YHA Blue Mountains
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

YHA Blue Mountains

207 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780 Australia
Traveller (83)
Room on level 3
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 5 hostels in Katoomba
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
In the adventure capital of NSW, stay at this award-winning YHA property and enjoy the log fire, cosy warm rooms (many with ensuite), great kitchen, fast internet, all in the heart of Katoomba. This is the best value budget accommodation, located in the heart of Katoomba. Choose from a range of rooms including multi share, double/twin and family rooms. Free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). Relax in the large lounge, self cater in the kitchen. Housed in a beautifully restored historic National Trust building, the hostel is close to breathtaking scenic lookouts, and local cafes and pubs. Save with YHA discounts on heaps of activities, tours and attractions from the hostel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Coffee shop
Game room
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Billiards
Board games / puzzles
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Fireplace
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

207 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780 Australia
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 87 out of 100
87
Raglan Airport
Sydney Airport
84.2 km
See all flights
331Reviews4Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 174
  • 123
  • 24
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jennefer N wrote a review Feb 2021
Canberra, Australia291 contributions160 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Located in a beautiful old building close to train station and main street. Stayed 1 night in a twin room with bunk beds, lower bunk a double, upper bunk a single with private bathroom.Check in was simple,given linen and plates,cups,knives forks and spoons. Electric jug in room.Room was clean as was the bathroom.Heating in room and bathroom.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mikaela B wrote a review Mar 2021
8 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
In a great location a short walking distance from town and surrounding lookouts.
During my stay I was in an 8 bed dorm and 2/4 nights I had the room to myself so it was super quiet and clean.
The kitchen was large and had plenty of stoves and an oven however could use another microwave.
The crowd was a lot older than expected and it was difficult to meet other young people to hang out with.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Mitchell wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A clean, well maintained and well run hostel set in the heart of Katoomba, convenient for exploring all the great touristy offerings of the upper Blue Mountains. I stayed in a room that had a double bed and an ensuite, it was cosy and comfortable. There is a great communal area should you be feeling social and be up for some board games or a beer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Triscina wrote a review Apr 2023
Gold Coast, Australia106 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As I walked into the Hostel, it was nothing that I expected. It was massive with so many spaces for everything that was needed including large communal areas for eating, relaxing, a very organised kitchen to utilise. Take own food and place with name labels which are provided in storage boxes or in the fridge. I slept in an all female dorm with 8 beds. There is a pool table, games, books and a cozy fireplace you can warm up on one of the comfy couches at the end of the day. There are laundry facilities in a room out the back door which leads out a a back area. Parking is located close by, which you can gain access through the back gate, instead of walking around to the front of the building. If there are no parks, you can park on the side street. I enjoyed my experience in this accommodation being around like minded people and listening to their interesting stories of travel. Very close to everything, including the Three Sisters at Echo Point Lookout and the cute little town filled with little antique shops, food and your local Woolies. IGA is just next door so a very handy location. Staff were so lovely and always prepared to provide advise or answer any questions. Thank you for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Parking is the second turn off the Main Street where the building is located. The first is the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Blue Mountains Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at YHA Blue Mountains
Responded 10 July 2023
Hi Transept, it's great to know that you enjoyed our property so much and made use of the games we provide for guests. Many of our staff are locals and love to talk about the beautiful mountains so we are happy we could provide you with some advice of how to best explore it. If your ever back in the mountains we would love the opportunity to host you again. Safe Travels, Isobella
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Des R wrote a review Aug 2020
New South Wales, Australia5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here on Saturday night with 3 hiking friends after a hull day hiking. Stayed in one of the family rooms with two bunk beds, room was clean and heaters worked very well. Staff were extremely friendly and would recommend it to anyone who just want to lay their head at night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Soraia wrote a review Apr 2024
Rotterdam, The Netherlands1,842 contribution141 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service: very helpful
Rooms: private en-suite are worth it
Cleanliness: good-ish
Breakfast: not worth $$$
Location: great
Price: fair
Wifi: very good especially you would like to work (video editing etc)

We enjoyed our stay here. We did a little workation and were happy to find out they had a separate work room. Should be cleaned a little bit more, but good to enjoy our private space there.

Private room was big enough and we were happy with own bathroom.

Staff is very friendly and ready to help. Kitchen is spacious. We did not think that the breakfast was worth the $$$ not much option and expensive for what you get.

Other than that great place to stay because location is very good. Walking distance from a couple attractions and must sees.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenna wrote a review Apr 2024
Nairobi, Kenya34 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great youth hostel in a good location. Aldi is across the road which makes getting food is very straightforward. The kitchen items could have been cleaner (I appreciate this is down to other guests). The rooms were tired but clean and very spacious (we stayed in a family en suite room). Some staff were helpful and some less so. The staff member with blue hair was amazingly helpful and friendly and really kind. The manager was less so (I couldn’t quite put my finger on the issues but she was quite unhelpful).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is available
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Blue Mountains Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at YHA Blue Mountains
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Jenna, Thanks for the review and the good vibes! We're thrilled you enjoyed our rooms. Sorry about any kitchen mishaps; we're working on making it spotless for everyone. Huge shoutout to our blue-haired superhero Ariel! As for the manager (yours truly), I promise to sprinkle some extra helpfulness and friendliness in your next visit. Can't wait to have you back for more memorable adventures! Sincerely, Flavia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian S wrote a review Jan 2023
Melbourne, Australia87 contributions23 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When I arrived the woman at reception didn't come off as all that welcoming (I'd just driven 13 hours from Melbourne so I wasn't in a good mood at the time) and didn't seem all that interested in helping me out.

Luckily the rest of the staff I interacted with were polite, helpful and professional.

The hostel itself is large and can cater for its guests - the location is also very ideal.

My other big criticism is that the showers can get pretty cramped.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Euphemia Q wrote a review May 2021
Sydney, Australia25 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Always a warm welcome here at the YHA, I've spent many weekends away in Katoomba and Leura, this gets me every time with everything I need, including clean and tidy rooms, with radiators :) on an autumn/wintery night!. You can have an en-suite if you don't want to share your bathroom. Bring a beer or a wine and sit on the back deck and read, or share your stories with other travellers! Cheap and cheerful? definitely :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natalie A wrote a review Feb 2023
15 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location. Nice atmosphere.
Foam mattress was so uncomfortable to sleep on.
Noisy common room late at night = poor sleep
Shared fridge was gross. Need stricter measures for storing and disposing of refrigerated food.
Hit and miss with friendly and rude staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Blue Mountains Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at YHA Blue Mountains
Responded 10 July 2023
Dear Natalie, I'm glad you enjoyed the convenience of our location and the atmosphere of our property. However, it's unfortunate to hear you had an unconfutable sleep and issues with our communal kitchen facilities. I am glad that you shared your feedback as we have taken your comments into account and used them to re asses our cleaning routine. I am very pleased to let you know our kitchen has had an upgrade. The fridges are now checked daily for the food of people who have checked out. as well as undergoing a weekly sanitising deep clean. We have also placed more signs to inform guests to reduce noise. And have already begun to update the mattresses that are a bit older. If we get the chance to welcome you back, I'm sure you will be highly impressed by many of the changes that are taking place this year. Safe travels, Bluemountains YHA
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mab888 asked a question Dec 2017
Amsterdam, The Netherlands3 contributions2 helpful votes
I would not stay here again as other guests are very noisy late at night
Answer from YHA_Backpacker
Sydney, Australia158 contributions
Hi Mab - sorry you were disturbed by other guests. We do have a staff member who lives on site, and there is a telephone link at reception for any guests to use to get staff assistance, so we would encourage you to always get help from our staff in these circumstances.
Rachel H asked a question Oct 2016
19 contributions3 helpful votes
Hiya. Can we store luggage before the 2pm check in?
Answer from Lisa E
112 contributions31 helpful votes
yes you can it will cost you 2$ for a four hours (not sure about the hours) and 3$ for the whole day. you can ask at the reception! good luck
Rachel H asked a question Oct 2016
19 contributions3 helpful votes
Hiya. Can we store luggage before the 2pm check in?
Answer from Lisa E
112 contributions31 helpful votes
yes but it wil cost you $2 for a couple of hours and 3$ vmfor a whole day. just ask at thw reception
Answer from YHA_Backpacker
Sydney, Australia158 contributions
Hi Zxeng As the other reviewers have said - yes, there are car parks - one large and one smaller and plenty of spots. Then there is street parking as well. It is very safe as the Katoomba Police station is right opposite the hostel! There is no charge for car parking. Look forward to seeing you at the hostel.
Jenna wrote a tip Apr 2024
Nairobi, Kenya34 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is available"
Read full review
Paula B wrote a tip Oct 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walking distance to bush walks, train station and local cafes/restaurants"
Read full review
Triscina wrote a tip Apr 2023
Gold Coast, Australia106 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is the second turn off the Main Street where the building is located. The first is the staff car park."
Read full review
Megan wrote a tip Sept 2022
Brighton, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you recycle apparently!"
Read full review
Cherie H wrote a tip Sept 2020
Roumazieres-Loubert, France313 contributions104 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the 3rd floor waterfall wing is far enough away from communal area for a quiet stay if your a lite sleeper."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Katoomba area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$78 - AU$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesBlue MountainsKatoomba
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

YHA BLUE MOUNTAINS (AU$78): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Katoomba) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Yha Blue Mountains
Which popular attractions are close to Yha Blue Mountains?
Nearby attractions include Blue Mountains Cultural Centre (0.4 km), Street Art Walk - by Street Art Murals Australia (0.2 km), and Lost Bear Gallery (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Yha Blue Mountains?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, laundry service, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Yha Blue Mountains?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Yha Blue Mountains?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Yha Blue Mountains?
Conveniently located restaurants include Basil Nut Cafe and Restaurant, Unique Patisserie, and Yellow Deli.
Is Yha Blue Mountains located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Katoomba.
Are any cleaning services offered at Yha Blue Mountains?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Yha Blue Mountains?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Leura Post Office (2.0 km).
Is Yha Blue Mountains accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Katoomba HotelsKatoomba Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KatoombaHotels near Yha Blue Mountains
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars