Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mercure Sydney Bankstown

8 Greenfield Parade Entry from 6 Mona Street, Bankstown, New South Wales 2200 Australia
Traveller (16)
Second room lets try that again NOPE still not a KING MATTRESS in the KING ROOM
Room & Suite (27)
Restaurant
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#4 of 5 hotels in Bankstown
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Consider a stay at Mercure Sydney Bankstown and take advantage of a coffee shop/cafe and features of the neighbouring Bankstown Sports Club a bar. Be sure to enjoy a meal at any of the 8 on-site restaurants, which feature Italian cuisine and more. In addition to a fitness centre, guests can connect to free in-room WiFi, with a speed of 100+ Mbps (good for 1–2 people or up to 6 devices). You'll also find perks such as: • Free self-parking • Limo/town car service, an electric car charging station and ATM/banking services • Smoke-free property, meeting rooms and luggage storage • Guest reviews give top marks for the dining options and pool Room features All guest rooms at Mercure Sydney Bankstown feature comforts, such as Laptop workspace and climate-controlled air conditioning, as well as amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access and Desk chair. Guest reviews speak positively of the overall comfort, size rooms at the property. Extra conveniences in all rooms include: • Bathrooms with showers and free toiletries • 40-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels • Kitchenettes, full-sized fridge/freezers and microwaves To note, the hotel requires a valid ID to be presented on check in (rules from Bankstown sports club). The best entry to the hotel from 6 Mona Street.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Rooftop bar
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English

Location

8 Greenfield Parade Entry from 6 Mona Street, Bankstown, New South Wales 2200 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 94 out of 100
94
Sydney Airport
13.7 km
See all flights
Wollongong Airport
75.6 km
See all flights
Bankstown
3 minSydney Trains
18Reviews0Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 2
  • 4
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Gold Coast Traveller wrote a review Sept 2022
Gold Coast, Australia332 contributions145 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Newly renovated Property within the Bankstown Sports Club precinct.

Hotel was previously a Travelodge but has come under the Accor Group as a Mercure Hotel.

Rooms have been renovated and hotel felt very fresh and clean . Beds were amazing . Large TV with plenty of channels. Renovated bathroom.

We booked a standard room but we were upgraded to a King Superior.

Accor Plus Platinum gift was sparkling water and a box of treats .

Hotel doesn’t offer breakfast in house although they did supply a breakfast box to me as Platinum Member.

There is no arrangement with the club as yet for dining or drinks privileges through Accor although you can join the club for free for 10% off meals and drinks. Club had lots of dining venues and a cafe.

Secure undercover complimentary parking. Hotel is in good proximity to the M5.

Very friendly and helpful staff who communicated with me prior to my stay about the breakfast arrangements and provided information about parking.

Overall a very pleasant stay and I would not hesitate to stay again should the need arise.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Entry to the car park is off Mona Street.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Nott, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Dear 584cassandral, Thank you for your lovely review of Mercure Sydney Bankstown. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hayley P wrote a review 4 May
Perth, Australia65 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a disappointment. The hotel rooms are run down, the water pressure in the grotty shower was basically like someone was drooling on me. Very small cupboard space and no room service for food or drinks.

The views are rather lovely and it’s only saving grace was the friendly and very helpful reception staff and the fact it’s in the Bankstown Sports Club which offers an escape.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jack H, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 527hayleyp, I'm truly sorry to hear about your disappointing experience during your recent stay with us. Providing comfortable accommodations and excellent service are top priorities for us, and it's disheartening to learn that we fell short of meeting your expectations. I apologise for the issues you encountered with the condition of the room, water pressure, and lack of room service. Your feedback is invaluable, and I assure you that we will address these concerns internally to ensure that necessary improvements are made to enhance the quality of our accommodations and services. I'm glad to hear that you found our reception staff friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed the views and the amenities offered by Bankstown Sports Club. If there's anything else we can do to assist you or if you have any further feedback to share, please don't hesitate to reach out. We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Jack H Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle B wrote a review Feb 2023
Adelaide, Australia184 contributions132 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We love staying here, the atmosphere is like a mini Vegas. Plenty of restaurants & bars within the sports club to visit, you don't need to venture out. We were on the 6th floor facing the train station, room was big enough with the usual amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Nott, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Responded 26 Feb 2023
Dear michelle300466, Thank you for the lovely review you provided for your last stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed it and agree its an amazing destination. We hope you have a chance to visit us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nathaen M wrote a review Dec 2022
Brisbane, Australia350 contributions215 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I changed my booking from the Rydges to the Mercure Bankstown knowing what the Mercure brand is. Well, what can I say apart from ‘won’t make that mistake again’. Mercure has had the property since about mid 2022 and I fail to see what they have changed from the once Travelodge to justify the prices charged. It certainly is not the customer service from one particular check in agent, it certainly is not the quality of the rooms (in fact there are no longer sports channels and there is still the Travelodge logo on some items). Rooms are still exactly the same as Travelodge days with the slippery bathroom tiles and the shower door that opens and hits the toilet. On top of that there is the lift situation…..if signs are going to be put up letting people use the service lift then perhaps there should be better communication with the Bankstown Sports staff (just so paying guests aren’t scolded for doing exactly as the sign says).

And to top it off…..the agent on check out didn’t even query how our stay was! I guess they know the story here too!

Next time I will stick with my judgement and not change bookings!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to main lifts on a weekend. Ask to be placed away from lifts!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Nott, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Dear NathaenM, Thankyou for choosing to stay with Mercure Sydney Bankstown. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. We will certainly work on our guest experience both at checkin and departure as this is certainly not the level of service that we aim for. I am sorry about the experience you had with the Bankstown Sports Club staff. I will follow up with the team there about that. I understand that the Travelodge here has not had sports channels since 2019 but your preference for this offer is duly noted. Thank you for providing your feedback about you stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in 2023. Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
graydon g wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Could had been better seem very strange to have to gambling and always have to show a pass everytime you got off work and wanted to sleep cleaning could have been better with seen dusted. Only one working elevator so if your in a rush be prepared to wait. Great location to attend work on time
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jack H, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Responded 23 Mar 2024
Dear graydong2020, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and that you encountered some issues during your stay. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the need to show a pass every time you returned to the hotel. Your feedback is valuable, and we will review the security procedures to ensure they are within the Clubs NSW Legislation while also being guest-friendly. Additionally, we regret that you found cleanliness to be lacking, and we will address this with our housekeeping team to ensure all areas are thoroughly cleaned and dusted. Regarding the elevator situation, we understand how frustrating it can be to wait, especially when in a rush. We will work to address any maintenance issues promptly to ensure smooth operation of our facilities. We're glad to hear that our location was convenient for attending work on time, but we regret that other aspects of your stay fell short. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a much-improved experience in the future. Warm Regards, Jack H
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Glenn R wrote a review Feb 2023
12 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice stay but very disappointed that my phone charger which was left plugged in near the television disappeared. I have left it behind still plugged into the power point near the television. Phoned motel within an hour and a half after leaving, had to phone back next day after motel contact made with housekeeping but apparently it disappeared in between us vacating room and room being serviced. How secure are these rooms ?
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Triple check your belongings staying here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Nott, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Responded 14 Feb 2023
Dear Glennr705, I'm sorry to hear that you were unable to locate your lost property after your stay with us at Mercure Sydney Bankstown. I understand how important it is to have your belongings with you, and it's disappointing to hear that they are still missing. We take all reports of lost property very seriously and have thoroughly searched our premises for any items that may have been left behind. Our team has also checked with our lost and found department to see if your belongings were turned in. Unfortunately, we have been unable to locate them. I understand that you may be concerned that your property was stolen, and please know that we take any allegations of theft very seriously. We have investigated this matter further and have found no evidence of theft. However, we will continue to monitor our security measures and take any necessary steps to ensure the safety and security of our guests. I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you, and if there's anything else we can do to assist you, please do not hesitate to contact us. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caml2f wrote a review Dec 2023
Bankstown, Australia83 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here with the family when we had the Lebanese Film Festival in Bankstown. It was a great stay. Staff were very helpful and the location made it very easy. The rooms were clean, and the hotel takes you straight into the Bankstown Sports Club which has all the amenities you need - cafe, restaurants, gym etc. Highly recommend for anyone staying in Sydney.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is plentiful at the sports club.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jack H, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Responded 28 Jan 2024
Dear Caml2f, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience at our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with your family during the Lebanese Film Festival in Bankstown. It is an amazing initiative in our area, that we are all proud of in our area, as well as being an even prouder sponsor of! We appreciate your kind words about our staff and are thrilled that their helpfulness contributed to your enjoyable stay. Our prime location with easy access to Bankstown and the convenience of nearby train stations is indeed one of our key highlights. It's fantastic to know that you found the rooms clean and that the integration with the Bankstown Sports Club added value to your experience. We're glad you could take advantage of the club's amenities, including the cafe, restaurants, and gym. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we hope to welcome you back for any future stays in Sydney. If there's anything specific you'd like to share about your time with us or if there are ways we can enhance your next visit, please don't hesitate to let us know. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your positive feedback! Best Regards, Jack Hamilton General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
simono329 wrote a review Oct 2023
Hamilton Island, Australia814 contributions171 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Steer clear from here. So the hotel has been recently renovated and appears on all levels to be 4 stars, lotsa recent work and rooms are tiny but comfortable. Yep looked like 4 stars. However that’s where it stopped. This is when people and leadership matter the most running a service business. Sometimes that doesn’t intersect with reality.

The service this week

A) hassling me on the phone when you know and have been advised twice that I have an emergency family issue I’m dealing with. (Yeah also disappointed to lose an extra day for 1 hour late checkout time that you’ll get revenue for as it’s fully booked! )

I actually got that last part - you need to make money to survive - but have some heart people!

B) under voyager plus membership I am entitled to an alc drink on arrival. This was refused. WTF?

C) Bankstown services club forcing checkin to go to lift despite being checked in for the week by hotel

Seriously people learn a little bit of EI !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Staying here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jack H, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Responded 29 Oct 2023
Dear Simono329, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your insights into your recent stay at Mercure Sydney Bankstown. We're glad to hear that you found our recently renovated rooms to be comfortable and in good condition. However, we're truly sorry to hear about your overall experience and the inconveniences you faced. We understand the importance of empathy and sensitivity in such situations, and it seems like we fell short in providing the understanding and support you needed during a challenging time. We sincerely apologise for any additional stress caused. We apologise for the misunderstanding with your Voyager Plus membership benefits on check in. Do to not having food and beverage within the hotel that is one of the soft benefits we are not able to provide currently unfortunately. We are working with the Bankstown Sports Club to hopefully in the short term future be able to provide this benefit to our loyal members. So we are able to provide an experience that does meet the standards we aim to provide, and we appreciate your patience and understanding. We are committed to improving our service and ensuring that all guests have a more enjoyable and stress-free stay. We truly value your feedback, and it will help us enhance our services for future guests. We hope you consider giving us another opportunity in the future to provide you with a better experience. If you do decide to return, please don't hesitate to reach out to our team directly to discuss your needs and expectations. Warm regards, Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter G wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia1,996 contribution587 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve tried every hotel in south western Sydney and we keep coming back here (over 20 times).

Rooms are fine and quiet. The staff are very pleasant. Sasha and Kevin do a great job with their team.

Plenty of free parking downstairs. Situated as part of Bankstown Sports Club so there are plenty of good quality restaurants downstairs.

Wifi and chrome cast is patchy but aircon is good and everything is clean.

Recognition for Accor members is good. Welcome drink is water. Sometimes we get chocolates and we always get upgraded (thanks guys).

See you next week.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jack H, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Responded 7 Jan 2024
Dear PeterG873, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, your loyalty and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. We're thrilled to hear that you've had a great stay with us over 20 times! It's fantastic to know that you find our rooms comfortable and quiet, and we appreciate your kind words about our staff, especially Sasha, Kevin, and the team. We're delighted that you enjoy the convenience of our location within Bankstown Sports Club and the variety of quality restaurants. We apologise for any inconvenience with the wifi and Chromecast and appreciate your understanding. Your loyalty as Accor members is highly valued, and we're glad to hear you've experienced the benefits. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay next week and appreciate your ongoing support. Best regards, Jack Hamilton Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah H wrote a review Feb 2023
Adelaide, Australia54 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here 6 times in the last 10 years and have never been disappointed. Would highly recommend it. Everything is there. We arrived Monday now is Friday and we haven't had to move our car from the car park. So many choices to eat at. We will be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Nott, General Manager at Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Responded 26 Feb 2023
Dear K4615SQdeborahh, Thank you for your fantastic review of our Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your 6 stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Caml2f wrote a tip Dec 2023
Bankstown, Australia83 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is plentiful at the sports club."
Read full review
simono329 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Hamilton Island, Australia814 contributions171 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Staying here"
Read full review
James H wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"wait till the renovations are finished."
Read full review
Glenn R wrote a tip Feb 2023
12 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Triple check your belongings staying here."
Read full review
Nathaen M wrote a tip Dec 2022
Brisbane, Australia350 contributions215 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid rooms close to main lifts on a weekend. Ask to be placed away from lifts!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bankstown area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$172 - AU$199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Travelodge Hotel Bankstown Sydney
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater SydneyBankstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
214
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERCURE SYDNEY BANKSTOWN (AU$172): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Sydney Bankstown?
Nearby attractions include Telstra Museum (0.3 km), Monkey Mania (0.02 km), and Just Bathroom Kitchen Renovations (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Sydney Bankstown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Sydney Bankstown?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Sydney Bankstown?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Sydney Bankstown?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Sydney Bankstown?
Conveniently located restaurants include An Restaurant, Basement Brewhouse, and Greenfield Station Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Sydney Bankstown?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Mercure Sydney Bankstown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Bankstown.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Sydney Bankstown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dunc Gray Velodrome (3.4 km).
Is Mercure Sydney Bankstown accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Bankstown HotelsBankstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BankstownHotels near Mercure Sydney Bankstown
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars