We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Avoca Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Avoca Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a one night there as had to go to see specialist at hospital . Very clean, almost new bathroom. close to hospital , but the floor was very Squeeky. We had a very nice meal around the corner at the hotel. The staff were great.

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
Tahmoor, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed for one night only in a single room as my husband was having an operation at prince of Wales private hospital. The lodge is in a very convenient location right across the road from the hospital. It was clean,tidy had a tv with tea and coffee supplied. I stayed in room 101 which was on the lower floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank lorrainefabri

Travellers are raving about these Randwick hotels

Lithgow, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I booked the Randwick Lodge for October, along with our family and friends for our wedding. We were the first to book in and stay in the new rooms, which was quite exciting. I'll start with the parking. It would have been much better if the parking for the lodge was able to be used, but it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tegan T
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cannot recommend this hotel. Parking is impossible and the receptionist was rude and patronising. Having driven a long way already having to drive for another 30 minutes around ever increasing blocks to end up in a 3 hour parking zone was too much. Having called the hotel prior I was informed there was plenty of parking. The rooms are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed 5 nights very expensive for a single room with shower / toilet. No linen or towel change. Room was stuffy and smelly.Won't be going back anytime soon. Only good thing are the restaurants around the block.

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean and newly refurbed rooms. Stocked with tea & coffee and hairdryer. Very handy for the hospital, which is why we booked. Only issue was they didn't email us with a code to receive our keys as we had arranged to check in late, so had to wait on doorstep for a bit of a while, while contacting people off-site... More 

Helpful?
Thank hollysalvage
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you were inconvenienced on arrival. Our reservation confirmations do ask that you contact the lodge if you are arriving after 4:30 so we can explain to you the key collection procedure when you arrive. Also there is a telephone number on the door to put you in direct contact with the duty... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Accommodation was average and satisfactory. The location is ideal for visitors to Randwick or Coogee. I was disappointed with the internet service. Had connection problems and kept asking for details that were already provided. Did not use the service at all.

Helpful?
Thank Raj S
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. At Avoca Lodge we offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation. Avoca Lodge is well located for visitors to the Prince of Wales Hospital, the University of New South Wales, the Royal Randwick Racecourse and beautiful Coogee Beach. We are sorry to hear you had internet connection problems however we can only attend to this... More 

Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was happy with my stay. The previous night I had stayed somewhere much more expensive and was less impressed. I will definitely stay at Allison Lodge the next time I'm in Sydney. I enjoy walking so it was a lovely walk to Bondi Beach and an easy bus trip back. Staff were friendly.

Helpful?
Thank leanne191
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at one of our Sydney Lodges properties. I am unsure if you stayed at Alison Lodge or Avoca Lodge. Anyway we are glad to hear it ticked all of the boxes for you and the staff were friendly. We look forward to welcoming you again. More 

1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Located ideally for access to Coogee, Randwick's entertainment areas and the UNSW/Randwick hospital precinct. Avoca lodge provides an economical option for those visiting this part of the eastern suburbs with good connectivity (public transport) to the city and Randwick racecourse.

Helpful?
Thank Marcus C
Julie C, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We are glad Avoca Lodge ticked all of the boxes for you. Your description of accurate and helpful information will certainly assist others when looking for accommodation in Randwick. We look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

It is a very basic property, just good for overnight stay, and very convenient to shops, University of NSW and to the hospital. I think they should upgrade the carpets in the lodge and also check the Towels before put in the room. My room towels had lots of black stains.

Helpful?
Thank ananda527
Julie C, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Avoca Lodge is advertised as budget accommodation and we have guests happily staying here daily, weekly and monthly. The lodge is very conveniently located close to the University of New South Wales, The Prince of Wales Hospital complex, 'The Spot' restaurant, bar and cinema complex and beautiful Coogee Beach. The... More 

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randwick hotels
0.3 km away
Randwick Lodge
Randwick Lodge
#13 of 15 in Randwick
215 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel at Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 15 in Randwick
107 reviews
1.2 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Perouse Lodge
Perouse Lodge
#1 of 19 in Randwick
245 reviews
0.1 km away
High Cross Park Lodge
High Cross Park Lodge
#3 of 8 in Randwick
131 reviews
0.4 km away
The Blenheim Randwick
The Blenheim Randwick
#4 of 8 in Randwick
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Sydney like a local at Avoca Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is a 10 minute walk from the lodge.Avoca Lodge is situated just metres from the Prince of Wales Hospital and UNSW Kensington campus. The lodge also offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and en-suites in every room. Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. Avoca Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Address: 235 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Price Range: $95 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avoca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avoca Lodge Randwick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avoca Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Avoca Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the bottom floor, closest to the front door, it's an absolute stunner of a room! I think the whole bottom floor is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles tegant2013, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 101 that was very convenient & easy for me.”
 of 5 bubbles 224rajs, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Please ask a room in 1st Floor”
 of 5 bubbles ananda527, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“None- very depressing. Asked for better room but was none.”
 of 5 bubbles 362christinee, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a downstairs room if travelling with a baby.”
 of 5 bubbles HelenD341, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay