We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
See the most recent reviews
Showing 448: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2016

The friendly and very helpful staff made this a great place to stay. Accommodation is modern, spacious, well appointed and well maintained - and located next to the beach and in the centre of town (such as it is!). Offering great value for self-catering visitors, the range of restaurants and cafes within 5 minutes walk make it suitable for every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feedback. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our facilities met your standards and expectations and that Palm Cove was a satisfying holiday destination.

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Studio apt. very small, kitchen tiny and very little in the way of crockery, glasses etc, it was tacked onto where the balcony should have been. The apt. Looked as if it needed a good scrub - wouldn't say the pool/spa area looked inviting. The staff were friendly,the outdoor BBQ area was good, and the resort was very close to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bezz194
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the BBQ area, location and found our staff to be friendly. Had you raised your concerns about the size of the apartment and any issues around cleanliness at the time of your stay we would have been more than happy to have addressed your concerns. Leaving a review 6...

Pakenham, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Loved out stay. Wonderfully friendly and helpful managers Joanne and co. Only 100 metres back from main street and beach. Pool was heated to 29 degrees surrounded by lots of rainforest trees so it was warm in the pool and cool out of it. Felt very private away from the main street. Room very nice. King bed. Balcony overlooks the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank peterjcrowe
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed the Reef Retreat, gardens and grounds and the proximity to the beach and the Esplanade. Our resort does offer a shady, private and sheltered retreat but with all amenities and facilities within a short and pleasant walking distance. You are most welcome to return and enjoy Palm Cove as an ideal Tropical North Queensland...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Wonderful spacious accommodation, perfect for a family with teens. Stayed in the 3 bed townhouse and it was fab, stocked with everything that you needed. A atroll to the beach and local restaurants. We all loved it and hope to return soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marita H
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your Stay at Reef Retreat and the Town House accommodation. It is pleasing to know that the accommodation met all of your needs and expectations and that you enjoyed Palm Cove as a holiday destination. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Scotland
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Having booked Reef Retreat (via Freedom Australia) almost 18 months previously we arrived in Palm Cove for the final relaxing stage of our once in a lifetime trip to Australia. Imagine our disappointment and anger when we were advised we were to be in the Townhouse (across the road away from the main buildings and pool) and not in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Inverclyde
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Your booking for a 3 bedroom apartment was received on 12th February 2015 and due to an administrative error you were allocated a 3 bedroom townhouse instead of a 3 bedroom apartment. As soon as this error was discovered we acknowledged fault and we sincerely apologized many times. There was no double or over booking of rooms, as you have...

Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We recently stayed in the apartments across the road for the New Year period. This was our second stay in these apartments with three adults and three children. Again we were really happy with the apartment size and facilities. Joanne was quick to address an issue with the shower head coming off, which was much appreciated. We enjoyed using both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmw19
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Sincere thanks for your stay and for review of the Town House accommodation component of the Reef Retreat. We look forward to welcoming you for your third stay!

Skanderborg, Denmark
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We had a very pleasant stay in Palm Cove, of which the Apartment in The Reef Retreat played an important part. The location very close to the Beach and close to restaurants and supermarket worked just perfect for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbjanik
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Great to hear your stay was a pleasant one.

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016

My second stay in a year. As before nice clean self contained room. Plenty to do in area, plenty to places to eat and shop. If your like me and not a fan of hotels and having to go somewhere to eat all the time these little apartments are great. Fridge, hob, kettle etc, bbq outside (where I did a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon B
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thanks for your review John. It was great to see you back again and to get to opportunity to meet other members of your family. We hope to see you back again some day ... the BBQ awaits you.

North Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Myself and two children stayed over Christmas and were looked after fantastically, thank you Jim and Joanne. Anything I asked for was accommodated where possible. The room and lounge fitted our needs perfectly and the accommodation was in was in excellent condition, love the plantation shutters. To be honest where else in Palm Cove can you have a self contained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank archie2442
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2016

After hosting Christmas and having a house guest the previous week, we were looking forward to a relaxing stay at the Reef Retreat. With the little chores and inconveniences, it ended up feeling too much like being at home, only without the niceties and the cleanliness we enjoy in our home. The cleanliness of the room on arrival was average...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sand175
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We regret to hear that your stay at The Reef Retreat did not meet your expectations. The Reef Retreat is a complex of self contained self catering apartments, it is not a full service hotel. “As with most self-catering apartments daily housekeeping is not included in the room rate but can be arranged for a...

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.3 km away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 km away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
860 reviews
0.1 km away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.7 km away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Address: 10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Price Range: $132 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove Queensland
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reef Retreat Palm Cove staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Reef Retreat Palm Cove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“apartment on R side corner 1st floor was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles lisabC9169JQ, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the upper level are great.”
 of 5 bubbles Sue1951, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a ground level room and were right next to the pool, excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles LucyM762, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Talk to staff before booking to get what you want”
 of 5 bubbles andreamI8690NT, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask if you want a view, level floor. State what you would like”
 of 5 bubbles rlgarland, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay