Sandpiper Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sandpiper Motel

78 Princes Hwy, Ulladulla, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539 Australia
Traveller (28)
All suites are located on ground floor with parking outside your door. NO lugging bags up steps. Happy,happy.
Room & Suite (13)
Harbour View on a stroll to Native Cafe
View from Room (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 5 motels in Ulladulla
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Sandpiper Motel is a family run motel in the heart of Ulladulla. With recently renovated rooms, we live up to our reputation of providing Clean, Affordable Comfort. There is free WIFI, games , books & DVDs available at reception. We have created a lovely grassed area suitable for playing (bean bag toss game), relaxing at the picnic tables, cooking up a storm at the free BBQ or toasting marshmallows at the fire pit. Sandpiper Motel is considered the accommodation Hub for those wishing to explore the region. Whale/Dolphin cruises in nearby Jervis Bay, bike riding, hiking ( check out Pigeon House Mountain) shopping in the boutique townships of Milton to the North or Mogo to the South. Health therapies such as yoga by the beach and Paddle boarding / surfing at the numerous beaches. There is something for everyone. There are numerous award winning restaurants and wineries nearby. A short walk will have you fishing off the northern breakwall of the Ulladulla Harbour. See you soon :-)
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, Filipino

Location

78 Princes Hwy, Ulladulla, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
Moruya Airport
68.1 km
See all flights
Sydney Airport
169.4 km
See all flights
85Reviews1Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 40
  • 9
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cate wrote a review Feb 2024
Auckland, New Zealand116 contributions27 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Forget all the old out-of-date reviews about the Sandpiper Motel needing a reno . . . it’s had one, and it is fantastic.
The rooms are immaculately clean, well furnished, and fitted with all the extras you need in a country motel. Several huge fluffy bath towels. The bed linen is crisp and smells “just washed”. No “dip” in the mattress which was heavenly to sleep on. The bathroom is great with new tiles, and modern fittings.
Located on the Princess Hwy, we were worried about vehicle noise, but the only noise was from a passing ambulance with its siren blaring – otherwise we enjoyed a full night’s sleep.
The on-site owner / manager could not have been more helpful, with excellent advice on nearby beaches and the best options to eat in town.
This a good place for just on overnight stop if you are travelling, or a longer stay if you want to explore Ulladulla a bit deeper.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cathy Taylor, General Manager at Sandpiper Motel
Responded 18 Mar 2024
HI kitiCate3597, Thankyou so very much for our excellent rating and for your fabulous review. I do need to let people know that the exterior is still a work in progress but definitely the interior of our rooms are exactly as you have described. We wish you a wonderful trip in Aus. Kind regards Cathy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Poniesnpuppies wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia210 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's taken me a while to remember to come back here and give this motel the great review it deserves. I booked a last minute room due to the encroaching Currowan bushfires on the NSW South Coast which happened over Dec 2019, Jan 2020 and beyond. Our one night stay turned into a stay of several days unexpectedly due to the bushfire emergency. We cannot thank Cathy and partner enough for their hospitality during this surreal and frightening period of our lives, we know they accommodated a number of other bushfire evacuees during this period and did everything they could to accommodate us and our needs and situation. Very friendly, going out of the way to help us, advise as to what they hard heard themselves and advised us as to any incoming trends they had heard about the movement of the fires, and even giving me advice on where to go and where not to go for safety when I went out exploring the area. Many thanks for the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rodney L wrote a review Oct 2020
Sydney, Australia283 contributions105 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For value, this is a good choice,
Yes it’s not right in town but very walkable and parking in Ulladulla is plentiful.
The lovely harbour is closer.
Simply furnished with a microwave and fridge, the room was starting to show its age with some peeling paint, loose tap handle and carpet threadbare in spots.
The shower was good, towels newish and fluffy and linen good.
Seemed to be very clean too, but there is some road noise from the highway. Easily bearable though.
Friendly greeting at reception too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amayzingone wrote a review Mar 2021
Randwick, Australia219 contributions82 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Only a few good things about this place. If you call reception, the manager will give you the best price and the location is fairly good. The rooms too are adequately though not generously sized and the beds are quite comfortable.
HOWEVER...the manager makes no effort and no apology nor takes any responsibility for noisy guests staying there. Yes, over half the motel guests could not sleep the night we stayed there because a big group of Lebanese fishermen arrived late at night in big noisy 4WD vehicles with bright headlights shining into all the motel rooms. They all decided to have a classic Lebanese BBQ party commencing at 10pm right outside the rooms with smoke going everywhere and with the blessing of the manager would you believe. Yes this manager will do anything for that extra dollar. Never mind the peace and comfort of other guests. This noisy BBQ party lasted till 12.30 at night and would have been longer had I not kept complaining to them. The BBQ party included Lebanese friends staying at other motels. To top things off some of these Lebanese men were up again at 6am having a loud chat outside their rooms. When I approached the manager in the morning to complain and ask for a refund or even a partial credit she refused saying it wasn't her fault, even though she admitted that she had endorsed the BBQ party. Not even an apology was offered. We also had to go looking for bowls and spoons so we could have our breakfast. This is definitely NOT the type of manager you want running the motel in which you are staying. Never staying there again at any price and neither should you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Just dont stay here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cathy Taylor, General Manager at Sandpiper Motel
Responded 3 Apr 2021
Dear Amayzingone, Thankyou for taking time to share your experience at Sandpiper Motel. It was indeed most unfortunate that you chose to only speak to the other guests direct, not calling in the manager to help resolve the issue you had. Buy waiting until next day we were not given the opportunity to make your stay more pleasant. We ask anyone reading this story to please always ask the management to assit you immediately if things are not to your pleasing. We are a budget motel that offers clean affordable comfort and as noted by you we lived up to that expectation so feel we don't deserve your tag line or low rating. Please also note that due to covid-19 and the extensive cleaning protocols required we no longer keep crockery and cutlery in the rooms. They are available at reception at no extra charge - you just have to ask for them. During a difficult personal time in our lives which has kept me away from my business to care for a family member I would like to express that our Manager has done a tremendous job in all aspects of running this Motel. She ( like any person) is not a mind reader. I would also like to note that in your review your tone appears to be somewhat racist. Please note that Sandpiper Motel is accepting of all cultures and believes we can live harmoniously together with understanding. Whilst we won't see you back here there are many others who will appreciate our sentiments. We wish you well in your future travels. Kind regards Cathy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
taninoz369 wrote a review Apr 2021
Port Stephens, Australia23 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Please look elsewhere for a property in Ulladulla, there are quite a few nice little motels; so be sure to book ahead, this is such a petty town.

But don’t stay here; our experience was that the property is in urgent need of repairs and really noisy, only managed about four hours sleep; plus they allow smoking outside of the rooms; even encourage it with ashtrays on each table setting. Terrible if you suffer from sinus or asthma, as in our case. Negatives we experienced:

Rundown and noisy and damaged
Torn curtains
Ripped blankets
Old dirty feeling carpet
Bedside light flickered on and off; despite being plugged in and turned off (plus only one bedside light available instead of two)
Room very dark, not enough lighting
Fridge didn’t close properly, didn’t keep anything cold
Cracked Power point in bathroom
Broken tiles in bathroom

Very noisy,no double glazed windows. Property is right on highway, and couldn’t sleep due to noise of trucks braking outside
Slight breeze at night; something was loose on the side of the building or roof and was flapping in the wind most of the night

This property needs repairs/ renovating ASAP, especially where tiles are broken in the bathroom. Could be quite dangerous ; potential cuts
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cathy Taylor, General Manager at Sandpiper Motel
Responded 3 Apr 2021
HI taninoz369, thankyou for taking the time to write a review. Firstly we are a budget motel offering clean affordable comfort. The emphasis being on clean which is most important in these covi-19 times. In winter 2019 we were going to renovate all our bathrooms but we got a huge contract of several months with workers and it delayed our works. Then the fires hit in NOV/DEC/JAN depleting the budget, ascerbated with the then onslaught of covid-19, movement restrictions and a downturn in travelling. We are now seeing a light at the end of the tunnel and are able to announce that in June this year we will commence the renovation works of our bathrooms / rooms which should be completed by end August. It is a huge undertaking but I'm sure it will renew confidence in people choosing to stay here. I would like to note that there is a card in each room for feedback which was not done in your case and I would like to highlight that you mention a problem with the electricity ?? If thats true then it would have been most prudent to inform someone immediatly (or at least write it on the card) to ensure no harm to the next guest. From your picture I can see what room you were in. (yes worst bathroom in the place - sorry) so we have checked all other aspects of your concerns and rectified powerpoint/lighting, re shampooed the carpet and replaced the blanket. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. One thing we can't change is your allergies or the rights of someone choosing to smoke. We provide ashtrays to stop people throwing butts on the ground - not to encourage smoking. We also encourage people to move to grass area to smoke & take ashtray with them. Kind regards Cathy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CJMurph wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked our stay from the 30th of December to the 4th of January 2020. All hell broke loose as we all know on New Years Eve, and a large chunk of the South Coast lost power, communications for a few days and beyond due to the bushfires. During our stay Cathy and the wonderful staff couldn't do more to make our stay as comfortable as possible with what they could muster for the guests staying there. We left early due to worsening conditions on the advice by the the RFS sadly, but my two children and I enjoyed our stay nonetheless, and have no hesitation in recommending a stay at the Sandpiper for anyone visiting beautiful Ulladulla/Mollymook. Thank you again Cathy for your hospitality and friendly approach.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scooter87 wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely stay. Our room and the bathroom were lovely and clean. Nice touches like a small coffee machine. Friendly owner. Air conditioning and ceiling fan kept the room comfortable on a hot day/night. Good value and will return on our next visit to Mollymook and Ulladulla.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cathy Taylor, General Manager at Sandpiper Motel
Responded 18 Mar 2024
HI Cruiser01157143266, Thankyou for taking the time to review Sandpiper Motel and for giving us superb rating. We look forward to being of service again when you are next in the area. Kind regards Cathy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sightseer26293398383 wrote a review May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great room with all the necessities at a high standard. The bed was particularly comfortable and the toilet very clean.

Cathy was very helpful and recommended us with a variety of options in all our queries.

Would 100% recommend to anyone wanting to stay around the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diane G wrote a review Apr 2023
Macquarie Fields, Australia276 contributions65 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't let the exterior of this place make you wonder.
Fully renovated room including brand new bathroom and freshly painted. Beautiful decor.
Great location walking distance to main street cafes etc
Kim was very helpful and welcoming.
Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Main road noise may disturb you but not all night. Walking distance to cafes and restaurants
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cathy Taylor, General Manager at Sandpiper Motel
Responded 18 Mar 2024
Thankyou Dianeg677 for your kind words and for taking the time to provide a review. Whilst I'm still at odds about the exterior finish I am hoping to tackle this year, its lovely to know there are still people who don't judge a book by its cover. With Clean, Affordable, Comfort as our mantra we have completed the interior renovations and also added some finer touches like tub chairs and coffee machines to our suites. I hope we see you again when next travelling our way. Kind regards Cathy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
casmurnieks wrote a review Aug 2020
Chatswood, Australia247 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Yes it’s an older motel for perfect for a night or two whilst down on the south coast. Close to town and shopping centres etc. Bed is comfortable and shower had good flow. Pool on site and plenty of parking.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim-Eve asked a question Dec 2014
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Pet friendly?
Hashim B wrote a tip June 2023
107 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Generally if travelling to places outside sydney or smaller towns they close earlier. May be smart to call ahead. "
Read full review
Diane G wrote a tip Apr 2023
Macquarie Fields, Australia276 contributions65 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Main road noise may disturb you but not all night. Walking distance to cafes and restaurants "
Read full review
Amayzingone wrote a tip Mar 2021
Randwick, Australia219 contributions82 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just dont stay here"
Read full review
Judy C wrote a tip Aug 2018
Vermont South, Australia131 contributions65 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All ground floor units, so I don’t think it would make any difference"
Read full review
Robynjonesv wrote a tip Mar 2015
Lakes Entrance, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ground floor"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ulladulla area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$151 - AU$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesShoalhavenUlladulla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANDPIPER MOTEL (AU$151): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Ulladulla) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandpiper Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Sandpiper Motel?
Nearby attractions include Gondwana Coast Fossil Walk (1.0 km), The Bogey Hole (0.8 km), and Funland Ulladulla (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandpiper Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Sandpiper Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sandpiper Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandpiper Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandpiper Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Treehouse Cafe, Carlo's Italian Ristorante Bar & Seafood, and Native..
Is Sandpiper Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Ulladulla.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sandpiper Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Dutch, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandpiper Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mitchell's Mill Steam Engine (0.5 km).
Is Sandpiper Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Ulladulla HotelsUlladulla Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UlladullaHotels near Sandpiper Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars