We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avoca Lodge

Expedia.comUSD 90*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 106*
USD 90*
USD 106*
USD 90*
USD 106*
USD 90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Avoca Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avoca Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 117: English reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 5 June 2015

I found this Lodge to be better than I thought.... The beds were comfy the room a great size... the ensuite was massive but the shower was really small (that didn't make sense). Defiantly would stay here again. The only downside was trying to find a car park... This was very very frustrating... took us half an hour to find...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marina F
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Being a pensioner and having your husband admitted to hospital for a major operation I found this lodge a blessing. So close and all you need with a share kitchen which meant you were able to cook your own meals. Rooms very clean and tidy with all you want. I actually stayed there over 8 nights during the months.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank susanJ9136ZJ
Porirua, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 April 2015

We booked this Avoca Lodge online and having not stayed here before we thought it a good choice whilst visiting family who live nearby. On our arrival at this Lodge there was no one to greet us. Just a notice on the Reception Desk stating your key to your room is in the envelope below. On entering our room we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mau5024
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

I foolishly read the reviews for this accommodation the day before I arrived, which really stressed me out! No spiders, no cobwebs. Carpet looks old but is ok. Mattress seemed a bit wonky but then I had the best night's sleep in ages! Peaceful if your room is set back from the street. No noisy neighbours. Nice clean renovated bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrynlambkin
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Not expensive. The hotel do not have things that normal hotels provide. However, if you do not expect such a full service, it is fairly good for the price. Located near NSWU. The room is small with shower but neat and satisfactory. The woman is friendly and accurate who seems to be only staff playing both roles of a receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hiroyuki2015
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here! Parking around the corner was easy, close to food, easy to get a taxi from. Only complaint was that the walls were very thing and there were people talking at like 6am that I couldn't sleep through!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carly S
sydney_lodges, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a shame about the noisy neighbours. Hopefully we can help you with accommodation when next you visit Randwick.

Reviewed 3 April 2015

The logde is over priced. The room size was small and upkeep was poor. Flooring would creak when you walked around. There were cobwebs in the stairway. The location was good..which was the only bonus. Parking can be nightmare.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul D
Triangle, Nc
Reviewed 1 April 2015

This establishment closes up at night, is dark (only one dim bulb inside and no lights outside), is reached only by a walkway from an alley past trash cans, has no staff on site after 7 p.m. (and may not have staff on site ever), makes no provisions for assistance (or for emergencies), and offers no parking. It is surrounded...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LooseKnees
sydney_lodges, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We advertise that our reception hours are 8am to 7pm daily. Also on each booking there is a note asking you to contact the lodge if you are arriving after 7pm for instructions for key collection. There are 24hour contactable emergency phone numbers on the outside door and the reception door. The lighting is bright...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Horrible dirty hotel, scandalous staff! There is a elderly European receptionist refered as susi with highlighted hair wearing shorts and t shirts with very rude behavior. I believe she was drunk, at least I could smell strong alcohol when she spoke to me with her heavy accent. The room is very smelly with cigarette smoke. There is no wifi. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank teresa b
sydney_lodges, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

This is a disappointing review from a guest who booked a non-refundable room and tried unsuccessfully to cancel and be refunded prior to arrival. It will alert others to select a suitable cancellation policy when they book accommodation and honor that choice with some dignity.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Perfect location which suited my purpose of staying one night to be close to my family who were residing in Coogee. It was a single room with a shower and cupboards, very basic accommodation but clean and the receptionist most helpful and friendly. She provided me with towels and allowed me to stay on the ground floor because my case...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank THEBONDIGIRL

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
135 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
High Cross Park Lodge
#6 of 10 in Randwick
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
265 reviews
Randwick Lodge
#4 of 10 in Randwick
235 reviews
The Blenheim Randwick
#9 of 10 in Randwick
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Sydney like a local at Avoca Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is a 10 minute walk from the lodge. Avoca Lodge is situated just metres from the Prince of Wales Hospital and UNSW Kensington campus. The lodge also offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and en-suites in every room. Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. Avoca Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Address: 235 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Price Range: $102 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avoca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avoca Lodge Randwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avoca Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Avoca Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Never book any room!”
st779, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms with attached bathroom”
, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on the bottom floor, closest to the front door, it's an absolute stunner of a room! I think the whole bottom floor is nice.”
tegant2013, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 101 that was very convenient & easy for me.”
224rajs, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Please ask a room in 1st Floor”
ananda527, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 90* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 90
Hotwire.comUSD 90
PricelineUSD 106
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates