We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Belfast Cottages

5 Thistle Pl, Port Fairy, Victoria 3284 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 4 cottages in Port Fairy
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Belfast offers charming self-contained cottages within the popular seaside destination of Port Fairy and only 3 minutes from the town centre. Set amongst 1.5 acres of manicured lawns catering for couples, groups or families for that relaxed overnight stay, weekend getaway or extended holiday. The larger double story cottages are extremely spacious and sleep up to 9 people offering 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (one with spa bath), gas log fires and fully equipped kitchen. The smaller cottages offer open plan studio style accommodation with separate children's bedroom. Complementing each cottage are sheltered courtyards with BBQ facilities, guest laundry, children's playground, FREE Wifi internet & movies.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Spa
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
On-demand films
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
72Reviews0Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 12
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
merryl42 wrote a review May 2022
Adelaide, SA14 contributions37 helpful votes
Had a truly wonderful stay here in Dunes. Everything you could possibly require for a fabulous family holiday is provided. Immaculately clean, spacious, thoughtfully appointed, wonderfully cozy with the gas log fireplace. Honestly could not have wished for more. Private swim spa warm and inviting after a day exploring the Otways, Great Ocean Road, horse riding on the beach, thermal springs, Port Fairy and Warnambool. Perfectly located for all of these locations. Highly recommended for couples, families or small groups. You won’t regret booking here and we can’t wait to return. Thank you Theodora & Michael. The perfect holiday house in the perfect location.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Dunes with exclusive swim spa can’t be topped.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sally P wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
Our family stayed for 2 nights (nearly $1000), the cottage itself was clean although needs updating - for the cost we paid - we expected more, our dishes were dirty, plastic bowls were disgusting, rusty taps, go karts were broken. The pool (isn’t a pool) it’s a big spa was not available all the time (only available for use for $30 an hour with 24 hours notice - which IS NOT stated on the webpage) we are a family of 8 so could not all use at the same time and - where can you only use a spa and “pool” by booking and having to pay for it... highly disappointed and WILL NOT be visiting again!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Belfast C, Owner at Belfast Cottages
Responded 23 Dec 2019
Hi Sally Peacock, we have been expecting your complaint. To begin with it was no where near $1000 but even so what price do you expect when booking along an ocean tourist town along the Great Ocean Road like Port Fairy in the peak at the end of December for a big group of multiple families of 8 guests for a 3 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Double Storey Self-Contained Cottage with extra bedding/sheets requested? It seems your main issue is that you had to pay for the use of the private booking of the swim spa even though it was you who missed multiple descriptions as well as photos stating clearly that fees apply. We explained to you via email prior to your stay and via text messages that everything was outlined precise and clear about the use of this beautiful feature. We even cut and pasted you a picture with where you booked on Booking.com clearly showing you that “fees apply” and even Booking.com had a write up about pre-organising prior to stay and the upcoming booking email we sent you a whole week before you arrived explained everything. How can multiple photos and descriptions and at least 3 or 4 different occasions outlining all this be our fault? The night before you spoke to us about the spa, you could have even organized then for the next day, however you chose to want to book it last minute with no notice. We bent over backwards to accommodate you and your family. You first wanted to check-in at 10am in the morning which is impossible when guests check out at 10am, so we got the cleaner to clean your cottage first and allowed you to check in early. You then send us emails about us being misleading with our swim spa facility and we again outline to you it was very clear about it being used for private use only which our guests love! You then apologise several times via text and admit to it being your mistake. It seems like the only person who disappointed everyone was you as you are the one who booked it, received emails prior to stay and still want to blame us for your actions and disappointment you made to your family. We encourage anyone reading this review to go look at our main Booking.com lead in photo which is first and foremost on all the search results even before you get to our property listing details which says in big bald red writing “book 1 hour private sessions – fees apply”
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dave M wrote a review June 2019
Auckland, New Zealand12 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed a night in the Baxa cottage while doing a whirlwind trip in the Melbourne / Great Ocean Road area. The digital check in was great, simple and smart in our view. The cottage and rest of the precinct looked well maintained - buildings, grounds and playground. We had one query of the manager and it was clearly and helpfully answered - good stuff. The cottage was really clean tidy from linen to surfaces / whiteware. We didn’t bring the kids for this trip but they would have liked the room and facilities. In short, we booked this place for its unique look and space and we were both really impressed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Belfast C, Owner at Belfast Cottages
Responded 2 June 2019
Thank you for your excellent review on our property and your stay with us. We are glad to hear you liked everything from the checkin process, the cottage and property grounds. Please do return again with your family! For our returning guests, if you contact us direct we offer better rates than online.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jane S wrote a review Mar 2019
Lincoln, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Things didn’t look good when we drove up to see a for sale sign at the entrance As other people have commented very very impersonable as check in done on a computer screen in a shed. We knew from photos it was going to be quirky and it is. Our main complaint was the cottage we had been allocated stank of curry. Bearing in mind you are basically sleeping in the kitchen it was horrendous. When we got in touch with letting agents were advised to open the windows (which were already open when we arrived) and put on the fan. Don’t usually complain and have travelled widely but compelled to do so in this instance. Property is also very out of town. Our advice don’t book here. Drive into Port Fairy where you will find some accommodation that is 5 star standard and has restaurants within walking distance. We would echo a previous complaint that the impersonal booking makes it more challenging to sort out any issues. Manager did not offer to come and review the problem. As we couldn’t achieve a satisfactory resolution to the issue we ended up walking away from the prepaid booking.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Belfast C, Owner at Belfast Cottages
Responded 13 Mar 2019
Thank you for your review David. Very disappointing to see how you chose to react to a very minor incident. To explain the story fully, these guests had made up their minds up at the front gate with the for sale sign on our property (a statement which they confirm). When we received the guest email enquiry we responded that we would come down and take a look and rectify the issue, however, we did not get the chance as they packed their car and returned the key before they called us. We went to investigate the cottage immediately. The smell of curry was minimal. We are self-contained accommodation with fully equipped kitchens and sometimes this happens with different cultures cooking varied ethnic cuisine. The guest was adamant it was unacceptable and that we should ask guests not to cook certain meals such as fish, curries, etc. Could you imagine the repercussions in this day and age if we weren’t tolerant to all cultures and the diversity of the foods they cook? We welcome all guests to be made to feel at home in our cottages and in the case of food smells we rectify this by thorough cleaning and with an air purifier. Funny how no mention is made how we offered the guest over 60% refund (with the agent commission taken into consideration) but they still refused and wanted to leave. What hope do we have to rectify with such guests when their minds are already made up at the front gate?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lorrie R wrote a review Feb 2019
Cleveland, Ohio125 contributions55 helpful votes
Everything was clean and in great condition. Would stay here again. Comfy bed! Brought my own coffee because I didn't want to wash dishes after my coffee. Couldn't find clean dish towels anyway. Maybe I didn't look good though because I didn't want to wash dishes on my vacation (I guess this is an Australian custom, but I think the maid should do it) I originally came here for the pool, but when I found out I had to pay for it separately and it was private. I lost interest. Absolutely loved the look of the cottage though. Check out computer not working. Told the maid.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
michxy wrote a review Nov 2018
Genval, Belgium43 contributions30 helpful votes
We were on our own on this site far away from the city center.Very impersonal Electronic checkin process. We had an airco problem ( remote control) but nobody was available. We could have call the number of the manager but using à European simcard would have been very expensive.... Maybe is it because the facility is for sale but the cleanliness of the cottage was more than approximative. The pictures of the facility on the internet sites are not in line with the reality. For example , the pictures soshow what seems to be an indoor pool but is actually a small jacuzzi that is not included in the rental fee. We were very disappointed...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Belfast C, Owner at Belfast Cottages
Responded 9 Dec 2018
Thank you for your review on your stay with us. We are only a 2 minute drive to town. We do not advertise our property as being right in the centre of town. Our listing states how many kilometres we are away from the town centre and it is your responsibility to investigate if this suits your needs. We should not be put down on location when we are clear on these details. We also advertise about the extra costs on booking your very own private swim spa session with the booking agent you booked with and again explained it to you via email in great depth and it is a choice (like breakfast) if you want to book it or not. It comes with lots of pictures and information. We have a 24 hour self check in facility which allows guests to check in any time of the day or night. This facility also have a function where you can call or email us direct on the touch screen which sends us a message instantly which means it caters for occasions where you cannot use your own phone. We state everywhere in our guest books, at check-in that we are available should you need anything, we cannot rectify any issues if you do not contact us, this to us is disappointing.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melissa P wrote a review Sept 2018
Melbourne, Australia81 contributions14 helpful votes
We spent a week at Belfast Cottages and cannot express how much we enjoyed our stay! Our hosts were amazing and so friendly! We had the main cottage with all rooms open - with four of us, there was plenty of room to spread out and truly soak up the atmosphere. You can hear the waves tumbling and even though the weather was a tad cold, the gas fireplace was a true treat. The laundry service was great too with clean facilities to keep a handle on the kid's washing! Highly recommend and will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Belfast C, Owner at Belfast Cottages
Responded 25 Sept 2018
Hi Melissa, thank you for your excellent review. Glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you all and having chats. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rachel P wrote a review July 2018
Perth, Australia773 contributions134 helpful votes
+1
We booked the cottages online on our way to Port Fairy. They were easy to locate. The check in procedure was so cute. You go into what looks like a giant dolls house and pop your details on the screen to unlock your key. It couldn't be easier. We got to our lovely little cottage and it was so cosy. Tea and coffee provided as well as all the mod cons. The rooms were clean and tidy and toasty warm on a cold night. The grounds were well kept too. About an hour after our arrival, staff came to check that we were settling in. Nice and quite as well. I would visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Belfast C, Owner at Belfast Cottages
Responded 27 July 2018
Hi Rachel, thank you for your excellent review on our cottages and writing about your experience and your stay here. Glad to hear you enjoyed your night and we hope to see you back again one day in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Molly B wrote a review May 2018
30 contributions3 helpful votes
This place was nice and clean, plenty of room. Main complaint was the price- we bought our own bedding for our 16month old but charged us for an extra person anyway Shower was lovely and hot and the heating and cooling worked well. Bed was comfy Over all a good stay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Belfast C, Manager at Belfast Cottages
Responded 2 May 2018
Hi Molly. Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us and glad to hear you enjoyed our cottages. You will note on all bookings sites that children are charged an extra cost. When you made your booking, you only made it for 2 guests and left a special guest comment you had a young child. We responded to you about the extra cost when you booked (4 months prior to your arrival) and discounted it for you. Having had young children ourselves we know that children still put their hands and fingers on everything which requires extra cleaning, extra heating (when put to sleep in second bedroom / washing, play equipment and so on.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jayne512013 wrote a review Apr 2018
Adelaide, Australia181 contributions93 helpful votes
After a long day of driving, we spent one night in this lovely location. G & T's on the veranda with rural views prior to a delicious meal in this warm and comfortable cottage. Port Fairy is a great place to visit and this cottage is a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Belfast C, Owner at Belfast Cottages
Responded 1 May 2018
Thank you Jayne for your excellent review. We always love hearing that guests enjoyed their stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope you can return again in the future for longer next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Port Fairy area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$261 - AU$337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaPort Fairy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BELFAST COTTAGES (AU$261): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Port Fairy) - Photos of Cottage - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Belfast Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Belfast Cottages?
Nearby attractions include Griffiths Island (2.3 km), Blarney Books and Art (1.6 km), and Griffiths Island Lighthouse (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Belfast Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Belfast Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Belfast Cottages?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Belfast Cottages?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Belfast Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blakes, alexo Pizza & Bistro port fairy, and Bank St + Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Belfast Cottages?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Belfast Cottages located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Port Fairy.
Are any cleaning services offered at Belfast Cottages?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Belfast Cottages?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Belfast Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting George Dodds Reserve (1.4 km), Battery Point (2.2 km), and Port Fairy Historical Society Museum and Archives (1.9 km).