We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

AAOK Karratha Caravan Park

Lot 1060 Mooligunn Rd, Karratha, Western Australia WA 6714 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 5 campsites in Karratha
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Snack bar
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Laundry service
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Seating area
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
29Reviews2Q+A2Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 7
  • 10
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
caddyandbellA wrote a review Sept 2023
Perth, Australia4677 contributions478 helpful votes
+1
We were passing through Karratha with friends and my husband decided he wanted to stay at this park as we used to live here in the 1980s.It wasnt good in those days and I was interested to see what had changed.NOTHING!!!!!It is still as grotty as it ever was.The front reception and shop area had improvements done but the park remained the same with the toilets and laundry being exactly as it was all those years ago but with a lick of paint.The door to the womens toilets didnt have a handle,just a gap and you pushed the door open.The toilets had broken toilet roll holders and dicky locks.The benches and showers were permanently stained red.The laundry had a few machines which were free to use so bonus points for that but you had to queue to use them.Very tight sites with you being very close to your neighbours.I would not stay here again but if you just want to be here for a night and drive into town for supplies ,it was ok.You are out of town and will need to unhook your van and drive in to do shopping and sight seeing.Pet friendly.Needs sooo much money spent on it to bring it up to standard.Our site had some grass but there was a stump in the middle of our annex where we put a milk crate over it so we didnt kick it
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go to a caravan park in town
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dave J wrote a review Oct 2022
Maryborough, Australia3 contributions6 helpful votes
The owner was an arrogant fowl mouth person complaining about people in the park steering water and LPG hence no cas for showers for 3 days. The only good thing about the park was the food and free washing machines apart from that I would go to a better park closer to town.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
andrew p wrote a review Aug 2022
Dufftown, United Kingdom513 contributions181 helpful votes
stayed elsewhere as full but great pop in on way to work for food and coffees very friendly and helpful staff freshly made coffee but instant available if required hearty wholesome breakfast which more than met requirements for us every day for 2 weeks food available through day also which is again more than adequate liquor shop also on site if needed
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Käthe T wrote a review Feb 2022
Wahgunyah, Australia20 contributions8 helpful votes
The food is just like Christmas at Nannas, but you don’t have to see relatives you don’t like and no one has to do the dishes! Highly recommend seafood night a wide selection. Our second visit we will definitely be back Thank you to the team here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SteveLaing wrote a review Aug 2021
Perth, Australia20 contributions7 helpful votes
Great clean & tidy showers & Toilets. Awesome resturant with great deals and lots of good hot food. Sunday roast buffet a must. Small sites Very very noisy up the office end of camp, fridge motors whine all night. Stay as far away from office as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cathy G wrote a review July 2021
Albany Western Australia36 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed for 1 night before flying out early in the morning. We were upgraded to 2 bedroom accom, which was appreciated. Free washing machine including the powder. Short walk to the brewery for dinner. Everything was clean and the staff were friendly. Its just quite industrial and treeless but adequate for our needs. Friend living in Karratha said some of the food at the cafe was good too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Good option for short stay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jandp768 wrote a review June 2021
Bendigo, Australia899 contributions114 helpful votes
We stayed here for a night $40 and the washing machines free. The park is very run down and it’s a long walk too the loos if you’re up the back. It served its purpose and we were grateful for the washing, some more clothes lines would be good though. Girl on the front desk was excellent, very welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jade Wellings, General Manager at AAOK Karratha Caravan Park
Responded 1 July 2021
thanks for takin the time to leave us a review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marie B wrote a review June 2021
13 contributions3 helpful votes
We arrived 2 nights early due to car trouble and appreciated being able to stay. The availability of rubbish and recycle bins, WIFI and the sites are a very good size hence my 2 star rating. The first night we were there we found that we could not book into the longer term site we have reserved i.e. #51 as quote "it is not available, they are due to leave tomorrow morning". When we pulled into our lot for our one night stay, we saw that #51 was vacant and the people next door to it said no-one had been there for 2 nights. The next day we had to move to site #51 and it was still vacant at 7am. I went to reception to be told "obviously they didn't arrive" so if they hadn't arrived, and were only staying 1 night, why could we not have had one site the night before and not had to move the next morning. We have a hybrid van and takes 2 hours to set up and 1 hour to pack up so there was the first morning gone to waste. We were not alone - I met 4 other couples that morning who had to move to new sites too. This seemed to be a daily occurrence from what we heard during our stay. Do these people running the Karratha park know what they are doing - do they know how to manage the software so you move site availability on the computer not the physical location of the vans? Two other couples had booked months ago for adjoining sites and when they arrived there were many vacant sites. The park had them on opposite sides of the park! They refused to accept that and once parked would not move from being together. One of our neighbours complained about one receptionist being rude and I heard her come onto a site to apologise for being short with someone else. But wait there is more. The second morning we awoke at 7am to trees being pruned; the chainsaw noise was incredible. They were all finished before lunch so why not have the arborists hired to do the job, begin at a reasonable time? Poor management again. The showers were not clean although there was no shortage of consumables and I had 2 cold showers. The clipboard for cleaning routine and check was there on the shelf and BLANK! The privacy locks on the shower cubicles and toilets were either not there or not working – I had to screw one into place. The chain at entry to the park was broken and there was only a single lane for both in and out of the park. I still laugh at the silly sign they have installed "STOP Wait for incoming traffic to pass" well you might be waiting a long time! Better to say "STOP Give Way to incoming traffic". Would I recommend staying here - only if there is nowhere else you can be.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jade Wellings, General Manager at AAOK Karratha Caravan Park
Responded 1 July 2021
I'm sorry, but your description doesn't match our caravan park. We don't have a site 51 (our site numbers don't go that high), and the entrance (chain fence and sign) described doesn't match our park. I think you've left your review on the wrong property. I will let Trip Advisor know.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rachel B wrote a review June 2021
1 contribution
I’ve never left a review before. This caravan park needs to close or be upgraded. Girls in the office super friendly, guy that helped us back in super friendly. Park is not even full and they have put us on the smallest most difficult site to back in to. No place for our car to park. On top of that we are right in front of the toilets and the smell is dreadful. We have travelled extensively within Australia and this has to be one of the worst parks we have stayed in. Never have I sat in my van and smelt such a dreadful smell. We will be leaving first light in the morning and moving on, which is a shame as I would have loved to explore the area a bit more.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jade Wellings, General Manager at AAOK Karratha Caravan Park
Responded 7 June 2021
I'm sorry to hear that you were not given a better site. If you do return, please feel welcome to choose your own site, and pending availability it won't be a problem. This is a family owned caravan park and is slowly being upgraded. As the toilets do not normally smell as you have described, we will investigate this. Thank you for the feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dion A wrote a review Nov 2019
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Ablutions are very run down so are the lawns and tidiness of the park in general, but I’m sure over time it will make a turn for the better , location is great , bottle shop and cafe is a great idea ..very basic park but hey as my Title states it’s not Big4 ..,but has ammenities for a stay over .. please note the girls at the office have a laugh with customers ..Ok for the price
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from jadew2013, General Manager at AAOK Karratha Caravan Park
Responded 29 Nov 2019
Hi Dion, thanks for taking the time to review us, hope to see you back sometime.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Karratha area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$277 - AU$299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaThe PilbaraKarratha
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AAOK KARRATHA CARAVAN PARK (AU$277): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about AAOK Karratha Caravan Park
Which popular attractions are close to AAOK Karratha Caravan Park?
Nearby attractions include Yaburara Heritage Trail (0.5 km), Barrow Island Marine Park (3.6 km), and The Tav Sports Bar (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at AAOK Karratha Caravan Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at AAOK Karratha Caravan Park?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at AAOK Karratha Caravan Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, barbeque facilities, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at AAOK Karratha Caravan Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to AAOK Karratha Caravan Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include empire6714, Bollywood Lounge, and Bushlolly Cafe.
Are pets allowed at AAOK Karratha Caravan Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.