We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Point Coolum Beach

1 Bay Terrace, Coolum Beach, Queensland 4573 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (256)
Room & Suite (170)
Pool & Beach (41)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

AU$374
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Coolum Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Perfectly located in Coolum Beach on Australia's beautiful Sunshine Coast and offering panoramic ocean views over Coolum's secluded bays, world class golf courses nearby and only a short stroll into Coolum Village with a range of shopping and dining options. It's your gateway to experiencing all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer. Our superb range of 1, 2, and 3 bedroom ocean view villas suit couples or families seeking a holiday escape or corporate stay. The Point -Coolum Beach boasts panoramic ocean views from all villas throughout our 6 acre hillside property. Shopping and dining precincts in Coolum, Noosa and Mooloolaba are just a short drive away. World Class Golf Courses are within 20 minutes drive. These include Palmer Coolum, Twin Waters, and Noosa Springs golf courses. A secluded beach just 100 metres from our front doorstep, a whale watching platform 200 metres away and the Coastal Pathway is immediately across the street
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beach
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Car hire
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Seating area
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Separate living room
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
425Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 262
  • 117
  • 37
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Maureen C wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
+1
I have never written a review but felt I needed to share so others aren't caught unawares. When we arrived we were told that there had been water damage but this had been fixed on the inside of the appartment. However our villa - villa 8 - had black mould on the ceiling in my son's bedroom and a bucket I'm assuming to collect more water if it dripped from the ceiling. The appartment was musty smelling and tired looking. We booked 3 bedrooms for 6 people but the lounge suite was unsuitable (small) and uncomfortable - more suitable for the outside. Old carpets throughout caused a flare up in my daughter's dust mite allergies. Tiny black ants crowded the food we had placed in the pantry. On our last night the electric element died and we had to go to another appartment to shower. Not a four star experience and definately not worth $550 a night. We felt ripped off on our only family holiday of the year. The appartment are also a good distance from the centre and patrolled beach. The only positive was that staff responded to the hot water issue straight away and the view of the ocean from our Villa was lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Other Villas may be better maintained than ours was (Villa 8). The property is not close to a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonna Fohlin, General Manager at The Point Coolum Beach
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking time to review your stay and to give us your feedback. We value all feedback - positive and negative, as it all helps us to improve. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The recent ongoing rain has really put its strain on some of our villas and unfortunately the villa you stayed in had some water ingress, which we needed a roofing plumber to attend to get it fixed. It was attended to quickly but as the rain was constant there was only so much the plumber could do and he was only able to be complete the job once the rain stopped for a little while. We did try to do our best to get the internal part of the unit tidied up as much as possible, but I can believe that the humidity would have made the place smell damp. It was very unfortunate that in addition to this you did not have any hot water on your last day. It was lucky that we had one spare villa just opposite from yours that we could offer for you to use for showers. As you say, we initially thought it was the electrical element of the hot water system that was faulty, but upon checking the villa after your departure everything was and back to normal and there was hot water? I am sorry if you were not informed/aware of our location prior to your stay. We are located right opposite 3rd Bay in Coolum and we are a 10-15 minute walk from the main patrolled beach and the main Esplanade in town like you say. As we are located on the hillside we do have wonderful ocean views. I am glad you enjoyed the views of the ocean as they are beautiful from that villa.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
OskarandSunny wrote a review Nov 2023
Gold Coast, Australia276 contributions179 helpful votes
We stayed at The Point for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. This was promoted on Trip a Deal and the price of $900 we thought quite reasonable. For personal reasons we visit Noosa every November. The Point is actually at Point Arkwright about a 10 minute drive south on Coolum. The apartment( townhouse was up the hill towards the back of the resort and it is high enough to get some sea views. When we arrived we could not get the TV to work and after a day of trying to fix it we asked the office for help. We did this by email but they say they never received our msg.It turned out the Kogan TV was a dud and was replaced the next day . The replacement works fine but why this was not checked before is not good. Apparently other guest prior to us had had similar problems.. The lady at reception was so,helpful and did her best to sort it out. As always the problem is not the issue, it’s how it’s resolved that matters. Other than that the accommodation is OK , nothing special . The units are privately owned so have different standards so you have to take what is provided. So in summary unit just average but office support excellent. I doubt we will,stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonna Fohlin, General Manager at The Point Coolum Beach
Responded 7 Dec 2023
HI Oskar and Sunny, thanks for taking the time to submit a review about your stay. Sorry about the TV issues but happy we could quickly resolve the issue the next day. We do have a range of villas which have lovely views and are all furnished differently. We do our best to accommodate any guests requests or preferences to suit their preferences so encourage guests to give us a call to discuss if possible. Thanks again for your feedback it is always helpful so we can improve stays for future guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joanne N wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
My husband and daughters stayed in unit 8 in the Hilltop Villas – the view was absolutely sensational! The resort had a Santorini vibe, and we loved hearing the constant gentle roar of the sea. Just about everything we needed was provided in the unit, including sturdy crockery and glassware. I would love for the carpet in the main living area to be updated/replaced due to the marks on it, but otherwise everything was clean and tidy. There was loads of space in the living and dining area and main bedroom. PS Also check the outdoor chairs for wobbles – we needed to weigh down three of them on windy nights in order to stop them rocking and making noise when we were trying to get to sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonna Fohlin, General Manager at The Point Coolum Beach
Responded 26 Feb 2023
Thank you for your great review, we love that you also like the constant sea sounds. Your feed back on the couple of things that we need to look into is important, so thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nikitafarr0w wrote a review Jan 2023
Sunshine Coast, Australia7 contributions6 helpful votes
It was our 20th anniversary the room was nice and view amazing. The pool wasn’t really heated snd the spa in pool area didn’t work. We had a spa bath in our room but at 9pm after letting water out lucky I was in bathroom as the water came up through the plug in floor, flooded bathroom. We had to call up snd get someone out so a hour of our time waisted the guy came and fixed it however the smell that was left for that night was so yum after the drain had to be plunged. Very disappointed esp after paying over $400 for the night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonna Fohlin, General Manager at The Point Coolum Beach
Responded 1 Mar 2023
Hi Nikita, thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your stay. Congratulations on your 20th wedding anniversary! Great to hear you enjoyed the room and appreciated the wonderful views. We have 2 swimming pools one of which is slightly heated to regulations. We don't have a spa in the pool it is child's wading pool that you may have mistaken for one. When we received your call at 9pm regarding the spa we had someone attend to do our best to resolve the issue on the spot so you could continue to use the taps and bathroom. We thought waiting for a plumber to come the next day may not have been satisfactory given your overnight stay. This is a rare occurrence and we do apologize for this happening to you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marian G wrote a review Dec 2022
Sydney, Australia63 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
My teen son and I had a much-needed break for a week here. We stayed in Villa 15. The views were spectacular, and it was quiet (not facing the road). The kitchen is dated but mostly well-equipped (a pair of scissors, some al-foil and glad wrap wouldn't go astray, same for some bug spray - had a couple of large cockroaches visit and nothing to deal with them). Bathrooms also dated, but ok. Carpet is really stained, pretty gross and needs replacing. Furniture was good - though lounges weirdly set up facing a TV (which we never turned on) instead of the views - really should be rearranged and easy to do. Location is fab, but the town and main beach is a pretty decent walk (bus right out the front though), and we didn't have a car. Third bay across the road is very pretty but not great for swimming (rocky), but Second Bay a little further down is great... a fair few steps up and down though (for both). The pools are nice, but both small, especially the top one (which is lovely); it was fine for us, but as soon as a family of five turned up, there was no room, so it's probably a bit of an issue in peak times. The front office staff were absolutely lovely (especially Mary), and helpful. I would go back, but not on school holidays, and probably hiring a car next time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonna Fohlin, General Manager at The Point Coolum Beach
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Thanks so much for taking the time to submit your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the views and our staff were able to help you throughout your stay. We are around 1.3 km walk into the main centre of Coolum along the boardwalk and passing the pretty bays of Coolum, so a decent but beautiful stroll. We do regular spraying for the unwanted roaches so I am sorry you had to face them. Also the state of the carpet we will be sure to get onto that. Thanks again for all the information which is helpful for us to improve our standards. We look forward to seeing you again at The Point Coolum for another stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debbie P wrote a review Dec 2022
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
This location is perfect for a family getaway the unit is beautifully furnished and the view is second to none wow what a great holiday my sister and I had thankyou we will definitely revisit sit asap
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonna Fohlin, General Manager at The Point Coolum Beach
Responded 8 Dec 2022
Hi Debbie, great to hear you enjoyed your stay and time away with your sister. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Point Coolum in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rtonandrew wrote a review Dec 2022
Rockhampton, Australia18 contributions47 helpful votes
We selected one of the two bedroom townhouses with an excellent view. It was a terrific unit, very comfortable. My 70+ year old mum found the many steps a bit of a challenge but worth the climb for the view. The lock up garage was very handy. Not super cheap but it was competitive with other options at the time, particularly given the space on offer. My only real issue was the noise from next door, who I think might have been permanent residents. A combination of loud, bass-heavy music, movies, perhaps games (explosions) coming through the (thin?) wall. As much as it was a terrific location, it was not a relaxing weekend due to this noise. This might not be a deal breaker for you, but I would personally be reluctant to return because of the noise.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonna Fohlin, General Manager at The Point Coolum Beach
Responded 8 Dec 2022
Hi Andrew, thanks for taking the time to submit a review about your stay.Glad to hear you found the unit comfortable with excellent view. Thanks for letting us know about the noise issues and we agree this is very disappointing so will be sure to address it with the neighbours. We do have a night management team to deal with any noise issues or distrubances as they arise. Hopefully we will see you back at The Point Coolum in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gordon I wrote a review Nov 2022
Brisbane, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay at The Point. Accommodation was clean, staff were friendly and all we needed, in the way of utensils etc., were adequate. We like to walk so the 1.5 km walk to Coolum Beach suited us. We visited the surf club several times. Also listened the the local musos, The Shoplifters, who play every Wednesday and Friday mornings, from 8:00am till 10:00am, near the surf club.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We were in villa No 3, which had good views. A bit of a climb, if you park your car down the hill.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonna Fohlin, General Manager at The Point Coolum Beach
Responded 14 Nov 2022
Thank you for your great feedback. Glad you enjoyed your break and happy with our property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MMB wrote a review Oct 2022
Melbourne, Australia54 contributions21 helpful votes
We stayed in an Executive Apartment at the Point for 7 nights and were happy with the accommodation. It was very spacious and the view was great, the property itself is well-maintained and overall quiet (no road noise) which was important for us. The apartment was clean on our arrival, the only area that appeared to be overlooked was there were stains on the carpet in the main bedroom which I advised Reception on check-out. The Reception staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay which we appreciated. The car parking is very tight, and because of this we decided not to park in the garage provided as there is other parking available on site. We would definitely stay again, the location is excellent, a short walk to the cafes and shops, and still close enough to Noosaville/Noosa Heads.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The pool area could do with some additional sun lounges.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonna Fohlin, General Manager at The Point Coolum Beach
Responded 15 Nov 2022
Hi salbu 378, thanks for taking the time to submit a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Some of the villas do have tight parking so glad that you took advantage of the parking closeby. We try to keep on top of the carpets with regular professional cleans so we will be sure to attend to it. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DesM026 wrote a review Oct 2022
Coolum Beach, Australia180 contributions199 helpful votes
+1
I stayed at The Point for the weekend. The views are good (there are better in Coolum), but you won’t complain. The accommodation is out of town, but fhat’s a good thing. The closest beach’s are Coolum’s Bays (First, Second and Third Bay. All off their own unique serenity. The accomodation was clean, hygienic and somewhat comfortable. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The Point offers some great qualities. It’s worth a try and more to the point, book in and see.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonna Fohlin, General Manager at The Point Coolum Beach
Responded 10 Oct 2022
Thank you, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our lovely bays on your way into Coolum.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Coolum Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$280 - AU$355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandSunshine CoastCoolum Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE POINT COOLUM BEACH (AU$280): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Point Coolum Beach
Which popular attractions are close to The Point Coolum Beach?
Nearby attractions include Peregian Beach (4.0 km), Mount Coolum (2.3 km), and Marcoola Beach (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Point Coolum Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Point Coolum Beach?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at The Point Coolum Beach?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Point Coolum Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yiani's Greek Restaurant Coolum, Periwinkle restaurant, and Le Bon Delice French Patisserie.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Point Coolum Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Point Coolum Beach?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Point Coolum Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.
Does The Point Coolum Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.