Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Palais Royale Boutique Hotel

230 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780 Australia
Traveller (126)
Panorama of the Deluxe Family Room at the Palais Royale Blue Mountains
360
Panoramas (13)
Hanging Light
Room & Suite (264)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#10 of 14 hotels in Katoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are a charming Heritage hotel in the main street of Katoomba, so leave your car and walk to dozens of restaurants and attractions. Make sure to visit us in our lounge café where we serve locally produce best coffee and selective locally grown organic wines and beers. ENJOY OUR NEW FREE WIFI FROM ALL ROOMS!!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

230 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780 Australia
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 87 out of 100
87
Raglan Airport
Sydney Airport
84.1 km
See all flights
541Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 127
  • 218
  • 129
  • 50
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TravelerTrev wrote a review Mar 2020
Southern Highlands, Australia152 contributions102 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently spent 2 nights in this lovely old hotel. Our room was on the first floor and there was no elevator so stairs only access which is fine. The room I stayed in was large with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom had an over bath shower which could be a problem for those with mobility issues but then again if you had issues you may stay in a ground floor room. The property is well maintained and clean. I must admit the floor board squeak a little but this adds to the charm of the place. There appeared to be adequate free on site parking. A continental breakfast was include in the price but you can have a cooked breakfast if you wish for a moderate surcharge. This property is a 30 minute stroll from the lookout over the 3 sisters and a 10 miniutes stroll from the town centre. I had very enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Pay the little extra for an Executive king room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim GSA, Guest Services / Front Office at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Responded 31 July 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It is our utmost pride to be able to make guests happy during their stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again next time. Have a great day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kerrie S wrote a review Jan 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel had a nice reception area and parking was great! Our floor was damp most of the time near the front door as the air conditioning unit dripped onto the carpet constantly. We told reception ( had to use the phone as no one was at the reception desk), but no one contacted us about the issue.
Internet was woeful, had to use up our monthly data on our phones as we could not access the internet for more than a minute or two at one time.
We were in a twin room, beds were very hard, another tip owners, get mattress toppers or buy better beds, these ones were obviously cheap and very uncomfortable.
Cute bathroom in Art Deco, would not stay here again due to the wifi and dripping water and uncomfortable beds.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie L wrote a review Jan 2024
Leichhardt, Australia920 contributions384 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent ages selecting a hotel for our two night stay as we don’t often go away without the dog (cue eye roll) and ultimately for the price I was happy enough with our choice.

The room was large and spacious, and the bed was comfortable. The bath in the bathroom was big enough for two, and the water pressure was great for an older facility.

The “mountain top” view was somewhat obscured by the roof of the hotel, but I wasn’t expecting amazing views given the central location. I think you go to somewhere like Lilianfels or the Hydro Majestic for that.

The sauna and spa were disappointing as it’s only open from 5-9pm and when we got there at 5, the sauna hadn’t been turned on so we had to sit waiting for it to heat up. The spa was under repair.

I opted for the breakfast package and it was as promised, a light meal which included cereals, yoghurt and fruit, a few toast options and pastries, along with tea, coffee (order from the staff if you want espresso) and juice. You can opt for a hot breakfast for an additional cost.

It’s not a noisy hotel, which is nice, especially during peak season when you tend to expect it. Plenty of parking on site, but also an easy walk to and from the station if you’re traveling by train. It’s also an easy drive to all the local attractions (or you could walk to some of them, Scenic World being about a 20 minute walk, for example).

Overall it is a good, clean and comfortable mid range hotel in a good location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Worth booking the larger room and getting breakfast as there weren’t a lot of good breakfast...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eric Lewanavanua, Marketing at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear JulieLee - thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob E wrote a review Feb 2020
Wrexham, United Kingdom280 contributions115 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for four nights at the end of January when visiting the Blue Mountains. The location was ideal for us, within walking distance of the station and about a mile from the Three Sisters and Scenic World both well worth a visit.
The room was large and airy with good air conditioning, great for those like us not used to the heat. We were very happy with the value and the size of the cooked breakfast option meant we didn't need to eat again until the evening.
The hotel is located near to a number of restaurants on Katoomba Street and the supermarkets.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim GSA, Guest Services / Front Office at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Responded 31 July 2020
Dear Bob, Thank you for your feedback. It is our utmost pride to be able to make guests happy during their stay. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again next time. Have a great day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vero wrote a review Sept 2020
Central Coast, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked direct after contacting them to check they would price match with the discounted Agoda price as I felt this was a nicer thing to do due to covid income losses. On arrival they refused to discount their online rate and we had to pay their full online price - which was $80 more expensive, we'd already paid $220 deposit when booking so had no option but to stay there. I offered email and photo proof but they would not agree. After an accident in our room which was our fault we were made to move to a similar standard room, even though we were happy to stay where we were. We were charged an additional $250 for this room, more than their online booking cost which had been $205 per night. This was charged to my credit card, which I was unaware had been saved as this had not been mentioned to me upon check in. The new room was smaller, dirty, the heater didn't work, the bed was REALLY uncomfortable and the wardrobe didn't open properly as it hit the room door, which didn't self latch so we had to ensure we pulled it shut when we left. This room had paint peeling in the bathroom and loose tiles in the shower. I have emailed back and forth stating my dissatisfaction and the extra charges that I was not aware of, and have had no offer of a refund, just a brief sentence reply each time. I am now looking at my options to report them for this matter, and is it even legal to save a credit card without asking (i had only tapped my card to pay and nothing was mentioned). I am not a frequent traveller and saved for this weekend away WE ARE NOT HAPPY AT ALL and would not recommend anyone stay here - or if there was no other option at least book at the cheapest rate possible which would have been $347 for 2 nights! Instead it cost us nearly double that!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Only good thing was location to town centre, but there are also other hotels nearby I would...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim GSA, Guest Services / Front Office at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Dear Ms Verity, Thank you for your feedback. We are very surprised to see these comments from you. During your stay, you were happy and there was no complaint made by you. Regarding room cleanliness: *When it comes to cleanliness, we always ensure that all of our hotel rooms are at its highest standard and keep up to date to the COVID-19 Safety guidelines. Regarding the price: * We always do the best price match if you booked directly with us, however, you went ahead booked online and we honour as per your online booking. Regarding the credit card: * You booked online that is why we have the record of your credit card. Regarding the $250 charged: * It is due to your negligence, you flooded the whole bedroom which is not acceptable. * You agreed to move to another room and pay $250 for that weekend rate on Executive King room. * There was big damage on carpet and ceiling, we didn't charge you on the cost and repair for the damage. * Also the water went thru the lower room and damaged the ceiling and had to move the guests to a different room. * Also we had to keep the rooms vacant for several days and that's another loss of income for the hotel. We find your comments unacceptable to us or to any readers under the circumstance. We want our guest to have an enjoyable and memorable stay. We in Palais Royale are working hard to make our service the best to our guest during this difficult time due to the COVI-19 pandemic. Thank you for your understanding. Wishing you all the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
winniecoop wrote a review July 2020
Wyong, Australia79 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our stay at the Palais Royal. The hotel is beautiful and feels very welcoming. The bar and lounge areas were very nice and we loved sitting near the fire with a drink after dinner.

We usually stay at one of the bigger hotels at the top of the hill but it was booked out so we thought we would try our luck with the Palais. We loved it so much that we will come back next time for sure. Easy parking, friendly staff, very nice rooms. Great location too!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim GSA, Guest Services / Front Office at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Responded 31 July 2020
Dear Winnie, Thank you for your feedback. It is our utmost pride to be able to make guests happy during their stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Blue mountains. Once again Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Have a great day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve T wrote a review May 2022
Canton Beach7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location with a beautiful front garden and that’s it. You walk in the door and get your key with very little welcoming or information. The room was very out dated with pubic hair around the shower and bath and the carpet was dirty with white hair still on it. The room had a damp smell with mould on the curtains and this is what we had noticed before ever unpacking. The hotel was once elegant maybe 50 years ago and nothing has been replaced or updated. Flaking paint on the bathroom walls shows that this is definitely not a 4 star hotel anymore. Our room was serviced with the bed being made with the same old sheets and we had to go and ask for new towels because our used towels were still sitting in the bath tub where we left them for replacing. I’m honestly not a fussy or complaining person but when you pay for a 4 star hotel and get maybe a 3 at best I don’t like to be ripped off and hope to help others understand what they are getting for their money.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben M wrote a review Aug 2020
Sydney, Australia92 contributions75 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel location was pretty good right at the Center of Katoomba. The positives stop there. Fresh sheets as shoe in the picture explains itself with dirt marks and blood stains. Condition of the room also explains itself by the pictures . Torn curtains, stained sticky furniture. Heating which barely worked but they did bring us a noisy portable heater which heated up the room to a satisfactory temperature. It wouldn’t take much to keep the place clean at least. The worst thing in travel are dirty stained sheets. We would not recommend this hotel at all and will never return. Sorry for the negative feedback in these difficult economic times with Covid but this standard is absolutely not acceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim GSA, Guest Services / Front Office at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Responded 24 Oct 2020
Dear Ben, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you liked our location. This beautiful historical heritage hotel is located right in the Katoomba Town Centre, which is very convenient. When it comes to the cleanliness, we always ensure that all our hotel rooms are at its highest standard and keep up to date to the COVID-19 Safety Guidelines. In regards to the torn sheer curtains, we always check the rooms prior to guest's arrival and we never put anybody in any rooms that have torn curtains. ( New sheer curtains have been changed now. ) In regards to the blood-stained sheets, we always change fresh linen which is outsourced and it is impossible to use fresh blood-stained sheets on the bed. If there was truly tear on the curtains and bloodstain on the sheets, we are wondering why you didn't complain about the issue while you were here. We would have been able to resolve the problem at the same time. All of our rooms have a 24 hours centralized heating/cooling system. All of them works perfectly. During the winter season, it can be very cold and it may not be up to the individual's required temperature. Great to know that the portable heater reached your required temperature. We pride ourselves in delivering great customer service ensuring that guest satisfaction is achieved. Thank you for your understanding. Wishing you all the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brigus wrote a review Aug 2022
Newfoundland5 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Main issue was misrepresented room size. I paid for an Executive King room which is supposed to include a couch. I did not feel thst strongly about having s couch but our room did not have a couch and was too small to accommodate a couch. My room looked like a standard room based on the hotel's own websites pictures. The Executive king room Pictures showed a far more spacious room than the room we actually had.

I brought this to the attention of the hotel staff and they seemed rather unapologetic. I told them i wanted a reduced rate and their response would show other occupied guests rooms that had couches and offered me the option to-move into the next day which was not convenient.

The hotel looks lovely on the outside and seems quant upon entry but overall not a high quality boutique hotel . Old wooden windows were loose and drafty and rattled loudly in wind. Lights in room were very dim. To get hot water had to run water for about 3 mins.

A good hotel for $150 per night but definitely not at the price we paid. Would not return and would not recommend.

Cozy sitting room near reception has a sign "no BYO" but also says if you want service ask at reception desk. Not classy. If you wish to provide service then provide it. Do not prohibit guests from enjoying a personal glass of wine in an area where you have to seek out service.

I rarely write reviews but I felt my experience here was worth sharing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernadette wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location was perfect, in the heart of the Katoomba, Blue Mountains. We only needed to walk to the great cafes, restaurants, shops & supermarkets. Only 10 min walk from the Katoomba station, 4 min drive to the Three Sisters and 3 min drive to the Katoomba Falls. Free parking provided. The room was very clean, the staffs were very helpful & friendly. The hotel had very cosy lounge rooms, a very nice bar & restaurant. The hotel breakfast was excellent. Everything was perfect, my family & I were super happy, definitely we will come back ! Highly recommend, please do not hesitate to book !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim GSA, Guest Services / Front Office at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Responded 24 Oct 2020
Dear Bernadette, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback is very important to us. It is truly a beautiful heritage hotel situated in the prime location in Katoomba. We are glad that you enjoyed our service. It is our utmost pride to be able to make our guests happy during their stay. We always do our best to make our guest stay memorable and enjoyable. Once again We Thank you and We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Sayde
6 contributions1 helpful vote
I drove -then walked from Palais Royal to 3sisters. Not sure on buses sorry. Maybe call hotel your staying at I’m sure they would know.
Craig L asked a question Aug 2016
Grand Junction, Colorado30 contributions7 helpful votes
we will arrive by train. is the hotel walk able from the station?
Answer from Christine B B
Ulladulla40 contributions17 helpful votes
Hi. Definitely walking distance but for an elderly person it is not that pleasant but take your time.
Answer from Eric Lewanavanua
Katoomba, Australia4 contributions
Hi Susan,we do lock the doors at 9pm, however if you call 0422411190 Ron will answer and meet you to check you in
Darren B asked a question Jan 2015
2 contributions4 helpful votes
what is check in time?
Answer from macca044
Newcastle, Australia126 contributions70 helpful votes
Check in is from 2.00pm
Darren B asked a question Jan 2015
2 contributions4 helpful votes
check in time?
Answer from Troysy
Newcastle, Australia41 contributions21 helpful votes
around 2 ish i think but we were also early and they gave us another room that was already prepared,,,better one in fact...
Julie L wrote a tip Jan 2024
Leichhardt, Australia920 contributions384 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth booking the larger room and getting breakfast as there weren’t a lot of good breakfast options within walking distance"
Read full review
Julia W wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book on line or call hotel direct for great deals. You can walk to everything from the location."
Read full review
Mary B wrote a tip Aug 2023
Sydney, Australia87 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared for no wi fi, even in common areas. Breakfast room not suitable for guests who cannot manage stairs. Continental breakfast basic"
Read full review
Bruce S wrote a tip July 2023
Sydney, Australia42 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room on the ground floor"
Read full review
Ihatecooking wrote a tip May 2023
Launceston, Australia17 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close to everything including trailheads and train station."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Katoomba area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$159 - AU$282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
palais royale blue mountains hotel katoomba, palais royale blue mountains katoomba
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesBlue MountainsKatoomba
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PALAIS ROYALE BOUTIQUE HOTEL (AU$159): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Katoomba) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Palais Royale Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Blue Mountains Cultural Centre (0.4 km), Street Art Walk - by Street Art Murals Australia (0.2 km), and Lost Bear Gallery (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a spa, breakfast buffet, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Palais Royale Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Basil Nut Cafe and Restaurant, Unique Patisserie, and Yellow Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Palais Royale Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Palais Royale Boutique Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Katoomba.
Are there any historical sites close to Palais Royale Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Leura Post Office (2.0 km).
All Katoomba HotelsKatoomba Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KatoombaHotels near Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars