We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rumba Beach Resort

Bulcock Beach Esplanade Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551 Australia
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (414)
Panoramas (29)
Room & Suite (303)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#2 of 16 hotels in Caloundra
Travellers' Choice
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 and 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites and home theatre systems, all as standard. Rumba's pool bar known as 26degrees is a relaxing and enjoyable place to unwind. Drinks are served on Rumba's pool deck by friendly and professional wait staff.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Golf course
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Private balcony
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, German, Greek
758Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 483
  • 195
  • 56
  • 11
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Benjamin H wrote a review Yesterday
Karon Beach, Thailand15 contributions6 helpful votes
Here is what is wrong with Australian hospitality. This is the conversation I had at check out: ‘How was your stay with us? Did you have a good time?’ ‘Yes but there were several things that went wrong with the services.’ ‘Oh that’s no good. Hope to see you again!’ So if the reception don’t want to know what it is like to stay there, I will tell you here. Overall we had a good holiday. The family loved it. The pools were excellent. The location is perfect. The beaches were lovely. It is still a good place to stay but it’s not five stars. Here are a few things that went wrong: On arrival there were no parks seen so I parked in the loading zone out the front to check in and unload. I was then abused by the hotel linen recovery guy in front of my daughter for parking there. I was so taken aback and shaking. I told reception
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
john c wrote a review 6 Sep
Murrumba Downs, Australia136 contributions59 helpful votes
We stayed in room 316 unfortunately no sunshine on the balcony, we found it to be a very cold unit a definite lack of power points in the kitchen and the furniture needs to be upgraded, when you sit on the couch all it does is squeak. The complex itself is quite nice and the staff are excellent, I would stay there again but not in 316
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Craig Schiller, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear johnc715, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the resort. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding apartment 316, and are very pleased you enjoyed the resort facilities and service.We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Read more
Aimee L wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Worst experience and disappointing and aggressive response from management. Do not stay if you want a stress free holiday. We arrived at 5:45pm for late check in due to lockdown ending (which the property was aware of and had forwarded instructions). No answer on either of the phone numbers provided - for 2 hours! 60 phone calls were made to the numbers in this time with no response. Finally able to check in after sending a Facebook message and another staff member coming from home to check us in. We were polite to the staff member as she had gone out of her way to help us, however this was later used against us. We were given a (cheap) bottle of wine on arrival, had no contact from management the next day with an apology or explanation. On checkout we said we weren’t happy, and the stress and uncertainty we experienced was unacceptable. Was advised the general manager would contact us. This didn’t happen until a complaint was lodged with booking.com, and then we were unable to get hold of him to return the call as he consistently had ‘just stepped out for the day’. The phone call we finally had was disappointing to say the least. Absolutely disgusted with how we were treated. The general manager was incredibly aggressive, cut me off and talked over the top of me. At no point was I able to discuss the issue without being attacked, and apparently because we were nice ‘there wasn’t an issue’. 2 hours is a perfectly acceptable amount of time to wait to check into the accommodation according to the manager, and the request for a refund of the first night was literally laughed at. Appalling behavior for a ‘5 star’ resort.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Craig Schiller, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Aimee, Thank you for your review and we greatly appreciate your feedback. As discussed, our night manager had accidentally left his phone at reception which normally he has on him 24/7. After calling yourself when you provided your number via Facebook messenger, you were enjoying dinner and were about to begin dessert. We sincerely apologized and explained a staff member will be at the resort in 10-15mins to check you in. You said, not a problem and no hurry as we're about to enjoy dessert. From the staff members feedback, your check-in experience was fine and your relaxed nature gave us the opinion you had enjoyed dinner and the inconvenience was minor. A bottle of wine was provided for the inconvenience. We only discovered you weren't happy with your experience on check-out, and the General Manager followed up with a phone call to discuss in detail as he wasn't aware that you weren't happy with your experience until check-out. Thank you again for your review Aimee.
Read more
Alison P wrote a review May 2021
Perth, Australia51 contributions58 helpful votes
Had to visit friends living in Caloundra so chose this place for its location on the esplanade. We booked a one bedroom apartment and were delighted with the accommodation. Check in was easy with very friendly staff. The apartment had everything you need including laundry facilities. The view was great, overlooking the pool area out to the sea. Plenty of restaurants close by too. We received a text inviting us to happy hour so we did. Again friendly staff made it extra enjoyable. We had a car and parking is secure and no extra charge. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Craig Schiller, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort
Responded 31 May 2021
Dear Alison, Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst visiting friends and glad you enjoyed your experience.
Read more
Julianne B wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 105. Apparently it is an ocean view room that you pay a premium for. The unit itself was clean and nicely furnished but there are some major privacy issues. The pool area looks straight in the main bedroom, balcony and living area so you can’t really open all the curtains unless you want everyone at the pool looking at you in your room. The room is also only a few metres from the bar. The happy hour and live band was so loud with a lot of drunk people partying that for 3 hrs it felt like the party was in our unit. We couldn’t hear the TV over the noise. The management just fobbed me off when I asked for a room change and there was no one at reception after 7pm to discuss the noise issue with. Very poor management. The unit itself should be a heavily discounted one due to the issues not classed and charged as a premium ocean view unit. We are very disappointed and will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Craig Schiller, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort
Responded 10 May 2021
Dear 617julianneb, Thank you for your review of your weekend stay in Room 105. This room does offer beautiful views across Bulcock Beach and Pumicestone Passage. From the very end of the lap pool, guests swimming can look across to the balcony, which also provides extended views from this balcony out across the ocean. The live music on the weekend is only from 4.30-6.30pm and being acoustic the majority of guests enjoy the level of volume the artists play. Over the weekend, unfortunately we were fully booked and it wasn't possible to change your room.
Read more
USD 149 - USD 234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
rumba beach hotel caloundra
AustraliaQueenslandSunshine CoastCaloundra
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rumba Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Rumba Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Bulcock Beach (0.2 km), Escape Room Oz (0.3 km), and Red Hot Chilli Pepper (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rumba Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Rumba Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Rumba Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Rumba Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rumba Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Three Restaurant Bar and Grill, Amici Restaurant Pizzeria, and Tides Waterfront Dining.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rumba Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Rumba Beach Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Caloundra.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rumba Beach Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Rumba Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rumba Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Chinese, and Greek.