We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1750 David Low Way, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 139
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Vio.com
USD 130
Hotels.comUSD 139
PricelineUSD 145
Agoda.comUSD 145
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (218)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#8 of 12 apartments in Coolum Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Secured parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Spa
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
418Reviews2Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 143
  • 87
  • 44
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
bronniemac wrote a review Apr 2023
Brisbane, Australia128 contributions74 helpful votes
As a couple we stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a partial ocean view. Kitchen, dining & lounge together, separate bedroom with king bed, separate bathroom combines with laundry. Though the apartment was a little dated it was clean, comfortable and had all we needed. There is a reasonable sized balcony. We could park under the building. There are trolleys there to use and a lift. Next door is a good restaurant - Canteen Kitchen - and another cafe two doors down. A few hundred metres away is the main shopping strip where there is a good fish & chip cafe. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if we are in Coolum.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Its worth asking if you want to upgrade from a hotel room here to a one bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Debbie M wrote a review Mar 2023
Karalee, Australia15 contributions10 helpful votes
The location is great but our room was pretty tired for $220 a night, we expected it to be a bit nicer and perhaps have a view of the beach. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. The shower head needs replacing as it's sprays everywhere and the water pressure isn't good. There wasn't any soaps provided in the bathroom. The shower smelt a bit funky. A bit disappointed 🫤. The staff are friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Eclair1951 wrote a review Nov 2022
Brisbane, Australia228 contributions95 helpful votes
Firstly, all apartments are privately owned so they are all different. You have to be very specific in what you are booking - some apartments are not suitable for the elderly as the showers are difficult to get in and out of. Not all apartments have a kitchen, some are like hotel rooms with only a jug and a fridge. If you want a kitchen you have to pay more. Our apartment, 44a, was quite nice, clean, great views, kitchenette, comfortable sofa and beds. We could not use the balcony chairs and table as they were too high and uncomfortable. We found the tv difficult as we are not used to Foxtel, and the bedroom tv had only Netflix. The owners should provide a long handled broom and pan so you don’t have to bend right down to clean the floor. The velvety bedcovers were weird - get some nice cotton Ikea ones! This property takes your whole payment about a week before you arrive even if you have booked with free cancellation, so beware.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Be specific about booking a kitchen as not all rooms have one.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wipa P wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
My friend and I had an amazing vacation at your resort. Your resort is very beautiful, and your staffs are very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. The location is amazing too. The beach is right in front of the resort. I would​ definitely recommend this resort to my friends. Can't wait to go back again High​ly​ recomment for your next trip
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid rainy season
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Beach Retreat, General Manager at The Beach Retreat Coolum
Responded 6 Nov 2022
Thanks Wipa, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Trish H wrote a review Nov 2022
Location is perfect, pool and outdoor facilities are very good. Room however was very sub standard for almost $200 per night. Very small with old furniture, damaged top on cabinet. Bathroom outdated and gloomy. The lighting is terrible, a small dull ceiling light and 2 very yellow wall lights at the bed. Can't leave the balcony door open for fresh air (ground floor) as no screens, fly or security. Cleaning was OK but vinyl plank floor felt gritty.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Peter G wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Staff were so friendly. Location was great. Room was clean and tidy. Great views. Check in was easy and when room was ready we received a text to say we could check-in in early. Didn't expect that. Handy to the beach, all the Coolum restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Beach Retreat, General Manager at The Beach Retreat Coolum
Responded 6 Nov 2022
Thanks Peter, we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GeoffandJan wrote a review Oct 2022
Gold Coast Australia16 contributions6 helpful votes
We’ve stayed previously so were happy to rebook this year. What a disappointment! A one bedroom, ocean view. Not cheap but lovely views. We had requested a walk-in shower and the apartment did have this but all in all a really tired property. On arrival the first cupboard opened revealed a P or Ice pipe left by previous tenants or the cleaner! Not good. I took it down to reception who were horrified but no action was taken. A suggestion was made that they would upgrade us to another room but with the triathlon on that weekend they were full up. Maybe after the weekend. Didn’t hear another word from them. For some reason the queen bed is on wheels. That’s really handy if you want to cruise around the bedroom. What a pain, the bed was very tired with a very lumpy mattress and two legs on one side bent at 45 degrees about to break off. On check out we had heard nothing from management about the ice pipe. Didn’t really seem to be too bothered. As ice pipes are illegal to possess, maybe I should have called the Police!! But did offer a free night if we wanted to stay again! Not likely to happen.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Beach Retreat, General Manager at The Beach Retreat Coolum
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Thank you for your review GeoffandJan, obviously we were horrified to hear about the pipe that was left hidden in your room. The matter was immediately reported to the police and we are awaiting an official response from them. The Beach Retreat Coolum is now under new management and we are already making improvements to this room and to the resort as a whole.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wayne R wrote a review Oct 2022
Sorell, Australia42 contributions5 helpful votes
To be honest, it was one of the worst experiences we have incurred. It's not what we expected, not only personally but was overpriced. Thete was a bad smell in the room, which we found to be a crack in the wall and moulded carpets being hidden by a couch, so old it should have been replaced a long time ago Housekeeping was very poor. Room had dirty carpet, only 1/4 of a roll toilet paper for the entire stay! There was a dead bug on the roof, the only positive was the outlook across to the beach Sorry, but I'm a seasoned traveller Sometimes the truth hurts!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be very cautious about staying here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Beach Retreat, General Manager at The Beach Retreat Coolum
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Thank you for your review wayner774, we are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Beach Retreat Coolum is now under new management and we are working hard to make improvements to our rooms and the resort as a whole.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Robert H wrote a review Sept 2022
Melbourne, Australia141 contributions94 helpful votes
We booked last minute and appreciated getting a room. The room was very tired, out the back, desperately needs some paint work. The resort looks fine, reception closes early, maps and how to get anywhere are confusing and difficult to follow but a reasonable well-located place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Beach Retreat, General Manager at The Beach Retreat Coolum
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Thank you for your review Robert H, we are disappointed to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. The Beach Retreat Coolum is now under new management. We have various classes of rooms and we are working hard to improve the standard of all our rooms and the resort as a whole.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Happy Customer wrote a review Sept 2022
7 contributions
Average the first room was looking at a brick wall without sea views. Tv wasn’t working properly, staff had closed reception so nobody to help. Second room was better as it was a 1 bedroom apartment with balcony & views. The staff were friendly and helpful, walking distance to restaurants and Surf Club.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you speak to reception about sea views otherwise you will be put in a room facing a wall.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Beach Retreat, General Manager at The Beach Retreat Coolum
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Thank you for your review Robert H, we are disappointed to hear that the first room did not meet your expectations. We have various classes of rooms available some with and some without Ocean views. he Beach Retreat Coolum is recently under new management and they are working hard to improve the standard of all the room classes and the resort as a whole.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 117 - USD 145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the beach retreat coolum hotel coolum beach, flag hotel coolum beach
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandSunshine CoastCoolum Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BEACH RETREAT COOLUM (AU$176): 2023 Prices & Reviews (Coolum Beach) - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Beach Retreat Coolum
Which popular attractions are close to The Beach Retreat Coolum?
Nearby attractions include Lows Lookout (0.4 km), MassageMyo Coolum Beach (0.2 km), and Wilkinson Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Beach Retreat Coolum?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at The Beach Retreat Coolum?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Beach Retreat Coolum?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Beach Retreat Coolum?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Beach Retreat Coolum?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yiani's Greek Restaurant Coolum, Coolum Surf Club, and Gelato Mio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Beach Retreat Coolum?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Beach Retreat Coolum located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Coolum Beach.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Beach Retreat Coolum?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does The Beach Retreat Coolum have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Beach Retreat Coolum accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.