We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments

3-5 Rawson St, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 4 hotels in Kingscote
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Kingscote? Then look no further than Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of Kingscote to your doorstep.

Rooms at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments provide air conditioning, a kitchenette, and a refrigerator, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

You can also enjoy a pool while staying at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments.

While staying in Kingscote, you can check out a popular seafood restaurant like Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, which is serving up some great dishes.

Should time allow, Fine Art Kangaroo Island is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments as you experience everything Kingscote has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Conference facilities
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
76Reviews0Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 30
  • 8
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Marty R wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Recently took our 3 grandchildren ages (10, 8 & 6) to KI, the accommodation looked excellent, hence we booked for 4 nights. Upon entry, we realised all was not as promised, like stepping back in time, going back to the “mission brown” era. Doilies, tablecloths, quilted bedspreads, you name it. The Indoor pool, no heating as promised, spa empty and not working, roof of pool area badly damaged consequent from some previous storm, were assured it May be fixed before our arrival, sadly not the case. The entire complex in desperate need of essential repairs, paint, general tidying of overgrown garden and rubbish removal. Approx 1hr after our departure we received a phone call from host as to why the white towels were filthy, how was she going to get them clean, red towels had holes in them, what were we going to do about them. We calmly explained to her, our apartment never had red towels, however, she insisted we did. Sadly very disappointed, looked so promising.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deidre Morrison, Owner at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Responded 30 Nov 2020
I'm glad that you said you'd enjoyed KI, and that the pool was also enjoyed by those really lovely grandchildren. Dear M, I did apologise that the pool roof damage was still unfixed, explaining that we had been unable to have that work done as the tradespeople who were to replace the alsinite sheets were all absorbed with rebuilding the huge amount of houses lost in the bushfire.. The pool was cool, only having solar heating until plumbers could attend.I do apologise that we were unable to achieve the warmth hoped for. This morning, a returning guest said on leaving that they love the apartments and the excellence of cleaning and presentation, and that they would be back. I trust that you too found other attributes helpful, including the special rate given The garden is lovely at the moment, especially the blooming roses, foxgloves and daisies. I'm sorry that there was miscommunication about towels. We've never had red towels. .We did ring to say you had left your ipad behind, so that you would have a chance to return and retrieve it, and I remember asking your family what the dark red staining on several towels was, hoping to be able to treat and remove the stains. Im sorry to hear that you were upset about this and would have liked to be able to explain in person. You will remember that we did not charge for this. We appreciate our guests and try to ensure that expectations are more than met. Kind regards Deidre
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
VerityBiscuit wrote a review Aug 2020
Herts47 contributions59 helpful votes
My timing couldn't have been worse really, I arrived on a Friday in Jan and the wildfires really kicked off that night, I only had 2 days on KI and they were a write-off. So it was a surreal and upsetting time to be on KI, I didn't really see anything and some lives were lost while I was there. The apartment was old fashioned but spacious. The kitchen wasn't as well equipped as required and the basics I would have expected weren't provided. It wasn't as secure as I would have liked either. But the host was really lovely and helpful. Although my check in should have been about lunchtime, I arrived a bit early and then a sign get being put up on reception telling me it was delayed, so I think I had to wait about 90 mins or so before I was able to check in, because she was helping other people (who weren't paying guests). Very nice of her but please prioritise me and then help them find alternative accommodation, as I'm the one paying for your service. So KI wasn't a massive success, but if it wasn't for the wildfires this accommodation would've been perfectly adequate for a couple of days.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Deidre Morrison, Owner at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Hi Verity Thank you for your comments.. You have just made a review in August for January? I looked for you but had no check in on the 4th Jan, so you must have been in a group? I am sad that it was such a difficult time, with stranded tourists, homeless residents, and closed sights. Very stressful time for everyone. Please, if you return, always let me know if there is anything you need. The kitchen is well equipped, but we are always adding or upgrading something :) Check in time is 2pm. Had we not been able to finish cleaning for an early checkin? i wouldn't usually keep anyone waiting longer thabn necessary, so I may have been on the phone and I remember it was difficult getting through to Sealik and provisers as quickly as usual, but evem only 5 mins or so. I did purpose-build a federation style ground floor accommodation, with Rosewood linen, which I still love. It probably is old fashioned a bit like me, but a classic. The swimming pool and gardens are often appreciated as well. We are all gradually getting back to normal. Some things are not open again yet, but Seal Bay, Flinders Chase,Parndana Wildlife Park, all the usual beach areas, and most other sites are open and doing well. I'd love to see you again some day. But I bought more Rosewood:) Kind regards Deidre
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kevin Hull wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Working as a volunteer at the KI Recovery Centre in Parndana for a week, with the emotional load that those attending the centre were carrying, it was good to come back each night to the peace and quite of Acacia Apartments. I have never been in accommodation that was a clean and well supplied as this unit - room 2!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BB60 wrote a review Oct 2019
Adelaide, Australia4 contributions
We booked a two bedroom apartment and upon entering was pleased with the spaciousness. The down side is it is outdated with the decor. The apartments are advertised as luxury but I would dispute this. It needed maintenance in several areas and although it was comfortable we were disappointed with these obvious issues. The manager was very friendly and went out of her way to supply us with ample breakfast provisions. We probably wouldn’t return unless we knew the apartments were updated and an improvement in their maintenance of them.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DisabledClient wrote a review Dec 2018
Melbourne, Australia267 contributions104 helpful votes
Stayed 9 nights in the Wheelchar Accessible Apartment. Deidre fantastic and caring host. Bathroom well set up. Large wheelchair apartment. Large carpet square placed by bed so that I could safely get up and get my brace/AFO on. Usually, the apartment is tiled through out. Possible to move van to concrete area for wheelchair loading and unloading. Breakfast provisions were great. Very quiet. OTR Service Station and Wayne at Nepean Motors very helpful. Thanks, Deidre. Hope to stay again. Thoroughly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rochdale42 wrote a review May 2018
Kapunda, Australia13 contributions3 helpful votes
Very spacious rooms with exposed bare brick walls. Was probably a Motel prior to its present 'life'. Some aspects of the Housekeeping standards left a lot to be desired. A good location within walking distance of the main shopping area and Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from wildlifewhisperer, Owner at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Responded 20 May 2018
Hi. I welcome your comments. I would love to know any issues that we can address. We usually excel in housekeeping, and really try to get that right.I love the spaciousness as well. Always let us know if there is anything that we can fix to ensure you enjoy your stay/ I built Acacia purposely with tumbled, light,exposed cottage bricks, looking for a new federation look and feel.. We're about to do a minor re-furb. :) Kangaroo Island is lovely, isn't it . I am glad you enjoyed. :) Kind regards Deidre
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Angelangel1 wrote a review Feb 2018
Melbourne, Australia358 contributions93 helpful votes
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with spa bath. All apartments ground floor with parking directly outside door. Very spacious with many extras such as milk and bread on arrival, breakfast cereals, gladwrap, foil, condiments and many other small everyday items one uses. Management extremely friendly. Close walking distance to town and beach. Large heated indoor pool and spa. Lovely gardens with table and chairs outside each unit to enjoy
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Snevetsduo wrote a review Jan 2018
Cheltenham, Australia46 contributions27 helpful votes
A selection of 10 different ground floor apartments spread over multiple house blocks, about 300 metres from the centre of Kingscote. Generous sized apartments with all mod cons. Laundry facilities on site. Enclosed swimming pool. Plenty of parking. The furnishings are a little outdated but do not detract from the homely feel. Hostess Deidre is absolutely delightful, most accommodating and only too willing to assist with any matter. Well worth staying at this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LindsayMann wrote a review Nov 2017
Melbourne, Australia1799 contributions293 helpful votes
We enjoyed our 6 night stay in a one bedroom apartment at Acacia. It is a good size with separate kitchen, dining and lounge areas. The furnishings are a little dated but comfortable. All the basics were provided as expected. The full size fridge was very useful. We enjoyed the spa bath one evening. We did not use the pool or adjacent spa. Wi-fi signal was very weak. The breakfast materials provided were simple but sufficient although we did supplement with our own yoghurt and fruit. The location is very quiet. It’s a 10 minute walk to the shops and cafes. The staff who assisted us were very helpful and not intrusive. Particularly Deidre who responded to a number of requests by us. Only 1 hiccup - on our last night the power went off momentarily. The hot water service did not reset so there was only cold water in the morning. Fortunately we had our showers the previous evening. (Message to Management - I forgot to mention this to you when we were leaving). Very happy to recommend this accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from wildlifewhisperer, Owner at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Responded 24 Nov 2017
Thank you for your stay and your review Lindsay. It was lovely to have you both stay at Acacia and that you enjoyed KI so well. I must make that water service note a little clearer, as that instant hot water gas unit just needs to have that "on" button pressed on the pad, and there is hot water again in seconds. You must have explore a lot of Kangaroo Island, particularly taking those bikes with you. I hope to see you again. Kind regards Deidre
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Therese1212 wrote a review Nov 2017
Melbourne, Australia44 contributions24 helpful votes
I stayed in a one bedroom spa unit. The size of the unit was great, and everything I needed was there. The unit however, does need a "lift". The bedspreads and curtains look years old- and the sheets were very thin. It felt stuffy- so I had Windows and doors open continuously. The garden around the patio was overgrown. It was also disappointing that in general the grass needed cutting, the BBQ was old and rusty on inspection, the communal spa wasn't working, and to use the pool, I had to wind back the cover, and later replace it. After sunset, the pool was in darkness, and so too was the garden area to access it and try to find a light. Quite dangerous actually. The pool can be used till 10pm..... I think some lights should be on until that time. The unit seemed clean overall, but unfortunately there were some hairs on the bathroom floor when I arrived. If you are independent that's fine, just be aware that usually management is out, with notes left on reception door where to find key/ what no to ring if you need someone etc Breakfast provided consisted of an assortment of cereal packages, a loaf of bread, and assorted Jam/ Vegemite. No fruit juice.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from wildlifewhisperer, Owner at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Responded 12 Nov 2017
Dear Therese Thank you for your comments. Actually, some people do turn off the lights in the pool house on leaving the area, despite notes. We should all ensure that lights are left on until the pool is closed, and I will ensure that this is given more attention. Ironic, but the lawns were cored, fed and watered, 2-3 weeks ago, and the gardener had a fall and found he could not continue. Fortunately , the mowing is booked again this week. I am grateful for good paths. Breakfast includes a loaf of bread, with butter or marg and a variety of spreads, a litre of milk, an assortment of cereals, and tea, coffee, and sugar. Sometimes, we include seasonal fruit or muffins. and over summer, juice. We are always able to meet requests. The communal spa is waiting for the plumber from Adelaide to be able to come with the replacement heater. The other was damaged. Soon to be restored. I just hope that people will contact us with questions, or over any matter actually. I do apologise that we missed some hairs. Ohhhhh we all try to vacuum them all up before mopping the floor, and our apartments are all clean and well equipped. I do hope you enjoyed the lovely spa in your apartment, and also exporing beautiful Kangaroo island. Thanks again Therese
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kingscote area.
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaKangaroo IslandKingscote
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KANGAROO ISLAND ACACIA APARTMENTS: Reviews (Kingscote) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Fine Art Kangaroo Island (0.8 km), Hope Cottage (0.5 km), and Kangaroo Island Gallery (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cactus - Coffee, Food, Bar, Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, and Bella Cafe Restaurant & Pizza Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Reeves Point Historical Site (1.1 km) and Old Wisanger School (4.4 km).
Is Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.