Which popular attractions are close to Econo Lodge Goldfields?
Nearby attractions include Stawell Historical Society (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Econo Lodge Goldfields?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Econo Lodge Goldfields?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Econo Lodge Goldfields?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Econo Lodge Goldfields?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Econo Lodge Goldfields?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chris ‘n’ Di’s Pies and Cakes, George & Kids Fish n Chips, and Bamboo Garden Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Econo Lodge Goldfields?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Econo Lodge Goldfields located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Stawell.
Does Econo Lodge Goldfields offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Econo Lodge Goldfields?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bunjil's Shelter (8.3 km).
All Stawell HotelsStawell Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in StawellHotels near Econo Lodge Goldfields
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars