We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Booking.comUSD 30*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 127*
USD 30*
Great Deal
USD 67*
USD 67*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 425: English reviews
Start your review of Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here with 2 other friends for 1 night and decided to stay a couple of more nights after this. It was a great hostel. It's really spacious and it reminds me of a bungalow park which is pretty cool. The hostel has 2 pools and the staff are really friendly. Great stay, would definitely recommend this hostel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Melissa W, Thanks for you review and I'm so happy to hear you had a great time. We love our location and that we have such a big space and the two pools for all our guests to relax around. Our crew here are awesome too, thanks so much. We look forward to seeing you again the next time...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nomads airlie beach is an awesome hostel me and 2 friends stayed at a family room and had an awesome time in there. Enough space, shower, toilet etc. The whole complex was really cool as well with some bars. The staff was really friendly as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu D
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Mathieu, So happy to hear you had a great time with us and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit us here in paradise. Until then, safe and happy travels. Take Care, Kind regards, Ali Alty Assistant Manager, Base/Nomads Airlie Beach

Barcelona
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The staff in this hostel have an attitude problem. I was received with zero empathy on both check in and check out. There are large queues to check in and check out, and the luggage is left unsecured and untagged, even when they make you pay for it! The rooms are acceptable, but everything else was so bad I can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fj3
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I found the staff helpful and friendly and the hostel was, well, a hostel. My only negative points are that the luggage room was never locked so very insecure and no lockers available in the rooms. Otherwise it was okay, not the best but definitely not the worst. Would recommend if you're looking for cheap accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie F
The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nomads in Airlie Beach is a very very good hostel! The staff is very friendly and nice, the rooms are ensuite which is perfect (two showers and a toilet separate), Shed Bar is a nice bar with some good deals and the pool is lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma K
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stayed at Nomads last week in between our boat trip to the Whitsundays and it was the most fun we've had at any hostel on the East Coast. We were greeted by the friendliest staff who were not only so helpful but really fun and had the best night with the girls that worked on reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurenbruce39
Pullman, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great atmosphere, pool, bar and plenty of people to socialize with! Shed Bar is the place to be if you're looking to party. The dorms have ensuite bathrooms and are very clean. Only improvement would be a better/bigger kitchen as it got really crowded. Definitely the best hostel in Airlie Beach!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brooke A
AllyAlty, Assistant Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Brooke A, Im so pleased to hear you had an awesome time with us and thanks for the lovely review. If you ever come back to paradise wed love you to come and check out all our new and exciting renovations that we have under way at the moment, including new kitchens and our new bar too! Until then,...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I only stayed at this hostel for one night but didn't enjoy it. I found the staff unhelpful, aloof and unfriendly, and they didn't explain anything very well. The kitchen was extremely overcrowded and didn't have enough equipment. The rooms were fine but there were no plugs by the beds, which can be a problem when there are 8 people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirbzzz
AllyAlty, Assistant Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Kirbzzz, Thanks for your review. You were very right in assuming that some of our facilities are out of order due to the cyclone that ripped through our town a month ago. Many homes and buisnesses are still without wifi/phones as the signal towers suffered extensive damage and they are still working on restoring this. Apologies. We are running...

Vancouver, BC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had some problems with my room but it was all sorted out and I was given a refund. Took a while but it was resolved. Thank you to the staff at Nomads. Hostel seems like a good place to meet people and socializ

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
AllyAlty, Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Martin S So happy we could resolve the issues you had and send you off with a smile on your face, we look forward to seeing you again if not in Airlie Beach then in one of our other hostels in Australia or New Zealand. Thanks for the Review mate. Robbie Romano General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After doing some research I decided to book Nomads as it had all the facilities I felt I needed. However, I called twice to book because I was doing a two night Whitsundays tour in the middle of my stay so I thought it would be easier to talk to someone than make two separate bookings. Both times I called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia S
AllyAlty, Assistant Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Olivia S, Thanks for your review. I can see that you stayed with us immediately after Cyclone Debbie hit Airlie Beach, and as you noticed we were one of a small number of hostels in operation at this time. The damage we suffered was extensive, and the road to recovery has been a long one, not just for us...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#41 of 54 in Airlie Beach
520 reviews
0.1 km away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
457 reviews
0.4 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#34 of 54 in Airlie Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
420 reviews
0.1 km away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
187 reviews
0.2 km away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chill out in our tropical paradise in the centre of Airlie Beach Nomads Airlie Beach has 7 acres of tropical flora and fauna right in the centre of town, a relaxing atmosphere with a swimming pool, volleyball court and a poolside bar. Our Airlie Beach Hostel re-opened after a complete re-fit and renovation, now featuring brand new comfy beds and a fully kitted out communal kitchen. Our Nomads Airlie Beach accommodation also has proper camping facilities right in the centre in the town. (Tents, powered and non-powered sites). Trips to the must-see Whitsunday Islands depart from Airlie Beach and we can help you to choose the right boat for you, just pop in to see the travel staff! Accommodation options: choose from a variety of room types, from doubles and twins to shared dorm accommodation and powered or non-powered campsites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Address: 354 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: $29 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers Whitsunday Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the middle are louder because shed bar is always rowdy.”
yves1995, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“hit up Moli he will show you how airlie beach turns it up”
802jeremyk, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You get what you pay for”
514kirag, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the walking street for quietness”
JiiBird, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away if you can't sleep with ongoing noise throughout the night, it's more a backpackers after all.”
767steffeng, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 30* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 67
Hotwire.comUSD 67
AMOMAUSD 127
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates