We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Clare Valley Motel

74a Main North Rd, Clare, South Australia 5453 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (175)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (35)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 motel in Clare
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
So much more than just a motel. King rooms with full size 2 person spa, Queen, Twin & Family rooms. Cosy restaurant with open log fire during winter. Breezes Poolside dining for those balmy summer evenings. Sparkling Saltwater Pool, surrounded by sand and Guest Barbecue and Bali hut. Private scenic walking trail, set on 16 peaceful acres. Guest Lounge and Wine, Champagne & Cocktail Lounge. Close to the Riesling Trail, 15 minutes from historic Mintaro & the fascinating Martindale Hall. Just a 1 ½ hour drive to Adelaide or the Flinders Ranges.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
626Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 358
  • 208
  • 40
  • 13
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Peter C wrote a review Oct 2023
6 contributions5 helpful votes
Having had many pleasant stays at the motel over the years, we were disappointed and saddened to see how the present ownership/management has run the place down. Expecting to have a pleasant afternoon by the pool there were no umbrellas or any shade at all, the pool was unfiltered, the cushion all torn and all the chairs needed replacing. The grass above the pool was a snake haven and the litter outside our room has not been swept for ages if at all. Forget the fact that we were woken by someone pounding on our door asking us to move our car so they could empty an industrial bin, and our room was meteres away from worken on the roof that all pales into insignifiance compared to the rude and hostile reception my wife received when she dared to complain. She was told "We don't need guests like you." Clare does not need people like thin in the hospitality industry. I notice they are still advertising award the won in 2017. None since! Don't waste you monet booking this place there are many cheaper places and better places to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Totally run down with extremely rude staff
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Supreet Brar, General Manager at Clare Valley Motel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you and your wife encountered during your recent stay. We want to assure you that we take your feedback very seriously and are actively working to address the issues you have raised. Our ongoing renovations, including the replacement of the roof, doors, and windows, are part of our commitment to improving the overall quality of our accommodations. However, we understand that these efforts may have caused inconvenience during your stay, and for that, we apologize. Regarding the condition of the pool area and the cleanliness of the grounds, we are taking immediate steps to rectify these issues and ensure that our facilities meet the highest standards of cleanliness and comfort. We appreciate your patience and understanding as we work to make necessary improvements. We are also deeply concerned about the interaction your wife had with our staff. Please know that we do not condone any form of rudeness or hostility towards our guests, and we will be addressing this matter internally to ensure it does not happen again. While we understand your frustration, we kindly ask for mutual respect and understanding during these challenging times of renovation. We are committed to providing exceptional hospitality to all our guests, and we hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our property in the future. Alongside the recent exterior improvements, which include a new roof, windows, curtains, and doors, we are committed to ensuring that our guests enjoy a refreshed and comfortable experience during their stay. The upcoming interior renovations will focus on further enhancing the aesthetics and functionality of our rooms, ensuring they meet the highest standards of comfort and satisfaction. We are confident that these enhancements will elevate your future stays with us and provide you with an even more enjoyable experience. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, and we apologize once again for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mairi wrote a review May 2023
Perth, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed here for a family gathering a week ago. The rooms were clean but a little outdated. Has everything you need, fridge and microwave etc.. I saw a few black dots on the white sheets but put that down to more bugs in the country and wiped them off my bed. However on the second morning I realised those little bugs had been having a feast overnight… and I was the main course. I flew home to Perth that afternoon and straight to the GP for medication for over 70 bed bug bites. The motel manager refused to accept any responsibility but I think they did at least clean out that room. Hopefully the next guests don’t have the same issue and it was a one off. The health authorities assured me they did an inspection so all good. I won’t post the pics of the bugs I videod or my bites as it would put everyone off their dinner. Safe travels.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great for a one night stay. Check for bed bugs, although most people were ok after our trip.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
4x4wheelers wrote a review Mar 2023
Peterborough, Australia1512 contributions130 helpful votes
+1
Great motel to stay in. Back 50 years ago we stayed here and revisited again for a celebration. We were welcomed by Sapi and Japi (The owners) who we already knew. The room was excellent in very clean, size, location. The breakfast was enough for the two of us for 2 days. Recommend this motel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
steve wrote a review Dec 2022
Keighley, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
I’ve always said if it’s not as good as being at home you are better being at home .We are in a cottage in a hole no food as specified 30 steps up to rhe pool.Paid top price through Booking .com where I am Genius3 and discussed with them.Cmon oz we are sorry about the World Cup but step up to the plate
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you specify what room you’ve paid for
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ricks12016 wrote a review Oct 2022
Melbourne, Australia238 contributions118 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night on our way to Port Augusta. The place is very dated 20 year old A/C not worth the money we paid. The wifi in and out noisy air conditionig an absolutr dud. This place needs a total revamp disgraceful they took our money. Give it a big miss.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Travel_addict13_10 wrote a review Sept 2022
Australia652 contributions436 helpful votes
Reasonable value for money. Do not expect luxury. The furnishings were basic but serviceable. The section we stayed in was an older besser brick building with little architectural appeal. However, it was reasonably spacious with a large bathroom and small kitchenette. The shower was good and there were a couple of good sized mirrors. It seemed clean although on checking beneath the beds on leaving to check for belongings, it was clear that it had not been cleaned properly. The book advertises electric blankets so on the second night we searched and found them well hidden under the mattress. They worked. The very old heater also worked very well. The motel could do with updating but it has some strong features. We were pleased to have a guest laundry and for $5 you can wash and $5, dry. Very welcome on our travels.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brian B wrote a review Sept 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
We have stayed here before and it was always very nice. Unfortunately standards have slipped considerably since our last stay. The restaurant has been closed which being some distance out of town is inconvenient. The room was not particularly clean. We will stay somewhere else next time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Beebril wrote a review July 2022
8 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed in the 3 bedroom ‘apartment’ which was a dilapidated house. Carpet hadn’t been cleaned since it was laid decades ago, walls were flaking and badly scuffed, and apart from the beds, the furniture and wall hangings looked like they all came from thrift shops. Can’t believe the owners charge money for people to stay there. We wanted to cancel our second night as we simply didn’t want to be there but of course there was no refund. Would not recommend staying there!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bruce010 wrote a review July 2022
Canberra101 contributions108 helpful votes
Stayed one night midweek. Set on a hillside, overlooking the valley, it is 5 mins drive into the centre of Clare. Spacious, quiet, clean, comfortable. Very well equipped, but bathroom needs renovating. On-site parking at door, outdoor pool, guest laundry. Good free wi-fi, flat screen TV. Friendly and helpful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sidhu s wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Views are awesome with pool, great service, clean and tidy and perfect for family time in Clare valley. Spacious outdoor areas, bbq, Alpacas to get kids attention affordable rooms for all types of families and groups.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Clare area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$157 - AU$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
clare valley hotel clare
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaClare
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLARE VALLEY MOTEL (AU$157): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Clare Valley Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Clare Valley Motel?
Nearby attractions include Riesling Trail (0.4 km), Clare Valley Wine, Food & Tourism Centre (2.1 km), and Clare Valley (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clare Valley Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Clare Valley Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Clare Valley Motel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Clare Valley Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clare Valley Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paulett Wines & Bush DeVine Restaurant, Indii of Clare, and Mr. Mick.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clare Valley Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clare Valley Motel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Clare Valley Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Martindale Hall Historic Museum (14.5 km) and Bungaree Station (12.6 km).
Is Clare Valley Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.