Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Stay Inn

31 Noel St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233 Australia
Traveller (47)
Room 1 Computer / Work desk
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#6 of 11 B&Bs in Apollo Bay
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
'Stay Inn' breakfast accommodation (formerly Haley Reef Views B&B) located in the centre of Apollo Bay offers you two newly refurbished (Oct 2015) sophisticated rooms each with spa bath en-suites.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Taxi service
Massage
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Canoeing offsite
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Sofa
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
53Reviews1Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 13
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
David E wrote a review Mar 2020
Melbourne, Australia48 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful house, with great accommodation. Had gluten free items for breakfast, all the normal tea, coffee, milk, etc. Lovely hosts. Comfy bed, well furnished room, and spacious en suite, and parking under a carport.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are well equiped.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken Bromfield, General Manager at Stay Inn
Responded 25 Mar 2020
Thanks David for sharing your appreciation of 'Stay Inn's' comforts and location. Hope to see you stay again. Kind regards, Ken & family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nic0122 wrote a review Feb 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival we had to ring and owner turned up very promptly to check us in. Room was beautiful and looked out onto a nice garden with the sea in the background. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was slightly dated but still very comfortable and clean. Easy walk into town and close to harbour. Quiet location. Breakfast was already in the room and here was a good selection. Fresh fruit bread for toast and cereals. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken B, Owner at Stay Inn
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Thank you Nic for your comprehensive review. It is always so rewarding to receive such complimentary perceptions. So glad you enjoyed your 'Stay Inn' Apollo Bay experience. Kind regards, Ken & family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Randall K wrote a review Apr 2021
Canberra, Australia1,252 contribution543 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved our 1 night stay in this beautiful house. Our room was very tastefully decorated and quite spacious. Bed was comfortable. Great location with an easy walk into the centre of town. The garden was stunning. Would happily stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Navigate524962 wrote a review Aug 2023
Fort Collins, Colorado3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed the beautiful and well cared for garden. It was lovely to look over the garden from our room. The location was great as it was convenient to town but not right in the middle of things so was very quiet. The room itself was quite dated and the bathroom in particular was reminiscent of a bathroom from the 80s but it was clean. Main reason for 3 stars was we thought it was extremely overpriced. We stayed early in the new year which is peak season and needed a roll away bed and subsequently paid $340, and the room definitely did not live up to the expectation of a $340 dollar room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Josie H wrote a review May 2016
Adelaide, Australia26 contributions43 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hosts- very lovely.Garden seen from our room was nice. Place was comfortable,clean and had everything in its place. Not good value for money - we paid too much you must shop around on Google you can save around $25+ But the worst thing was that We had a sleepless night as there was a very loud storm and heavy rain hitting our window most of the night ,and you could hear it all,however on a calm night it would be good.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Only 6 minutes walk to the beach,shops, restaurants and cafes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken B, Manager at Stay Inn
Responded 7 May 2016
Thanks Josie for recognising some positive attributes of 'Stay Inn', a very neat place that feels like home. We cannot agree more. We did however become confused by you then suggesting, poor value, the need to shop around and finding fault with our local weather gods! Please allow us our point form 'right of reply' whilst we recognise and appreciate your right to voice opinion; Value - you stayed on a Saturday night which in Apollo Bay year round sees visitation at shoulder to peak levels. You stayed in a property recognised as 'Exceptional' by one of our three booking channels (also the one you booked from). You paid $150.00 ($75.00 per person) for our stylishly refurbished, 22sq metre queen room with large flat screen TV on a swivel base, DVD library, lounge suite, dining setting with utensils (the list goes on) private en-suite that contains separate bath and shower, with free breakfast, free wi-fi and 'Privacy assured' for two guests (not to mention undercover free off street parking) - meanwhile 200 metres away (same town same night) a universally BRANDED 'backpackers' was selling an 11sq metre double standard room boasting SHARED facilities from toilet & bathroom to TV and kitchen without breakfast but with paid for wi-fi (if you want it in your room) for a mere $102.00 ($61.00 per person) = more than $25.00 saving. Shop around - (see point above) our only three booking channels have rates set at parity. If one wants to compare apples with oranges we cannot help them. The worst thing - Rain on the window. Sorry we concede that 'our standing order' for 'calm and quiet' was totally ignored as the 'universe over ruled' and sent its Northerly tempest parallel to ground level (happens on RARE occasion) to test our double glazing. We are happy though it did not leak! Toasty warm regards, Ken
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam C wrote a review Oct 2015
London, United Kingdom9 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So happy to have found this B&B, it was a great end to our trip down the Great Ocean Road. Hosts were very friendly. Room was clean, and well equipped with everything you would need for a few nights stay. Light breakfast provided. Central location, walking distance to beach and main shopping street.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken B, Manager at Stay Inn
Responded 17 Dec 2015
Thanks Samantha for your review. We had not long been operating with the new look rooms when you stayed so we were very excited to see your positive impression. Our elevated location just off the town centre does indeed give easy access to the town centre while affording the serenity of rural quiet. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you come by again another time. Kind regards, Ken
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brid wrote a review Dec 2005
11 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a bit daunted when we arrived at this Bed and Breakfast, it was in the middle of a quiet area off the beaten track at the back of town. However, there were views of the sea, a very friendly host (Dutch originally) who made us so welcome. She put food out on the bird table and suddenly it was covered in parrots and cockatoos. The room was perfectly adequate for a one night stop, and the town is sweet, with a few shops and restaurants, quite enough when you are driving on the Great Ocean Road trip. Recommended.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TonyVaras wrote a review Aug 2018
Singapore538 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent room with a beautiful garden.
Very nicely decorated, clean, peaceful and cosy room with jacuzzi bathtub attached and a spectacular view of the garden from our room makes our stay even more heartwarming. Sheltered carpark lot provided & a very good breakfast brought over by warm and friendly host Ken makes our one nite stay such a short one. My wife loves the overall house!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken B, Owner at Stay Inn
Responded 4 Aug 2018
Thank you Tony for sharing your total enjoyment of your 'Stay Inn' Apollo Bay experience. Appreciate you taking the time to post this review. Kind regards, Ken
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tilley1512 wrote a review Feb 2017
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom40 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was large, very clean and had everything we required for our one night stay.

Breakfast is chosen the night before and delivered to your room and is fresh and amp,e fir the start to the day.

Just a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants in Apollo Bay.

A nice change to the hotels we had been staying in whilst travelling Australia.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken B, Manager at Stay Inn
Responded 6 Aug 2018
Thank you Tilley. Much appreciated to have 'Stay Inn' Apollo Bay identified as a 'nice change' to the Hotel vibe! We do strive to emphasize our warm, friendly and homely hospitality in contrast to even the best manufactured brand hotel experiences. Stay Inn is truly our labour of love to share. Best regards, Ken & family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
appletree1 wrote a review Dec 2015
Singapore53 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We wrote to the owner of this B&B and Ken wrote back confirming our stay. They had a change of owner, with the previous owners' daughter & son-in-law taking over the B&B. It has been renamed "Stay Inn". On the day we arrived, the previous owner, Nellie, met us and showed us our room. We had a wonderful chat and she recommended us a few local eateries for dinner. We were given a slip to fill in our choice of breakfast and slip it in a box when we left for dinner. By the time we got back to our room, the breakfast were inside our room. The room was beautiful, we can see that it has been recently redone. Its 5 mins away from the main street, yet very quiet at night to sleep in. Their front garden was really beautiful, which our room faced. The next morning when we checked out, again, we met Nellie who was watering the garden and she showed us around the property, even letting us go up to her private back porch on the 2nd floor (where she stayed with her husband), to look at the beautiful sea view from there. A very personal touch and it left a great impression for us in the otherwise "touristy" seaside town :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ken B, Manager at Stay Inn
Responded 17 Dec 2015
So glad you went away with a positive impression. The change to our business is really only to the room interiors, the name and signage. Nelly & Donny are legendary local hospitality folk here in Apollo Bay. They continue to live on site for the benefit of all guests but have however handed over the day to day operations and marketing to son-in-law Ken & daughter Donna. Ken & Donna themselves have a combined 50 years experience in international hospitality management and continue to uphold the family tradition of making all their guests feel welcome, comfortable, safe and well informed to get the best experience possible in our local paradise. Thank you for your review. We hope you to get an opportunity to pass our way again to say hello. Kind regards, Ken
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David E wrote a tip Mar 2020
Melbourne, Australia48 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are well equiped."
Read full review
CarynJane wrote a tip Nov 2017
Chicago, Illinois4 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is only one room. You are staying in someone's home. This is not an Inn"
Read full review
ameerees wrote a tip Feb 2017
London8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Peaceful location"
Read full review
David and Lyn L wrote a tip Oct 2016
Adelaide, Australia12 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are 2 front rooms. Identical and . Excellent"
Read full review
Josie H wrote a tip May 2016
Adelaide, Australia26 contributions43 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only 6 minutes walk to the beach,shops, restaurants and cafes"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Apollo Bay area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Haley Reef Views B&B
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaApollo Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STAY INN: 2023 Reviews (Apollo Bay) - Photos of B&B - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Stay Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Stay Inn?
Nearby attractions include Bay of Apostles (0.3 km), Great Ocean Road Brewhouse (0.2 km), and Great Ocean Road Trading Post (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Stay Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Stay Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Stay Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Stay Inn?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stay Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dooleys Ice Cream - The Ice Cream Tub, Casalingo, and Apollo Bay Fishermen's Co-op.
Are any cleaning services offered at Stay Inn?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
All Apollo Bay HotelsApollo Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Apollo BayHotels near Stay Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars