We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Art Series - The Cullen

Expedia.comUSD 149*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 149*
USD 150*
USD 149*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Art Series - The Cullen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,048 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Cullen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,035: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 March 2015

Everything about this place should make you go "Wow. This is great. " but I found the art theme and it's presentation a bit soulless and try hard. The art work and styling is based around the artist Adam Cullen. His work seems to be horse centric with an eccentric style when found on a single canvas is endearing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
Hayley A, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. Our unique collection here at [The Cullen] of the late Adam Cullen is inspired by Ned Kelly and was created for the hotel. We acknowledge that our artist perhaps is not for everyone and appreciate that his works...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Stayed here last weekend as I needed to be close to some business matters. I had heard good things about this hotel and thought I would give it a try. Location - Excellent - you are right near everything. Great restaurants, nightlife, bars and chapel street shopping. Service - Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast - In the restaurant downstairs -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melanie S
Hayley A, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear 'Mel2627', Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us at [The Cullen]. I am delighted to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team. We are very fortunate with our location to be surrounded with an abundance of...

Ajijic, Mexico
Reviewed 25 February 2015

I've stayed at a number of the Art Series Hotels, including The Cullen, numerous times since they opened. Prior to my last stay, I've always enjoyed The Cullen. As someone who stays in hotels for much of their life, I enjoy them not only as they are stylish, quirky and interesting but also because they usually have very good service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SmartTraveller
Hayley A, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear 'SmartTraveller' I am delighted to read that you have stayed at several of the Art Series Hotels. I am however dissapointed to read that you feel the standards are slipping. I have spoken to our housekeeping team regarding the feedback you have provided about the cleanliness of your suite. It is not acceptable and I am extreemly disspointed with...

Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile

Great value. Very quirky! I don't like art, but loved the design. Added bonus of the market being over the road. Housekeeping was great & the overall service from the front desk girls were first class. 5 star all the way!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hotdog83
Hayley A, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear 'Hotdog83' What a wonderful review I am delighted you had a fantastic time here at [The Cullen]. We are very lucky to be located across from the Prahran Market. Thank you for the kind words regarding the Housekeeping and Front Office Team. I will be sure to pass on your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back! Regards,...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 February 2015

This is a swanky hotel in a well located suburb with a good vibe. The tram into the city runs every ten or so minutes from right outside the hotel. There are many cafés restaurants and bars within walking distance plus two supermarkets, a bottle store and a pharmacy. The National Art Gallery is a few tram stops away. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LizzyBrandt
Hayley A, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear 'LizzyBrandt' Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Cullen]. You have hit the nail on the head we are lucky to be located in a suburb with a good vibe close to public transport and like you mentioned lots of cafes, restaurants and bars. Thank you for...

London
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Pros: - modern/stylish hotel with lots of artwork - great restaurant (reviewed separately) - good location Cons: - extremely loud music in the reception area - extremely small rooms with a bathroom with frosted glass, thus no privacy - cleaners seemed to lack understanding for presentation as the hovers were standing around in the floors all day. Same happened with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aloha75
Hayley A, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear 'aloha75', Thank you for your review of your stay at [The Cullen]. I am sad to read that you were dissapointed with elements of your stay. I have found your feedback to be very insightful and I will be sure to have the mentioned comments passed on to our management team. I am happy that you enjoyed the artwork...

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2015

A few friends and I stayed in the Lady Luck Penthouse and it was amazing. The outdoor terrace area was much bigger than what I had expected with incredible views over the city. The room was clean and modern and had everything we needed. The staff were absolutely fantastic, they were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah H
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear "SarahR" The Lady Luck Penthouse is one of our unique rooms here at [The Cullen]. It does offer a wonderful view of the city skyline whilst relaxing on the outdoor terrace. Thank you for your kind words regarding the team here. I will be sure to pass on your feedback. I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Loved our stay in the Cullen. Staff were fantastic, they were so lovely and welcoming, made us feel right at home. Big fan of the art also. So colourful, like nowhere else I’ve ever stayed. It’s just not like a regular hotel. It’s a whole other world. Location is great also. Prahran has so many cafes and restaurants. Never short...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BrianVMcCarthy
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear "BrianVMcCarthy" I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. Particularly the kind words regarding The Cullen Crew. I will be sure to pass on your feedback. Here at [The Cullen] we hope to offer our guests unique and inspiring experiences and I am delighted that you were able to enjoy...

Chatswood
Reviewed 8 February 2015

A good,boutique style hotel very well located in Prahan. Restaurants,shops and Prahan markets just on the door step. Good and friendly staff .A boutique style of hotel.Downstairs is a good breakfast area or dinner and bar later.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael L
Lauren H, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Many thanks Michael for taking the time to provide us with your review following your stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Cullen and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Lauren Hodder Hotel Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 February 2015

We stayed for 5 nights and was initially 'wow'ed at the art decor and general ambience. But the finish polish soon wore off with the poor room house keeping and incredibly slow restaurant service. They either need to provide more active staff or provide a buffet so we can help ourselves. The housekeeping progressively got worse each day, until the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank urbandivaLondon
Rowena C, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear "urbandivaLondon" I am delighted that you were wowed upon your arrival to [The Cullen]. I am disappointed that we were unable to meet your needs in regards to the restaurant service and our housekeeping team. I will be sure to pass on your feedback. My apologies if you found our Art Series Signature Bedding most uncomfortable. I appreciate your...

438 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (278)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (142)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (121)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Growler Penthouse (42)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
1,992 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,252 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Price Range: $161 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Prahran, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The lights in the bathroom are on separate switches, one just outside the bathroom and one connected to the main ceiling lights in the apartment. It's easy to think one is not working. ”
susanvJ8697WT, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing Commercial Road were a little noisy with window open. I liked the tram sounds, nothing too loud. Very quiet when windows closed”
robynl96, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was a bit on the chilly side outside but that's Melbourne weather.”
yvonnez596, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“On line check in allows you to select views and check out times subject to availability.”
10terrib, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I haven't had a bad room but I loved having a kitchenette in the room. They're quiet and no noisy neighbours. ”
JACKBrighton, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 149* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 150
Orbitz.comUSD 149
TripAdvisorUSD 150
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates