We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant

3149 Western Hwy, Stawell, Victoria 3380 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (23)
Dining (30)
Room & Suite (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 5 motels in Stawell
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set on 20 acres, Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant offers accommodation, a restaurant and services for business and leisure travellers. Boasting a fully licensed bar and outdoor terrace overlooking a private lake surrounding the property, the lodge also features a seasonal heated indoor salt water pool and various family-friendly recreational facilities including a walking track and tennis/basketball court. Rooms and suites are equipped with free WiFi, heating/air-conditioning, a flat-screen TV, microwave, kettle, toaster and fridge. The Deluxe suites feature a corner spa bath. All rooms overlook a lake setting, with each room offering direct access to the lake. Magdala's fully licensed Lakeside Restaurant is set over a scenic lake view through picture windows and an alfresco terrace and is suitable for dining, a range of functions, corporate meetings and special occasions. It offers an ever changing seasonal menu. The fully licensed bar is also available for pre-dinner drinks. Bookings are strongly advised at the time of reservation. Dinner service is available from 18:00 and breakfast is available 7 days from 07:30. Prior to 07:30, a continental breakfast service is available for in-room breakfast, if ordered at reception by 20:00 the night before. The grounds and lake are surrounded by wildlife including pelicans, ducks, swans, turtles and kangaroos. Onsite, you can explore the surrounding gardens, enjoy a meal or drink on the alfresco terrace by the lake, follow the private walking track and swim or play tennis or basketball, with equipment available free to guests. Magdala Motor Lodge is just a 4-minute drive from Stawell's town centre, 10 minutes' drive from Great Western and close to many of the local wineries of the Grampians and Pyrenees. The property is just 18 minutes' drive from Halls Gap and a 10-minute drive from Lake Lonsdale. Mackenzie Falls is 40 km from Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Water sport equipment rentals
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Patio
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
Sofa bed
Electric blanket
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English
120Reviews2Q+A34Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 43
  • 50
  • 18
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mitzi M wrote a review Jan 2024
Adelaide, Australia6 contributions
I only chose this place because I wanted to enjoy a nice warm relaxing spa. It looked good. I tried to fill the spa, but no hot water. I rang reception. "Are you sure you're using the right tap?". He insisted I was wrong anyway, that there was plenty of hot water, but he didn't have any time to look into it further. I tried running the hot a few more times, but had to give up and have a (short) cold shower before bed. I was so disappointed. There are lots of motels along that strip of highway. I bet the rest of them could at least provide a hot shower even if not a spa.... I'd give this place zero for service as well as zero for its hot water.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Maybe good in a heat wave, when you don't need hot water.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team at Magdala, Guest Services / Front Office at Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Responded 8 Jan 2024
We apologise for your experience. A hot water service failing is never going to be ideal. We can’t foresee every breakdown but can only do our best to deal with issues if and when they arise. Unfortunately you call was precisely when we opened the restaurant and had people streaming in the door, making it difficult to attend to you immediately, however 30 minutes later we did find that the HWS had failed to ignite, so that tank was isolated and hot water was restored by the second tank. This was approximately 7:30pm, and we did visit your room to apologise and advise that the problem had been attended to. Repairs were carried out the following morning and the faulty ignition module has been replaced. Everything now running again 100%. You may consider the 30 minutes it took to resolve the issue as poor service, however it would also be bad service to abandon the 25 people in the restaurant and walk out on them. Again, we apologise - all things break down at some point and we always do our best to manage this, however a little patience and understanding is needed, that we can’t always drop everything and run immediately when, at peak periods such as this, we are fully booked and often have up to 120 guests in house, and we are trying our best to manage and balance their needs. I trust that aside from the short inconvenience, you otherwise had a good stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kimberley C wrote a review Nov 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I had a call on my day off from my manager to see if I would work my regular hours in Stawell the next day. I agreed and set off for a 2.5hr drive for Stawell a place I have never been before. The company I worked for set up my accomodation and when I arrived here I was greeted by Robert at the front desk. He was amazing at check in and we had a very nice chat. The room I had was spacious had a spa bath and lakeside views with a balcony type sliding door to exit from and enjoy the view of lake and have a walk around. Next was the restaurant, again it had lakeside views, was cosy and the ambiance was just right for me (e.g music wasn’t loud, enough space between guests to not feel overcrowded in the room, dimmed lighting and natural light coming through the floor to ceiling windows surrounding the restaurant absolutely stunning!) Taylor my server as well as Robert (they interchanged throughout courses) were friendly and accommodating. The menu was a small pub style menu, definitely a win though the food was better than a regular pub. I can’t say enough about this place, I could go on for hours about what I liked and for a spontaneous trip I would definitely come here again just to experience it all over again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Definitely ask what the best time for seating at the restaurant is, the recommendation given from...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AustraliaOwen wrote a review May 2023
Newcastle, Australia555 contributions229 helpful votes
You have eaten here before, however never stayed. Booked through booking.com, was easy. Checking was slow and panful. Took 2 people to finish this task. Had dinner in the restaurant, and this was slow. Asked for a bottle of the house Sauvignon Blanc, they delivered a Red? Then they delivered a Semillon Sauvignon Blanc Then they invoiced for a room upgrade that was not requested. On query they refunded the difference. All in all, too hard of an experience. The room was good. The food was good. But will not consider staying here again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
GoPlaces670354 wrote a review Apr 2023
4 contributions
I always stay at the Magdala when in Stawell for business. They look after me and are attentive to what I may need. As it is set back from the highway, it is better than the other noiser motels. Robert is also running the restaurant, which is awesome. It is my pick of the motel options in Stawell.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Accommodations wrote a review Feb 2023
Stawell, Australia1 contribution
Called direct spoke to Robert due to late check in. Reasonably priced. Great service. Room was well laid out and clean. Easy parking and the layout ensured road noise wasn’t an issue. I will stay on the next visit. Enjoyed the stay. Recommended
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Senny G wrote a review Dec 2022
Adelaide, Australia11 contributions6 helpful votes
A very comfortable stay. Large rooms in a peaceful lakeside setting set back from the highway so very little traffic noise. The motel is a little bit dated but fresh and spotless. We ate at the restaurant and the meal was excellent. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Eat at the restaurant- the food was excellent.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Adrian T wrote a review Dec 2022
Hamburg, Germany15 contributions12 helpful votes
The very rude owner tried to charge my credit card one day ahead of our arrival by manually data entry on a terminal. This does not work because of fraud protection by my bank. when we arrived we were told that our booking was cancelled because the card does not work, but he forgot to tell that he did not tried to charge the card via booking.com but by using the card datas manually. What a thieving guy. Whoever book there be aware of theft
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team at Magdala, Guest Services / Front Office at Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Responded 8 Dec 2022
This lady provided a credit card which was stopped by her bank with error code to retain her card. We made 6 attempts to contact her by phone (German number), email and via booking.com to provide another guarantee card, however received no reply or contact. In this case the only option is to report the card to booking.com and follow their procedures, which if unresponded to, results in cancellation of the reservation. We never like to cancel a reservation, but we also cannot hold a reservation with a card blocked by the bank and instructions to retain the card, especially when we are at 100% occupancy and others are calling desperately for any nearby accommodation. The card provided when you book accommodation is to secure your reservation, and it is perfectly normal practice to charge the card to secure the booking in accordance with the policies of booking.com - This is exactly why you provide your card details. If you use a card which is reported as blocked or does not have available funds, that card will be marked as invalid and you will be notified and given an opportunity to provide updated details prior to the reservation being cancelled. You could only expect that given the situation you presented to us, and additionally not answering calls or responding over 2 days, that your reservation would absolutely be cancelled. We could not have done more to allow you the opportunity to contact us with valid card details and sort everything out.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SisPerth wrote a review Aug 2022
Ballarat, Australia830 contributions249 helpful votes
This motel is set in lovely surroundings and from the back of each room, the view is across a small lake and straight into bush land; it’s delightful. The rooms are spacious, clean and, although they’re a bit dated, they definitely don’t look tired. What they are though, is COLD!! We finally managed to figure out the right setting for the heating on the reverse cycle air con but honestly, it struggled to keep the chill off the air. We panicked initially when we discovered there was no electric blanket on the bed; our hosts were a bit sceptical when we called this in but once they realised there really wasn’t, they went all out to rectify the problem (and we know they’re under the pump there, with staff shortages biting). We were booked to dine in the restaurant but found out last minute that it was closed due to staff shortages there too. Our host offered us room service and we thoroughly enjoyed a delicious steak (also the best mashed potato I’ve eaten in a very long while!). We enjoyed our one night stay, despite the minor set backs…but I’d probably wait till the weather warms up to visit again ;-)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kate Y wrote a review July 2022
1 contribution
Not sure what people were expecting with some of these reviews, a heater in the bathroom .really? This was a beat & clean motel in a country town where the owners are doing what they can to make guests comfortable. There was a fully stocked mini-bar; clean & comfy bed and hot water. The owners have done what they can with a dated motel, fresh modern paint and small touches to compete with flashier chains The restaurant was open on a Monday night with good food & bar. It was a little pricy, but as expected. We stayed in an expensive hotel in St Kilda that was disgusting, so this was a very welcome stop over and we found staff friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DrMo wrote a review May 2022
Ballarat7 contributions1 helpful vote
waitress who is also receptionist at same time was rude to our children ,she did not want them to stay long at the restaurant . Robert the owner who lives there have poor communication skills and have very short temper . His wife seems nicer and knows how to talk to people professionally Not recommended
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: not sure where good rooms located
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team at Magdala, Guest Services / Front Office at Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Responded 15 July 2022
Thanks for the feedback Mohammed. It is regrettable that you feel this way, particularly since this was your second visit with your family in a matter of weeks. Note that your wife and children attended the restaurant during the middle of the afternoon when our restaurant was closed and were setting up for a private function/conference, and preparing for dinner service. Hopefully this really puts everything back into context for you. Even given the case, we were still happy to serve them. Although our waitress informed your wife we were closed and setting up for the function, she was insistent on entering and she was only asked that the children remain at one table so we could continue setting up (unlike the morning prior where the restaurant became their playground) - Perfectly reasonable. Although closed and all equipment was off, we turned the coffee machine back on and coffees and hot chocolates were made for your family which they sat and had while we continued to set up. To our shock, the state of the rooms upon your departure was quite frankly disgraceful. Food splattered all over bedding and walls, mattresses dragged to the floor and rubbish left everywhere including half eaten food discarded outside by the lake. None of this would have been an issue for you had we not informed you there would be additional cleaning costs... which we didn't even charge in good faith.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stawell area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$142 - AU$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaGrampiansStawell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAGDALA MOTOR LODGE & LAKESIDE RESTAURANT (AU$142): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Stawell) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Stawell Oval (2.4 km), Cato Park (2.9 km), and Stawell Gold Mine (5.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chris ‘n’ Di’s Pies and Cakes, Magdala's Lakeside Restaurant, and George & Kids Fish n Chips.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bunjil's Shelter (8.8 km).
Does Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.