We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kempsey Powerhouse Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kempsey Powerhouse Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 188: English reviews
Start your review of Kempsey Powerhouse Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelling to Brisbane and decided to stop for a night. Easy check in, more than helpful hosts and a quiet, clean and comfortable room. So pleasant a stay that we stayed another night, and will stay there on our way home also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
power465, Owner at Kempsey Powerhouse Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Julie for taking the time to make comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hoping you got to take in all that our valley here has to offer in the way of sight seeing and chilling out as you put it. We look forward to seeing you again on your return journey before you have to...

Wyongah, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent an overnight stay at the motel last week and was very impressed with the experience. Courteous and friendly service, exceptionally clean and quality rooms with comfortable beds, great food at a very decent price. I travel a lot for business and the Kempsey Powerhouse Motel would easily be in the top 10, or even 5, motels I have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jezza1321
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2017

One night stopover with 3 kids in a family room- our host was welcoming and check-in process was smooth. Rooms were some of the cleanest I have ever seen. Yes they are a little dated but there are signs alerting to coming renovations. For the price we paid, I felt it was great value for money. AC worked a treat,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeatherBish
power465, Owner at Kempsey Powerhouse Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the glowing review. We are pleased you found everything in order and had a great stay. Our room attendants work hard to ensure cleanliness is of the highest standard and yes we are continuing to upgrade the remaining bathrooms. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Travel safely

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Stayed on the way back from the Gold Coast. Spacious rooms, very clean & tidy. No crockery or cutlery in rooms but coffee/tea making facilities. Peaceful surrounds a few minutes drive from the CBD & Golf Course. Had dinner in the restaurant & in room breakfast. Both very nice & reasonably priced. I will certainly stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
power465, Owner at Kempsey Powerhouse Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our motel. We are pleased you found everything clean and in order. We provide the essentials to the rooms only in the first instance. There is always quality coffee, sugar, tea, milk and biscuits in the rooms on arrival. We also offer fresh milk on check in. We also provide a kettle and...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2017

The room we had was a bit dated but was very clean, bed was comfortable and AC worked well. Also shower had great pressure which is a big plus with me. It is also close to the highway and rates were good. We had dinner at their restaurant. Food was very good (rated as one of the best restaurants in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arron W
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

We often stay here on our travels. Very clean, great food and wonderful service.The motel is situated in a convenient location in a beautiful country setting. I highly recommend the Powerhouse motel .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparky2110
Kempsey, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

We found Martin and Tracy very helpful and understanding to our needs. The cook does amazing meals. Extremely happy overall. Highly recommend Kempsey Powerhouse motel. We will be back again that's for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MummaNPappaBear
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Powerhouse Motel, Kempsey on our way to Sydney from Byron Bay on New Year's Day. It's just off the highway, 5mins south of Kempsey, so convenient for a quick overnight stop if all accommodation in Port Macquarie is full, as was our case. The motel looks old & dated, but our room was very clean &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arichardson2016
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

the below comments i find very disgusting to read.We stayed here for 2 nights and found the staff more then friendly, The motel is situated where there is bush,so yes there is the often BUSH ROACH around the area.I find it more upsetting that the people belows comment very confronting, since i was a stay the morning these people checked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kristie876
power465, Owner at Kempsey Powerhouse Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments. There is not much we can do when a guest gets a bee in their bonnet. We understand the day travelling can take its toll on occasions (ie: arguing, heat, misleading gps directions, overdoing the drive and many more events that can change a persons normal attitude.) In this case as we have pointed out bkg...

Reviewed 4 January 2017

Stay in this place if you LOVE cockroaches & maggots. I had to call owner around 11PM to kill cockroaches and believe me he was able to kill 8 of them in 10mins. HORRIBLE experience the stuff is really impolite and rude. Live in here like disaster. The room was full of cockroaches. I can't bear to stay here. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aman Y
power465, Owner at Kempsey Powerhouse Motel, responded to this review

Nice exaggeration. You rang me at 1230am because you found a bush cocky in your room. This country area has a lot of bush cockies around at night and when you were standing around late at night sneaking the children into the rooms (who you hadn't paid for) you obviously let the cockies in. I came straight over and caught...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempsey hotels
4.9 km away
Moon River Motor Inn
Moon River Motor Inn
#3 of 7 in Kempsey
110 reviews
1.4 km away
Kempsey Motor Inn
Kempsey Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Kempsey
79 reviews
2.9 km away
Motel Kempsey
Motel Kempsey
#5 of 7 in Kempsey
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Park Drive Motel
Park Drive Motel
#2 of 7 in Kempsey
55 reviews
4.4 km away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Kempsey
85 reviews
4.8 km away
Colonial Court Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 5 acres of manicured bushland, the Kempsey Powerhouse Motel is a quiet place to unwind after a day on the road. It is suitable to sit amongst the trees up the back and enjoy the wildlife that abounds or watch your children kick a ball around in safety well away from the road. We are no longer pet friendly. The motel is also very conveniently located set back from the highway halfway between Sydney and Brisbane. The motel is 500mts from the southern most exit if heading to the north or 1klm only if heading south. The now completed Slim Dusty centre is only 200 mts down the road. The motel is close to beaches and other interesting icons around town. 21 Very clean and spacious rooms, majority are ground floor and others have a maximum of three steps and handrails. Parking outside the door for most rooms. All rooms have had a modernized makeover with the bathrooms being our main priority at present. Ample truck, trailer and caravan/camper parking available near units. A very affordable a'la carte restaurant and bar is available Mon to Sat from 6.00Pm and can vary depending on the season. Closed on Sundays and Pub Hols. Booking a table is recommended on arrival to ensure you do not miss out on a delicious meal. Room service is also an option. A wide variety of Australian meals is offered. Children, romantics and small groups can be catered for. Your hosts, Tracy and Martin, are welcoming folk who enjoy and take pride in caring for the needs of their guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kempsey Powerhouse Motel

Address: 465 Macleay Valley Way | 1klm Fm the Roundabout Exit Sthn End of New by-Pass, Kempsey, New South Wales 2440, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kempsey
Price Range: $99 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kempsey Powerhouse Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Kempsey Powerhouse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kempsey Powerhouse Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kempsey Powerhouse Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bathrooms are being renovated so ask for a newly refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles stephencK3095VQ, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms are best”
 of 5 bubbles Contributor2015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms towards the back seem very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Gutta2Gutta, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room was up the back”
 of 5 bubbles petesylz, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Motel is situated off the Pacific Highway in a bushy location.”
 of 5 bubbles Nonie50, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5