Bicheno Hideaway
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bicheno Hideaway

179 Harveys Farm Rd, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215 Australia
Traveller (55)
Darcy the Peacock greeted us at the door
Room & Suite (14)
Private beach front view a few steps from the cabin.
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 ranch in Bicheno
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Bicheno Hideaway consists of four chalets and the Boathouse set on seven acres of oceanfront bushland. All units offer complete privacy and ocean views. We offer complete privacy and tranquility with only the sounds of the ocean on the rocks, the wind in the trees and the sound of bird song.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
115Reviews1Q+A20Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 80
  • 27
  • 4
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ella R wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a beautiful little slice of heaven! Gorgeous animals hopping around everywhere, enjoy the sound of the waves crashing as you sit on your balcony and bask in the beautiful space provided. Lovely hosts Arabella and Nick. Highly recommend for a weekend away!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom C wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a beautiful spot! Whether it’s amazing weather and you’re just using this as a place to rest your head or it’s cold and want a super cozy comfortable space to spend your time this place is perfect.
Incredibly nice owners too that are more than willing to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Can’t recommend this place enough!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aciddinosaur wrote a review Nov 2016
Norfolk36 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Boathouse is a lot larger than you might expect and will easily accommodate a large family or 3 couples. Plenty has been said about it so I can't really add much more except to say it is great value especially if you value privacy and solitude.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Boathouse looks to be a lot larger than the other accommodations and is only a few metres...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bevandjim1971 wrote a review Mar 2013
Northern Virginia, Virginia48 contributions26 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
As far from the Four Seasons as you can get. Grounds are ill kept. The whole place is in need of a cleaning. Linens are old and worn and mis-matched. Holes in screens. I know it is self catering but, no napkins in the kitchen? Certainly not a place for International travelers. Zero charm.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
robjoBendigo wrote a review Nov 2013
bendigo6 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
the property was very run down and tired very disappointing need a lot of tlc only one drinking glass there was a microwave but no dishes to use in it the location is perfect just the cabins not up to 4 star standard the placemats were filthy should be changed after every guest
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas G, Owner at Bicheno Hideaway
Responded 23 Nov 2013
Bicheno Hideaway is three star actually. Our tariffs reflect that rating. In peak season, we charge $155 a night for a couple. A four star resort in Bicheno ranges in price from $250 a night to $400. That the reviewer can get our star rating so staggeringly wrong makes the rest of his comments rather redundant. I greeted this guest several times on the property during his two day stay. As he was availing himself to free DVDs and asking me to direct him to the beach, not once did he voice his concerns. I would have done everything within my power to address his issues and more than happily booked him and his wife into a four star resort of his choice. Most baffling of all is that when his wife left she said 'thank you, it's been lovely'.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmsterdamEnjoyer wrote a review Dec 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands219 contributions71 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The Bicheno Hideaway cottage was not properly cleaned before we came. And the bathroom needs defenitely to be renovated. The chairs on the veranda were rusty. The place needs renovation and should be tidied up.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grey-64 wrote a review Mar 2016
Warragul, Australia10 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very well provisioned , neat and tidy, comfortable bed great wood heater. Individual chalets look great in the bush, lots of wallabies, possums and birds, with a short walk to the rocks and the sea view. Although a five minute drive from town center still handy, and overall a great stay, thanks Nick
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Easy to find ,good signage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elias52 wrote a review Mar 2016
Warwickshire, United Kingdom87 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Four nights at Bicheno Hideaway was an away from it all experience. The setting has rustic charm and abounds with wildlife, with the sounds of the sea adding to the sense of relaxation. It is a few short steps to the rocky shoreline and a footpath leads northwards to the nearest sandy beach, about 20 minutes away. We stayed in The Boathouse, an extremely spacious and highly distinctive property, with a large deck facing the sea and two smaller decks leading from the main bedrooms. Interesting artwork adorns the walls. Chances are that you will never have stayed in a property quite like this! The owners, Nick and Arabella, were kind and helpful but not in any way intrusive. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stacey-Jane H wrote a review Feb 2016
Melbourne, Australia10 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absoloutely love this spot, So quite and peaceful... I would highly reccommend! We stayed in the boathouse for 4 nights it was very spacious, comfortable, fully equipped with everything you need. It's nice to have so many rooms allowing everyone to have their own space with a very large and open living area too. My favourite part is the abundance of birds and wildlife around the property and the amazing private views over the ocean just a few steps away...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erika L wrote a review May 2013
Katoomba, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights in the Boathouse at the Bicheno hideaway and we were blown away by how lovely it was. Old world charm mixed with quirky furnishings, plenty of room if you wanted to sleep 6-8 people, a large deck where you can enjoy breakfast (like we did) or an evening BBQ if the weather permits. We loved the roaming peacocks and they loved perching on the balcony of our bedroom. The telescope was a very clever edition for watching the local wildlife and we NEVER got tired of looking out at the fabulous view. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer and we will definitely come back again. Just wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
annelou wrote a tip Apr 2017
Melbourne, Australia61 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose the boathouse. It's a little more expensive, but much larger and better views."
Read full review
aciddinosaur wrote a tip Nov 2016
Norfolk36 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Boathouse looks to be a lot larger than the other accommodations and is only a few metres from the rocky shoreline."
Read full review
Grey-64 wrote a tip Mar 2016
Warragul, Australia10 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy to find ,good signage"
Read full review
krampson wrote a tip Mar 2016
Wollongong, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is self contained accommodation, not a hotel. The Boathouse is spacious enough for three couples!"
Read full review
cdthirion wrote a tip Feb 2016
Buderim, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All have great views privacy and seclusion"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bicheno area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
bicheno hideaway hotel bicheno
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaGlamorgan-Spring BayBicheno
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BICHENO HIDEAWAY: Reviews - Photos of Ranch - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bicheno Hideaway
Which popular attractions are close to Bicheno Hideaway?
Nearby attractions include Bicheno Blowhole (2.0 km), The Farm Shed East Coast Wine Centre (2.5 km), and Whalers Lookout (2.7 km).
Is parking available at Bicheno Hideaway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bicheno Hideaway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blue Edge Bakery Bicheno, Little Bay Patisserie, and Lobster Shack Tasmania.
All Bicheno HotelsBicheno Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BichenoHotels near Bicheno Hideaway
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars