We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 285: English reviews
Start your review of Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived at 8pm but knew reception would be closed, so found details of our room and key easily. We stayed in the big king size room which was spacious and comfortable. Rooms basic, bathroom huge and basic, but almost new and very clean. Somewhat disappointed to be told on arrival (and not informed beforehand) there would be no room servicing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cc1047
Motel_Manager_2015, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and I'm glad you found the rooms spacious and comfortable. You booked a Superior room which have all recently had the bathrooms renovated. Our restaurant is only open for breakfasts and we do not open for dinners in the evenings. I apologise about the misunderstanding with the room servicing as we don't normally service rooms...

Warrington, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed here for 3 days whilst travelling around Oz, all I can say is that this little place is a Gem. None of the flash and brash here, its a really genuine place, fantastic food and good views, We had a room on the front so we were lucky to have great views of the sea. Well worth staying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon W
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Motel_Manager_2015, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Jon, It's great to hear the feedback from our valuable customers. We pride ourselves on being a small family run business that offers great country service. All our rooms have the same ocean views and it is one of our great selling points. Hope to see you on Kangaroo Island again in the not too distant future. Regards,...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight at this motel overlooking the Gulf, lovely sea views. As a single traveller I had a large room/Q bed. Probably the most comfortable bed of my entire trip. Alex at reception had made a reservation at a local hotel for dinner for the few guests who had arrived that evening. They don't do dinners. He made a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaret j
Motel_Manager_2015, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Margaret, Thank you for taking the time to give us this great review. We are always happy to offer a lift into town for people who do not have a car. The town centre is only 1km (10min walk) away and as you said most people take the scenic walk into town but we are always happy to help...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented four rooms at the Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn in Kingscote during a family trip. My partner and I had a king room for the two of us (#19) and the room was very spacious and the bathroom newly renovated. The gentleman at reception was very helpful with providing advice on where to go in the town and check...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank OzCindy
Motel_Manager_2015, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback Cindy, Room 19 is one of our Superior Quad Rooms and all the Superior rooms have newly renovated bathrooms. I'm glad I was able to help you with advice and help make your stay an enjoyably one. Regards, Alex

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights at this very nice motel, with a large end room with a view of the St Vincent Gulf. Only two issues -- 1. the hotel is no longer serving evening meals for guests (unless they are on a group bus tour) and 2. the hotel is just a little too far to walk into the centre...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Curt203
Motel_Manager_2015, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Curt, Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are only a small family run business so we do not operate a restaurant here for evening meals but the town centre is only 1km away (10 min walk or 1 min drive) and has a few dining options to choose from. Again Kingscote is only a small country town...

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable large rooms with a lovely view of the bay. Everything worked like it should. Good free WiFi. Nice and cheap breakfast in the restaurant. Friendly staff willing to help with tourist inquiries

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertKaren
Motel_Manager_2015, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Robert, Thank you for taking the time to give us this great review. We are a small family run business and its always pleasing to us and our staff when our guests enjoy their stay with us on Kangaroo Island. Hopefully we get the chance to see you again in the not too distant future. Regards, Alex

Hollsopple, PA USA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service at this little sea side gem is outstanding. Never have I stayed at an inn where I felt so cared for and looked after. The breakfast was wonderful, the room comfortable with a gorgeous view and the owners and other employees (Alex) are accommodating and generous. Love this place!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dunabbey
Motel_Manager_2015, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for this amazing review. We work really hard to make sure our guests enjoy their time on Kangaroo Island, so it's rewarding to hear that I along with my staff were able to help you have a great holiday. Hopefully you get the chance to visit again in the future. Regards, Alex

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We found the restaurant in the motel to be the best eating place in Kangaroo Island. Definitely the best value fore money we found. The staff were attentive and polite. The manager/owner was full of knowledge and gave sensational advise. I was advised to have the prawn laska and wouldn't believe it was the best I have ever tasted (and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
Motel_Manager_2015, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback Graeme! We always appreciate it when people take the time to let us know when we do something well. I hope you enjoyed your time on the island and hopefully we get to see you again when next you visit. Regards, Alex

SYDNEY
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

KISI is very good value. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are quite basic but extremely well kept, for example, clean towels were provided without request. Recommended without reservation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifersZ9436AI
Motel_Manager_2015, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, Thanks for the great feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we were able to help you enjoy your time on Kangaroo Island. Regards, Alex

Southampton
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Was booked here by Travel Company for overnight stop with continental breakfast. Met by Alex who warmly greeted us and as they only do evening meals on Friday and Saturday, this being Thursday, offered to transport us to another establishment with restaurant. All we had to do was get the receptionist there to call and arrange our return. We all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank timbohere
Motel_Manager_2015, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us this great review. It sounds like you had a great trip and enjoyed your stay with us which is very pleasing. Hopefully you get the chance to visit us again in the not too distant future. Regards, Alex

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
1.0 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
786 reviews
82.9 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
28.5 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
407 reviews
0.7 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
48.6 km away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Seaside Inn is a family run business with 20 ocean view rooms. It has a great reputation for exceptional service and value. Located 1km from the main town of Kingscote it offers a great location for your Kangaroo Island holiday. Here you will get a true 'Kangaroo Island' experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn

Address: 7 Cygnet Rd, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Price Range: $132 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingscote
Kingscote Comfort Inn
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn Kingscote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms quiet with sea facing windows and small balconies with chairs”
margaretj65, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“New bathroom in room 19”
OzCindy, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room number 20 which was upstairs, very spacious and had a great view of the water.”
Curt203, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms on the first floor that you access via a ramp. Easy to use if you have mobility problems.”
I6838QDchrisf, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room on first floor, nice view of the sea”
JuneHerts, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5