We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments

Save
Share
3-5 Rawson St, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
eDreams
Destinia.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 23/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Updated 23/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Kingscote
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Kingscote? Then look no further than Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of Kingscote to your doorstep.

Rooms at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments provide air conditioning, a kitchenette, and a refrigerator, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

You can also enjoy a pool while staying at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments.

While staying in Kingscote, you can check out a popular seafood restaurant like Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, which is serving up some great dishes.

Should time allow, Fine Art Kangaroo Island is a popular attraction that is within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments as you experience everything Kingscote has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Conference facilities
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
76Reviews0Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 30
  • 8
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Marty R wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Recently took our 3 grandchildren ages (10, 8 & 6) to KI, the accommodation looked excellent, hence we booked for 4 nights. Upon entry, we realised all was not as promised, like stepping back in time, going back to the “mission brown” era. Doilies, tablecloths, quilted bedspreads, you name it. The Indoor pool, no heating as promised, spa empty and not working, roof of pool area badly damaged consequent from some previous storm, were assured it May be fixed before our arrival, sadly not the case. The entire complex in desperate need of essential repairs, paint, general tidying of overgrown garden and rubbish removal. Approx 1hr after our departure we received a phone call from host as to why the white towels were filthy, how was she going to get them clean, red towels had holes in them, what were we going to do about them. We calmly explained to her, our apartment never had red towels, however, she insisted we did. Sadly very disappointed, looked so promising.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Deidre Morrison, Owner at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Responded 30 Nov 2020
I'm glad that you said you'd enjoyed KI, and that the pool was also enjoyed by those really lovely grandchildren. Dear M, I did apologise that the pool roof damage was still unfixed, explaining that we had been unable to have that work done as the tradespeople who were to replace the alsinite sheets were all absorbed with rebuilding the huge amount of houses lost in the bushfire.. The pool was cool, only having solar heating until plumbers could attend.I do apologise that we were unable to achieve the warmth hoped for. This morning, a returning guest said on leaving that they love the apartments and the excellence of cleaning and presentation, and that they would be back. I trust that you too found other attributes helpful, including the special rate given The garden is lovely at the moment, especially the blooming roses, foxgloves and daisies. I'm sorry that there was miscommunication about towels. We've never had red towels. .We did ring to say you had left your ipad behind, so that you would have a chance to return and retrieve it, and I remember asking your family what the dark red staining on several towels was, hoping to be able to treat and remove the stains. Im sorry to hear that you were upset about this and would have liked to be able to explain in person. You will remember that we did not charge for this. We appreciate our guests and try to ensure that expectations are more than met. Kind regards Deidre
Read more
VerityBiscuit wrote a review Aug 2020
Herts38 contributions55 helpful votes
My timing couldn't have been worse really, I arrived on a Friday in Jan and the wildfires really kicked off that night, I only had 2 days on KI and they were a write-off. So it was a surreal and upsetting time to be on KI, I didn't really see anything and some lives were lost while I was there. The apartment was old fashioned but spacious. The kitchen wasn't as well equipped as required and the basics I would have expected weren't provided. It wasn't as secure as I would have liked either. But the host was really lovely and helpful. Although my check in should have been about lunchtime, I arrived a bit early and then a sign get being put up on reception telling me it was delayed, so I think I had to wait about 90 mins or so before I was able to check in, because she was helping other people (who weren't paying guests). Very nice of her but please prioritise me and then help them find alternative accommodation, as I'm the one paying for your service. So KI wasn't a massive success, but if it wasn't for the wildfires this accommodation would've been perfectly adequate for a couple of days.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Deidre Morrison, Owner at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Hi Verity Thank you for your comments.. You have just made a review in August for January? I looked for you but had no check in on the 4th Jan, so you must have been in a group? I am sad that it was such a difficult time, with stranded tourists, homeless residents, and closed sights. Very stressful time for everyone. Please, if you return, always let me know if there is anything you need. The kitchen is well equipped, but we are always adding or upgrading something :) Check in time is 2pm. Had we not been able to finish cleaning for an early checkin? i wouldn't usually keep anyone waiting longer thabn necessary, so I may have been on the phone and I remember it was difficult getting through to Sealik and provisers as quickly as usual, but evem only 5 mins or so. I did purpose-build a federation style ground floor accommodation, with Rosewood linen, which I still love. It probably is old fashioned a bit like me, but a classic. The swimming pool and gardens are often appreciated as well. We are all gradually getting back to normal. Some things are not open again yet, but Seal Bay, Flinders Chase,Parndana Wildlife Park, all the usual beach areas, and most other sites are open and doing well. I'd love to see you again some day. But I bought more Rosewood:) Kind regards Deidre
Read more
Kevin Hull wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Working as a volunteer at the KI Recovery Centre in Parndana for a week, with the emotional load that those attending the centre were carrying, it was good to come back each night to the peace and quite of Acacia Apartments. I have never been in accommodation that was a clean and well supplied as this unit - room 2!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
BB60 wrote a review Oct 2019
Adelaide, Australia4 contributions
We booked a two bedroom apartment and upon entering was pleased with the spaciousness. The down side is it is outdated with the decor. The apartments are advertised as luxury but I would dispute this. It needed maintenance in several areas and although it was comfortable we were disappointed with these obvious issues. The manager was very friendly and went out of her way to supply us with ample breakfast provisions. We probably wouldn’t return unless we knew the apartments were updated and an improvement in their maintenance of them.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
DisabledClient wrote a review Dec 2018
Melbourne, Australia265 contributions91 helpful votes
Stayed 9 nights in the Wheelchar Accessible Apartment. Deidre fantastic and caring host. Bathroom well set up. Large wheelchair apartment. Large carpet square placed by bed so that I could safely get up and get my brace/AFO on. Usually, the apartment is tiled through out. Possible to move van to concrete area for wheelchair loading and unloading. Breakfast provisions were great. Very quiet. OTR Service Station and Wayne at Nepean Motors very helpful. Thanks, Deidre. Hope to stay again. Thoroughly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 122 - USD 149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaKangaroo IslandKingscote
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Fine Art Kangaroo Island (0.8 km), Hope Cottage (0.5 km), and Kangaroo Island Gallery (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cactus - Coffee, Food, Bar, Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, and Bella Cafe Restaurant & Pizza Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Reeves Point Historical Site (1.1 km) and Old Wisanger School (4.4 km).
Is Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.