We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandpiper Motel

Save
Share
78 Princes Hwy, Ulladulla, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539 Australia
eDreams
Official Site
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (13)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 5 hotels in Ulladulla
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sandpiper Motel is a family run motel in the heart of Ulladulla. During the Covid-19 shutdowns in NSW we used our time wisely to completely renovate all bathrooms, upgrade the suite decor , make improvements to our facilities and best of all, ALL suites now have new beds, new blankets, new pillows and new bedspreads. Any reviews prior to NOV 2021 should be now disregarded as they are obsolete. We still provide free WIFI, games , books & DVDs available at reception. We took out the pool but have created a lovely grassed area suitable for playing (bean bag toss game), relaxing at the picnic tables, cooking up a storm at the free BBQ or toasting marshmallows at the fire pit. Any guests wishing to travel to the Whale/Dolphin cruises in nearby Jervis Bay get a 20% discount just for staying here. Ulladulla is a haven for beach activities as well as bike riding (we have e-bike hire on site), hiking ( check out Pigeon House Mountain) shopping in the boutique townships of Milton to the North or Mogo to the South. Health therapies such as yoga by the beach and a new Floating Tank facility nearby (Shoalhaven Float) will surely get you feeling very relaxed & revived. Add to that the numerous award winning restaurants and wineries nearby and you will realise that Sandpiper Motel is the perfect Hub for your next adventure. We pride ourselves on offering Clean, Affordable Comfort and look forward to welcoming you to Ulladulla
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast in the room
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, Filipino
80Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 39
  • 9
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
taninoz369 wrote a review Apr 2021
Port Stephens, Australia23 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Please look elsewhere for a property in Ulladulla, there are quite a few nice little motels; so be sure to book ahead, this is such a petty town. But don’t stay here; our experience was that the property is in urgent need of repairs and really noisy, only managed about four hours sleep; plus they allow smoking outside of the rooms; even encourage it with ashtrays on each table setting. Terrible if you suffer from sinus or asthma, as in our case. Negatives we experienced: Rundown and noisy and damaged Torn curtains Ripped blankets Old dirty feeling carpet Bedside light flickered on and off; despite being plugged in and turned off (plus only one bedside light available instead of two) Room very dark, not enough lighting Fridge didn’t close properly, didn’t keep anything cold Cracked Power point in bathroom Broken tiles in bathroom Very noisy,no double glazed windows. Property is right on highway, and couldn’t sleep due to noise of trucks braking outside Slight breeze at night; something was loose on the side of the building or roof and was flapping in the wind most of the night This property needs repairs/ renovating ASAP, especially where tiles are broken in the bathroom. Could be quite dangerous ; potential cuts
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Cathy Taylor, General Manager at Sandpiper Motel
Responded 3 Apr 2021
HI taninoz369, thankyou for taking the time to write a review. Firstly we are a budget motel offering clean affordable comfort. The emphasis being on clean which is most important in these covi-19 times. In winter 2019 we were going to renovate all our bathrooms but we got a huge contract of several months with workers and it delayed our works. Then the fires hit in NOV/DEC/JAN depleting the budget, ascerbated with the then onslaught of covid-19, movement restrictions and a downturn in travelling. We are now seeing a light at the end of the tunnel and are able to announce that in June this year we will commence the renovation works of our bathrooms / rooms which should be completed by end August. It is a huge undertaking but I'm sure it will renew confidence in people choosing to stay here. I would like to note that there is a card in each room for feedback which was not done in your case and I would like to highlight that you mention a problem with the electricity ?? If thats true then it would have been most prudent to inform someone immediatly (or at least write it on the card) to ensure no harm to the next guest. From your picture I can see what room you were in. (yes worst bathroom in the place - sorry) so we have checked all other aspects of your concerns and rectified powerpoint/lighting, re shampooed the carpet and replaced the blanket. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. One thing we can't change is your allergies or the rights of someone choosing to smoke. We provide ashtrays to stop people throwing butts on the ground - not to encourage smoking. We also encourage people to move to grass area to smoke & take ashtray with them. Kind regards Cathy
Read more
Amayzingone wrote a review Mar 2021
Randwick, Australia221 contributions82 helpful votes
Only a few good things about this place. If you call reception, the manager will give you the best price and the location is fairly good. The rooms too are adequately though not generously sized and the beds are quite comfortable. HOWEVER...the manager makes no effort and no apology nor takes any responsibility for noisy guests staying there. Yes, over half the motel guests could not sleep the night we stayed there because a big group of Lebanese fishermen arrived late at night in big noisy 4WD vehicles with bright headlights shining into all the motel rooms. They all decided to have a classic Lebanese BBQ party commencing at 10pm right outside the rooms with smoke going everywhere and with the blessing of the manager would you believe. Yes this manager will do anything for that extra dollar. Never mind the peace and comfort of other guests. This noisy BBQ party lasted till 12.30 at night and would have been longer had I not kept complaining to them. The BBQ party included Lebanese friends staying at other motels. To top things off some of these Lebanese men were up again at 6am having a loud chat outside their rooms. When I approached the manager in the morning to complain and ask for a refund or even a partial credit she refused saying it wasn't her fault, even though she admitted that she had endorsed the BBQ party. Not even an apology was offered. We also had to go looking for bowls and spoons so we could have our breakfast. This is definitely NOT the type of manager you want running the motel in which you are staying. Never staying there again at any price and neither should you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Just dont stay here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Cathy Taylor, General Manager at Sandpiper Motel
Responded 3 Apr 2021
Dear Amayzingone, Thankyou for taking time to share your experience at Sandpiper Motel. It was indeed most unfortunate that you chose to only speak to the other guests direct, not calling in the manager to help resolve the issue you had. Buy waiting until next day we were not given the opportunity to make your stay more pleasant. We ask anyone reading this story to please always ask the management to assit you immediately if things are not to your pleasing. We are a budget motel that offers clean affordable comfort and as noted by you we lived up to that expectation so feel we don't deserve your tag line or low rating. Please also note that due to covid-19 and the extensive cleaning protocols required we no longer keep crockery and cutlery in the rooms. They are available at reception at no extra charge - you just have to ask for them. During a difficult personal time in our lives which has kept me away from my business to care for a family member I would like to express that our Manager has done a tremendous job in all aspects of running this Motel. She ( like any person) is not a mind reader. I would also like to note that in your review your tone appears to be somewhat racist. Please note that Sandpiper Motel is accepting of all cultures and believes we can live harmoniously together with understanding. Whilst we won't see you back here there are many others who will appreciate our sentiments. We wish you well in your future travels. Kind regards Cathy
Read more
Rodney L wrote a review Oct 2020
Sydney, Australia236 contributions78 helpful votes
For value, this is a good choice, Yes it’s not right in town but very walkable and parking in Ulladulla is plentiful. The lovely harbour is closer. Simply furnished with a microwave and fridge, the room was starting to show its age with some peeling paint, loose tap handle and carpet threadbare in spots. The shower was good, towels newish and fluffy and linen good. Seemed to be very clean too, but there is some road noise from the highway. Easily bearable though. Friendly greeting at reception too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
casmurnieks wrote a review Aug 2020
Chatswood, Australia246 contributions47 helpful votes
Yes it’s an older motel for perfect for a night or two whilst down on the south coast. Close to town and shopping centres etc. Bed is comfortable and shower had good flow. Pool on site and plenty of parking.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Poniesnpuppies wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia202 contributions20 helpful votes
It's taken me a while to remember to come back here and give this motel the great review it deserves. I booked a last minute room due to the encroaching Currowan bushfires on the NSW South Coast which happened over Dec 2019, Jan 2020 and beyond. Our one night stay turned into a stay of several days unexpectedly due to the bushfire emergency. We cannot thank Cathy and partner enough for their hospitality during this surreal and frightening period of our lives, we know they accommodated a number of other bushfire evacuees during this period and did everything they could to accommodate us and our needs and situation. Very friendly, going out of the way to help us, advise as to what they hard heard themselves and advised us as to any incoming trends they had heard about the movement of the fires, and even giving me advice on where to go and where not to go for safety when I went out exploring the area. Many thanks for the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 65 - USD 134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesShoalhavenUlladulla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sandpiper Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Sandpiper Motel?
Nearby attractions include Gondwana Coast Fossil Walk (1.0 km), The Bogey Hole (0.8 km), and Funland Ulladulla (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandpiper Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Sandpiper Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sandpiper Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandpiper Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandpiper Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Treehouse Cafe, Native., and Carlo's Italian Ristorante Bar & Seafood.
Is Sandpiper Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Ulladulla.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sandpiper Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Dutch, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandpiper Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mitchell's Mill Steam Engine (0.5 km).
Is Sandpiper Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.