We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
73 Marlin Dr, South West Rocks, New South Wales 2431 Australia
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 5 in South West Rocks
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Salt @ South West Rocks offers 16 Luxury Self Contained Villas, all with views over the beautiful Macleay River. Our property is made up over two sections which contains 1, 2 or 3 bedroom Villas. All our villas are beautifully decorated and inspired by the freshness of coastal chic designs. The kitchens in each villa are fully equipped with quality appliances and accessories, they even have a washer & dryer (if you feel the need). Each section of Salt offers a heated mineral swimming pool, sunbeds, and a BBQ area. Salt is the perfect location for couples and families to either relax and unwind or to take advantage of our location for water activities. Our property is a nature lovers paradise where you will enjoy watching our resident kangaroos come out to feed as the sun starts to set and you may even be fortunate enough to see dolphins cruising the river, and this can all be viewed from your own private deck. Between the two Salt complexes, you will find the Riverside Tavern which is open daily for lunch and dinner, it is also a great spot to relax and take in the scenery. The boat ramp and jetty are only 250 metres down the road if you want to launch your own boat or do a spot of fishing.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycles available
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snorkelling
Fishing
Patio
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
29Reviews2Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 27
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Letisha H wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Had a night booked that had to be rescheduled cause of rain and the host gayle was lovely enough to do that for us and ended up going a month later and still had the rain before we arrived but the weekend weather we were there was amazing, but In saying that we found the location quite isolated from anything other than the pub next door which essentially very quiet and didn’t have much to offer and the River across the road from accommodation, for $350 per night I would of expected a lot more including there was no pay tv the outdoor furniture chairs were all covered in bird poo including the verandah rails, the entire accommodation was very basic for the price. So In saying that gayle The accommodation manager was lovely and very helpful but then the actual accommodation is somewhere we we won’t be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from SALT at south west rocks, Owner at Salt at South West Rocks
Responded 23 Apr 2022
Thank you for your review of Salt. I am glad that you had the ability to change your dates due to the weather and got to have your girls weekend away. Our property is not in the CBD of South West Rocks, however, I do not believe our location to be isolated as it is only a 3 minute drive into town. I am saddened that you found our accommodation to be a disappointment. Regards, Management & the team @ Salt
Read more
BuderimDiner wrote a review Mar 2022
Buderim65 contributions38 helpful votes
Modern individual villas beside a local tavern overlooking the river. All facilities in the villas and undercover car ports. Easy drive into South West Rocks shopping with a Coles, IGA and a couple of fuel opportunities. Very comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms not beside the tavern may be quieter. No issues for us in a Friday and Saturday.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from SALT at south west rocks, Owner at Salt at South West Rocks
Responded 22 Mar 2022
Hi BuderimDiner, Thank you very much for your great review of Salt. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at our property and found our villas to be very comfortable. We certainly are located in a great area with facilities and attractions not too far away. We hope to see you come and stay with us again. Take Care & Stay Safe. Kind Regards, Management and the team @ Salt.
Read more
Pete S wrote a review Mar 2022
Penrith, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for 4 nights in a 1 bedroom villa. It had plenty of room for a couple. Amazing place to stay has everything you need. Modern, clean very quiet over looking the Macleay river. Kangaroos and kookaburras visit around the grounds and villas. Great sunsets. Tavern next door has great food. Les & Pete
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from SALT at south west rocks, Owner at Salt at South West Rocks
Responded 20 Mar 2022
Hi Les & Pete, Thank you very much for your excellent review of your stay at Salt. We are thrilled that you loved our property and found it to be an amazing place to stay. We love it when our guests mention how much they enjoy viewing the wildlife that frequent Salt, it definitely adds to the experience, the wildlife are truly amazing and beautiful. We hope to see you come and stay with us again. Kind Regards, Management & the team @ Salt
Read more
Travellingpantaloni wrote a review Feb 2022
Sydney, Australia251 contributions124 helpful votes
We had a 1 night stop over here on a coastal road trip The location is very peaceful being outside the main part of town and the river views are lovely. Recommend early evening apperitvo from your deck for sure! Decor is nice and everything's well maintained. Comfy bed & sofa, great shower, kitchen has everything you need Communication with Gayle was excellent We saw a couple of kangaroos outside the complex in the evening and 1 inside the next morning which was just lovely. Loads of birds visit. 10/10 would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Gayle Edwards, Owner at Salt at South West Rocks
Responded 18 Feb 2022
Travellingpantaloni, Thank you for your great review of Salt, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our property. The views from your deck are certainly spectacular, it is a great area to unwind with a few nibbles and beverages whilst watching the sunset and the native wildlife. We hope to see you come and stay with us again and maybe for a little bit longer. Take Care, Management & the team at Salt.
Read more
Pandy D wrote a review Jan 2022
Sydney, Australia844 contributions87 helpful votes
+1
Salt at South West Rocks, NSW Great modern & new accomodation on the Macleay River. We stayed in a one-bedroom Villa which had all the amenities including a really nice deck overlooking the gardens & river. Loved the roaming kangaroos and the wetlands walk within the venue. The villas are an 8 min drive to town or a 40 min walk, I’d suggest taking the New Entrance Road towards the headland as it’s really scenic. We were provided with complimentary quality mountain bikes during our stay which was really nice. Thank you Gayle for the exceptional service. I’d highly recommend a stay at Salt. #SaltAtSouthWestRocks #NSWHolidays
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SALT at south west rocks, Owner at Salt at South West Rocks
Responded 25 Jan 2022
Hi Pandy, Thank you so much for you fantastic review of Salt. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved everything about our property and villas. We are extremely fortunate that we have kangaroos roaming around our property, it truly adds to the experience. Travelling by pedal power is a great way to take in the sights of South West Rocks, and I am glad that you were able to do just that. We hope to see you come and stay with us again. Take Care, Management and the team @ Salt
Read more
SYZN wrote a review Jan 2022
Sydney, Australia106 contributions73 helpful votes
Modern, fresh, clean, well equipped riverside cabins, nice Scandi aesthetic, located 5 minutes out of town and close to where dive and fishing charters depart. We liked being out of the town and its easy to dip in and out for restaurants - but the peacefulness may not appeal to those looking for street life. Not cheap - but not overpriced either.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SALT at south west rocks, Owner at Salt at South West Rocks
Responded 13 Jan 2022
Hi SYNZ, Thank you so much for your great review of Salt. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved everything about our property, such as the well appointed villas and the location. We are truly located in a great part of South West Rocks, which offers tranquility, great views and the opportunity to view our native wildlife. We look forward to see you come and stay with us again. Take Care and Stay Safe, Management and the team @ Salt.
Read more
Lydia B wrote a review Dec 2021
Canberra, Australia31 contributions30 helpful votes
We booked a 2 bedroom villa as a 1 bedroom wasn't available and it was nice to have the extra room for a 6 night stay. Very new accomodation with everything you would need. Pleasant view over the McLeay River and close to the Arakuun and Hat Head national parks where we did some walking. Strongly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SALT at south west rocks, Owner at Salt at South West Rocks
Responded 9 Dec 2021
Hi LydiaB703, Thank you for your lovely review, we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay at Salt. There are some great coastal walks in SWR, Arakoon and Hat Head National Park and it is great that you got to experience them (very picturesque). We hope to see you come and stay with us again. Take Care. Management
Read more
graham a wrote a review Dec 2021
Byron Bay, Australia3 contributions17 helpful votes
The grounds are very well kept, the cabins very clean and well equipped and the location is good BUT if you plan on using the BBQ area for an evening meal, then forget about it. We were a family group aged from our early 20s to 59, not noisy or rowdy in anyway, we spent all day out and about on the water but on my birthday, rather than a pub meal we wanted to have a BBQ around the communal pool and kitchen area. Unfortunately at 8.30pm, the owner & a male (husband?) arrived, immediately turned the lights off and told us to pack up thereby ruining the meal and the evening. Regardless, we cleared everything away, washed the BBQ & table down and finished the night. I do not think that a family meal at 8.30pm is inappropriate whilst on holiday but obviously the owner of Salt does. If you want an over 55s style holiday fine but otherwise I would avoid staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SALT at south west rocks, Owner at Salt at South West Rocks
Responded 9 Dec 2021
Hi 39grahama, Thank you for you kind review, however I do find this review to be a bit unjust and not completely true. We want all our guests to have an enjoyable holiday and we do not condone guests using the common areas and having some fun. Yes, I did come down to investigate noise complaints that we had received from other guests. In no way did I ask you and your family to pack up, I asked if you could kindly keep the noise down and be please be mindful of other guests. We did not turn the lights off as this is done by an automatic timer. We do however have a duty of care to act upon any requests and / or complaints from guests and we try to be accommodating to everyone. Majority of our guests are under 55 and like to stay in a place where they can unwind, relax and have fun and to me there is nothing wrong with wanting a tranquil holiday. We wish you and your family well for the future. Management
Read more
Fernsie wrote a review Nov 2021
Lake Macquarie, Australia2086 contributions310 helpful votes
We have just returned from 8 fabulous nights at Salt. Our cabin was bright, extremely clean and very tastefully furnished. We found Salt to be perfectly situated with wonderful views of the river and to the mountains beyond. Close enough to town for shopping and restaurants but far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle. After a day of exploring beautiful South West Rocks and it's surrounding area it was a pleasure to return to our cabin each afternoon, for drinks on our balcony whilst watching the resident kangaroos. Thank you to the staff for making our stay memorable and thank you so much for the welcome gift which gave us such pleasure during our entire stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SALT at south west rocks, Owner at Salt at South West Rocks
Responded 5 Dec 2021
Hi Fernsie, Thank you very much for your fantastic review of Salt. We are are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved everything about our property. It is a such a great accolade to receive a review saying "it was a pleasure to return to our villa each afternoon", we love that you felt extremely comfortable in your accommodation. We are definitely situated in a great location, great views and very peaceful. We look forward to your return. Many Thanks, Management & the team @ Salt
Read more
Victoria R wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
We rented a one bedroom cabin and it was absolutely beautiful. All the appliances and extra bits and pieces around the house were greatly appreciated. The pool area was lovely and calm. We also really enjoyed when the kangaroos came out to graze around the cabins at night. We are already planning on staying here again! Worth noting, there isn’t a lot within walking distance. The tavern next door is alright for food, but otherwise it’s a short drive into the town.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from SALT at south west rocks, Owner at Salt at South West Rocks
Responded 9 Nov 2021
Hi VictoriaR Thank you for your lovely review, we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Salt. Salt is definitely the place to stay if you really want to chill out and take in nature and our beautiful wildlife. We hope to see you come and stay with us again. Kind Regards, Management & the team @ SALT
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 264 - USD 280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSouth West Rocks
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Salt at South West Rocks
Which popular attractions are close to Salt at South West Rocks?
Nearby attractions include Smoky Cape Lighthouse (5.6 km), Trial Bay Gaol (5.1 km), and Horseshoe Bay Beach (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Salt at South West Rocks?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Salt at South West Rocks?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Salt at South West Rocks?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Salt at South West Rocks?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Salt at South West Rocks?
Conveniently located restaurants include Malt & Honey, Trial Bay Kiosk, and Thai On The Rocks.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Salt at South West Rocks?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Salt at South West Rocks?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Salt at South West Rocks?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Trial Bay Gaol (5.1 km) and German Monument (5.6 km).
Is Salt at South West Rocks accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.